Sort:  

The cat never came with me to campus - she was a fixture at the farm. Pixie. The most affectionate creature we'd ever seen. She'd flop at our feet like a Schmoo in Lil Abner, looking ready to drop dead from sheer joy at the merest hint of attention.

image.png

No, no, there was never any thought of eating our cats!!!

I love your cat pixie. I want a Pixie. The vet here has an enormous beige-orange maine coon that has been boarded there as long as anyone on the staff can remember. Romeo. Apparently he roamed the entire office for years, until that became frowned upon in animal medical associations that award certification. So now he occupies the top kennel. Up there he looked even bigger than he is (to puny me anyway) and he scared me a little. But the vet opened that cage and out he hopped, a love shmoo. I want him.

Romeo!! Oh Romeo! I WANT HIM
He sounds like Merlin, caged, unwanted, looking big and scary, to everyone but me: I saw a butterfly. No, I cannot explain. Maybe his tiny voice said "Butterfly" not Raging Lion. Oh now that Jimmy is gone you might find that the Maine Coon is a "better version of the dog" - some are known to fetch, to be as loyal and companionable as dogs. Merlin was too scarred for that, traumatized, and then Bobi the Bad tormented him. Perhaps Freddy would be intolerant of Romeo. I WANT HIM.... no I don't. Yes I do. ROMEO!!!!!

I had two Maine Coons. Fabulous cats. This guy let me pet his belly, which neither of my other two will allow. I roughed him up a little and he seemed to like it. My kind of cat!

Romeo is very happy there. He has long term friends too. When the vet let Romeo and a few others out, he jumped for joy and started playing with the others. I worry that I would be ruining his life to bring him here. He's clearly happy.

Also, a staff person there told me that the vet has never considered adopting him out to others who have wanted him, so even if I do decide I want him, it's a long shot. At least the vet came here (to put Jimmy down), saw my digs, and knows how much I would love him. Maybe that would be in my favor.

Well, if Romeo is happy in his little cage, ok... but I would be happy knowing you had another Maine Coon in your life. Who wouldn't want one. (Uh, my husband.)

I will love Romeo from afar. :)

My youngest sister took the pictures at the farm.
Nobody photographed me in college. Unlike today's kids, I have almost ZERO images, not even of Father Ed (long before he entered the seminary! back when he was still a chain-smoking alcoholic Englis major!) in his hat with his dog Flower, or in his long dark trench coat. A pity. I did find some recent images of him online, but I have no photos of me with any of my college chums.

image.png

https://carolkean.wordpress.com/2019/12/02/father-ed/

He told you you were obsessed with demons? Who was this guy to you?

I don't have any photos of college chums either, come to think of it. One. It's a good one too. If I ever see it again, I'll show you. I have little hope of seeing many of those things I packed so carefully again.

We had so few photos, but our grandparents had even fewer (sssh, don't ask how old this makes us). One photo taken every so many decades - a toddler portrait, maybe a wedding portrait, maybe a family photo in the older years. Three pictures per lifetime, on average. In my grandma's world, anyway!

It sounds good. Maybe it would help one stay in the moment. And I would have had a whole lot less to move from one house to another. Even though I tossed at least half away, I still have a ridiculous number of photographs.