Spring Break

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

swirl1170475_640.jpg

text15.png

"I'm ruining your spring break," Erin accused themselves as we walked back up the beach.

"Yeah, well, I sure didn't expect having to discuss why Dickens so often used the metaphor of a post office to decribe a mouth, and how you think that was overkill. You've been going on about Wemmer and ..."

"Wemmick"

"...and his post office of a mouth for an hour and a half. It is kind of a downer"

text15.png

"Your radio has horrible reception"

"You're hallucinating again. There is no radio."

"I'm talking about your personal frequency man. The vibrations are speeding up, can't you feel them? We are entering a new timeline, one where politics, money, and governments are not controlling factors anymore. We'll all be shedding our slave selves. Everyone will have post office mouths, but there won't be any post offices because there won't be any need of communication. We'll all be connected to the same source. It's going to be so beautiful, man, so beautiful..."

text15.png

Erin and I were sitting on the tippy top of a very large gravel pile. I'd been tossing tiny stones into a broken screen that was sticking out. Each toss of mine gave the screen a little tip, so that several stones would slip out of the screen, onto the gravel pile, and then skitter down into the quarry pond far below. The place was dead quiet, other than Erin's prattle, and the tiny plunks of my fascinating stones.

Erin began to tune into a channel and prattle again.

"Hey hey man, HEY!!! What the fuck are we doing here man! GET BACK!!! They scrambled back up the pile down the back side, and started screaming "WE HAVE TO GET OUT OF HERE MAN!"

This trip was starting to be a real bummer.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's weekend three prompt freewrite challenge. The prompts are in bold italics. As usual, I set my timer for 4:30, but this time I had very little to say. I spent a lot of my 5 minutes for each section proofreading and making changes. Had I been using #themostdangerouswritingapp, I would have been booted out a dozen times.

This challenge is always a trip for me. I have no idea what story is going to emerge, which is true for freewrites too, but the second and third prompts are akin to entering a new dimension entirely. The stories suddenly take a sharp turn I could never have imagined at the outset of writing, a lot like having dropped a hit of acid. (hint hint)

text15.png

image by @wales, Dean Moriarty

Sort:  

Hi owasco,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!

Your imagination is so vast and versatile that I am now beginning to really get challenged by your writing as a fellow writer. How can such a complex piece be birthed in such a... sighs.

I wish the was a way we could have more either from the beginning or the end. But I also embrace micro fiction the same way I'd a good dream. Excellent grip on the reader :)

I think you would like freewrites. I don't remember ever seeing one from you. Give it a whirl! You just set the timer and start writing. Don't try to make any sense. I almost always think I am writing something incomprehensible, but when I read it through after cleaning up typos, there's something of value there. I spend some good time proofreading without changing the content. My last lines are often add ons, as this one was. It's fun!

I do freewrites when I allow myself to bleed but never really managed to be inventive about it. It has always been reflective pieces which I am having a harder time doing or poetry and sometimes prose. Nothing this fancy... storytelling always becomes difficult when I proofread. I end up changing almost everything while diluting the spiciness of any given fiction. Smh.

I intend on trying again though. Thank you for the push always ♡

@hlezama used to say pretty much the same thing, and now he's a great fiction freewriter.

This one has truth in it about me, as all my freewrites do.

I am reading Great Expectations, and have been wondering what gives with the constant post office references to Wemmick's mouth. I also noticed just today that someone I have been following online has a mouth that could be described as a post office mouth, and she says stuff along the lines of the first character's inspired rant. So there's where the monologue came from.

I once, long long ago, sat on the side of a gravel pile while tripping, suddenly realized the danger I was in, and scrambled frantically out of there. I was with a friend who got very placid while tripping. She is that second character. The bit with the screen might be the only pure imagination in the freewrite.

It's non-fiction repurposed as fiction. I had no idea these things would come out in the freewrite when I started writing. I love doing these. I don't know why I haven't done them in so long. I think I thought that I'd lost the ability.

I should turn into one too... a fluent fiction writer if not a great one.

I thought I was the only one who leans to the truth a bit while writing. If the extract doesn't come from a read or an experience, my friends experiences with a twist is what shows up. Then the imagination bit compiles it however it deems fit and entertaining.

Definitely getting back to it. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and how you break your own down.

To be this story sounds like two stoners sitting on a rock pile and trying to make sense of this crazy world we live in.

That's exactly what it is!!!!

lol, I did like it.

Wow... that was a trip, indeed .. well done!

Love the twists and turns and potential subplots - characters and ideas that make us want more.

I'm talking about your personal frequency man.

This reminds me (somehow, but hey, my brain does this) of the Dan Rather #frequency story.

"What's the Frequency, Kenneth?" is a song by the American alternative rock band R.E.M. from their 1994 album Monster. The song's title refers to an incident in New York City in 1986, when two then-unknown assailants attacked journalist Dan Rather, while repeating "Kenneth, what is the frequency?"

https://fantasymerchant.com/2020/04/02/the-incredibly-weird-story-of-whats-the-frequency-kenneth/