Faded blue round table (5 Minute Freewrite)

in Freewriters4 years ago

Faded blue round table, off to the right of the room
an ashtray full of half-smoked blunts and empty bottles litter the tabletop
Fog and static of lost dreams and memories

We never lost our demons
We just learn to live above them
trying to hear the better Angels of our Nature
(instead of living in the darkness between)

Forget about what it seems
And dive deep into our past of screams
And darker things

I like this place
Dark, silent, empty without a face
Far from the race
There is no suitcase

I just want to get high
Higher than the sky
Past July
Time's flying by

I don't need mushrooms to reach deep within myself
I like the pain

I was writing you letters in my dream and hiding them all over the place
When we took the shrooms I was eating your dreams
that is life is not what it seems...


My Post (26).png

Day 1010: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: round table

Sort:  

Great job with this prompt. The mood of the poem is quite deep.

thank you! yeah, there was something deep happen this past weekend, it's no surprise it leaked out for the freewrite. =D

Well emotions are great Muse!

Very interesting freewrite poem!!!
I love the line there is no suitcase. This made me think there is also no escape from these painful feelings and thoughts, that we never lose but hopefully learn to live with.
Thank you for your poem.

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!
https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-1011-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-rose-water

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

awesome, thanks for letting me know!