Cloverleaf Rolls for a Potluck

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)


20210413_143203_1.jpg

Yesterday was baking day! (It wasn't exactly the night before the potluck; it was the morning before.) In addition to the usual loaves of white bread, I made 18 cloverleaf rolls to take to a potluck today. I used about one loaf's-worth of regular bread dough to make them. My old Betty Crocker cookbook contains special recipes for fancy rolls, but I didn't choose to try one of them this time.

It had been many years since I made these, and now I remember why: it takes a long time to roll those little balls into nice shapes! And my fingers get all clogged up with dough and grease and flour. But it's worth the effort every now and then.


20210413_161514_2.jpg

Here's the finished product. Perhaps you noticed one is missing. I had to make sure they tasted okay, y'know. I didn't hear a great deal of raving about them at the potluck, but I only brought four home, which probably means one of the 12 people present ate more than one. That's good news. And my family will be happy to eat the leftovers!

Photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

They look delicious, I have two granddaughters and two old cookbooks, one Betty Crocker it is the one that is red and white and a green Better Homes and Garden, both very thick. When my granddaughters visit we cook something from their book and write the date we cooked it. I also wrote a note to them on the inside of the front cover of their book.

That's a great idea!

I have one once in a great while.