The Broken Violinist: 3-Part weekend freewrite

Rehearsing the works was so entertaining to actors and musicians that none cared that nobody was left as an audience. Of course, an audience is not normally expected at a rehearsal, especially when the performance is a sci-fi opera set in the year 3030, and the music is mostly a variation of heavy metal and rap. But that's what made this particular performance so exciting. It was new! it was different! It was something never tried before! And all the musicians and actors were top-notch, experienced performers. They all got along beautifully and were perfectly content to rehearse day after day with no audience.

Tonight was opening night, though, and tickets had been sold out for weeks. Word had gotten around the city, and the lovers of music and theater had been in breathless anticipation for weeks. The critics would be there, too, of course, and one never knows what they are going to think about something this unusual. They might love it, and they might hate it, but the actors and musicians were having such a good time, they really didn't care what the critics thought.

Later, he would call me in the hospital and ask how she is doing. But right now the conductor was frantically searching for another violinist to replace my wife, who had fallen and broken her arm just that afternoon. It would be difficult for anyone else to step into her spot at the last minute, but not impossible. And there were plenty of other competent violinists to choose from, if only one was available on such short notice.

Meanwhile, I was waiting for my wife to get out of surgery. It was such a stupid accident, involving an impetuous cat, a stray dog, and the stairs. The doctors assured me this would be a very straight-forward operation, and she should make a full recovery and be able to resume her musical career. But the whole incident was unnerving. I had been planning to attend opening night, and perhaps I still could, if she was out of surgery in time. She would want to know how the performance went, and she would want me to be there, but I wouldn't leave the hospital until I knew she had come through the surgery successfully.

At least the food in the hospital cafeteria was decent. I don't like missing meals, so I took my chances on their meatloaf and found it to be entirely edible. The mashed potatoes were good, too. One thing that puzzled me, though, was a wine-red sweater left on the chair on the other side of the table. People don't usually leave their clothes behind at a cafeteria table. But then again, perhaps someone had to leave in a great hurry to see someone before they died, or something grim like that. Or maybe they waited so long, the day got warmer and they forgot about the sweater that had been so necessary early in the morning.

As I thought about it more, I remembered I had once left a coat behind at the dentist's office for that very reason. The fillings had taken a long time, and the sun was shining brightly by the time I left, so I forgot about the coat. It was a week later when I missed it and had to think about where I had worn it last.

Why was I thinking about lost coats and sweaters while waiting for my wife to get out of surgery? There must be something better to think about than that. I should think about whether she will need help getting dressed, and bathed, and with eating. After all, it was her dominant arm that got broken. I should plan on being her caregiver for a while.

**************************

If you have never written a freewrite before, you can check out the rules here. The weekend freewrite is especially challenging, since you are well into the story before you get the second prompt, or the third. Thanks to @mariannewest for faithfully providing the prompts!

Sort:  

NJOY this little story a LOT! Create a point you made. Guess we can be occupied with all sort of things other than what we suppose to be occupied with. That said, nothing could be done to the wife by her husband, she was in the capable hands of the doctors and the husband had to wait.

It almost felt this little story is one from your own experience. But as far as I know, freewrite is about writing fiction. Or am I misunderstanding the concept of freewritting?

Freewrites can be either fact or fiction. I do both. This one was fiction. Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks... nice one for sure :)

Heavy metal sci-fi rap opera in 3030 what a concept, I enjoyed your freewrite, you should do more of them. It is funny how a mind can go in so many directions, With thoughts just randomly going through your head while you should be thinking of something else.

Thoughts pop into my head during freewrites, too, and that's how the sci-fi rap opera came to be. Ha ha!