5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: detrimental

in Freewriters4 years ago

krampus_customs_austria_mask_devil_wooden_mask_evil_creepy1056330.jpg
Source

I'm on the phone with the Department of Social Services (DPSS). Currently, I'm on hold. They have some of the most annoying messages. I wouldn't mind so much if they didn't repeat every minute and go on for five minutes -- it will then switch over to this guitar(?) music for about a minute. Then the commercials repeat.

Really, how many times do I have to hear the same information within a certain time frame? Is there going to be a test on the information that I'm hearing over and over? Is it even something that is important for me to hear and understand?

This call waiting is detrimental to my health! I'm dying. Serious. Call for help. My ears are starting to bleed.

You might say that I need to hang up and call 911, but then I'd have to start the waiting process all over again with DPSS when I call them again, and then my ears would be bleeding again.

Do you see this vicious cycle? This is detrimental to my ears.

I think you all should send me money. Yeah. That sounds good to me. Doesn't it sound good to you? Oh, you have x,y,z to take care of. I understand. Truly, I do. But don't let that stop you from giving me your money. Think about it. You are just going to spend it on whatever you want, regardless of whether it benefits you are not. The smile that will come to your face after you have sent your money to me is so much more than the few thousands of dollars that you'll send me.

How did I get into this mess? Well, I forgot to fill out a form for this month. It comes every six months, and I don't get notifications of when I'm supposed to fill it out unless I log into the DPSS website, which doesn't happen all that often. So, I didn't get my money this month, yet.

I don't know what is going to happen, because I've been good about filling out that form the last few times that I've had to do it.

Oh MY GOD! This is torture. Detrimental I tell you.

I need to meditate. I'm feeling tired. Maybe it is this repeated menu of options that I don't need to hear that is making me tired. I DON'T CARE what they have to say for the tenth time. This is driving me nuts. PTSD is fun. 8-(

Detrimental is the current president's move on holding the second round of stimulus money. Oh, wait. After he came down from the drugs he was on, he changed his mind, apparently.

Finally! DPSS's phone is ringing. Please listen to this randomly chosen youtube stream for the next half-hour while I put you on hold -- I have no idea what you just spend 30 minutes listening to, but I'm sure it was good because Gaber Mate is a renowned addiction expert. I'm sure he would understand how detrimental listening to the DPSS soundtrack is (he was addicted to buying Classic music after all -- funny that he would be chosen for this section). I bet we can both agree that this was far more enlightening than what the DPSS has to say.

So, all is good. I got the forms filled out that I needed to and I'll be getting a call from the counselor assigned to me soon enough. Then I'll be getting the benefits for this month. However, don't let this stop you from sending me your cash. I can see it is burning a hole in your pocket and I truly want to help you out. That load looks heavy.

Well, that was fun. Peace ya'll.



- If you wish to help support my work more often and also that of others, consider using Hive Vote

Freewrite brought to you by @mariannewest and @freewritehouse

If you would like to find out what freewriting is all about, go here.

Sort:  

Sorry, don't have millions or even thousands of dollars to send you. A little Hive will have to do...

🤣 Great. I'll need about 10,000 people to pitch in at this point.

It would be nice if that were the world we are living in...

I just now saw the extra coin. I didn't think you were going to actually send anything. 😊 Thanks!

You are welcome :)

Congratulations @tristancarax! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 28000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 29000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP


Congratulations @tristancarax!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project