Bah Humbug (A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words)

in Freewriterslast year (edited)

My youngest daughter, loves to tell me, how Ho Ho (as in, Santa Claus) is real. Last year she asked me very seriously, if indeed he is real. I told her that he is real in stories and people´s imaginations, but he does not exist in the real world. She went away, not that bothered by what I had told her, but a little while later she came back to tell me that her friend told her ,that he was real.

So I explained, that some parents choose to tell their children that he is real, but that I am not one of those parents. And yes, in case you have been wondering, I have been told that I am depriving my children of the magic of Christmas. But here´s the thing I don´t celebrate Christmas. Instead we celebrate Solstice.

I did as a child though and yes I remember getting excited by it. But here´s the thing, there are so many amazing things for our kids to get excited about in the world around them. I feel we should be nurturing their ability to really see the magic that surrounds them. To keep that excitement for the natural world, alive.

But there is no profit in that, lots for our children for sure, but not for those who wish to keep us all in line. So I stepped away from that line. We already have so much to celebrate in life, we don´t need to feed into or give energy to that materialistic side of it. To lie to our children, as we feed the hand that enslaves us.

You may think me a little harsh. But when I look at that picture, I see a child looking at and believing in a lie. All, whilst behind iron bars. Yes that is only my opinion. But it is one I feel strongly about. We all make our own decisions when it comes to raising our children and I see no need to lie to mine.

To introduce this idea, that some lies are okay, that sometimes it is okay to be deceived. But what is all of this building up to! We are conditioned from a young age and I want no part of that for my girls. Not if I can help it.

I find it unsettling that we tell our children not to talk to strangers. Yet sometimes force them to sit on the lap of one, for a photo. What sort of mixed message are we sending them.

Maybe, you think I am making too much of a big deal of this. That it´s all in the spirit of giving and receiving. In keeping our children´s imaginations alive. But I see it in a completely different light.

For me, I see how the focus for kids is on receiving something, on creating future consumers, cos it´s the things that they receive, that make them happy. There is another way you know, one where the focus can be on celebrating life itself and the natural world around us. Yes we can receive gifts, but more mindfully.

So my youngest tells me Ho Ho is real, cos she knows I don´t believe in him and she knows how to get my attention. She´s a clever one that one. All of my girls are, with super rich imaginations and curious minds, that are focused on their real world.

Sort:  

I agree with this so much I reblogged it. Fucking marketing ploy. And WE get called grinches for refusing to buy in.

Look Christmas is one thing, lies to make profit is another

And yes there's magic everywhere

To see the magic, the true magic, that surrounds us, infuses us. Thank you for allowing your children to see the beauty and wonder that needs no embellishment. They are fortunate girls to have a woman like you to guide them to adulthood.

Ohhhh I get it
Since you don't celebrate Christmas, there's no need to tricking your child into believing Christmas's episodic magic

Nice one

Well said 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽
A little hard to fit this in our summisibe minds but yep, I agree soo much and more posts like this should be shared in our reality.
I believe in magic and I love the excitement of the unknown that Christmas has, but… you mentioned some quite good points here.
Thank you!

Dear @trucklife-family,
Your support for the current HiveSQL proposal (#138) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal so HiveSQL can stay free to use for the community?
You can support the new proposal (#247) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Congratulations your publication has been chosen among the best of the day.

KEEP CREATING GOOD CONTENT.

image.png

I 100% agree.

I tell kid the truth too, about these kind of things. In fact, my niece and nephew already know that Santa is a Coca Cola sponsored marketing trick and that Sinterklaas ( St. Nicholas ), that we celebrate today, in The Netherlands, is a similar kind of event, merely a way to make people buy more.

They love to get presents, but I also see that more doesn't make them more grateful and I make them aware of it, while explaining things and telling about this not being normal for many kids all over the world and so on and so forth.

I also give them few presents myself, aside from a birthday present, as just my 'presence' and spending time with them ( attention is real love ) is what really counts. It's clear that they adore me for it ;<)

xx

St Nicholaas did exist Santa is most likely father winter.
There's no need to buy presents instead you can DIY, make gifts yourself, play games, sing, dance, bake bread, cookies, invite those who need it. It all depends on you how you celebrate.

Greetings @wakeupkitty

St Nicholaas did exist

I know he was the bishop of Mira or Myra, a town in Turkey ;^)

And yes, there's all kind of ways to celebrate it indeed but the magic of it sure disappeared when I grew older.

I still love life though and try to cherish each and every day.

Hear, hear 😉

If I had children I would be doing as you have: leaving space for their own imagination, their own curiosity and their own intuition. F*ck all the marketing matrix BS. Here's to being honest with the small humans we have the immense privilege to influence so deeply.

We never celebrate Christmas but we do celebrate St Nicholas. To me it's not a lie. The man did exist, he gave to the poor. Why not honour that?

I remember school gave the children a present after celebrating (music, singing, story time told by candle light all parents present). We had hot cocoa, a cookie and before we left an bag with an orange, one chocolate wreath and a book. Each Christmas a book. No one said Santa gave it. That bag before the winter holidays started was the best gift of the year. Christmas to me has to do with religion and I do not visit church. I prefer father Winter.
My children are not used to receiving presents for Christmas and they do not care, never felt sad about that.

If it comes to lying. I don't like it but people lie 24/7. They can not cope with the truth. If you say the truth they dislike you, scold at you, say you are not attentive, harsh, and so on.

Super you shared this.
Greetings @wakeupkitty

Thank you for joining pic1000👍