Permanent agriculture?

I gave up on most of the gardening. Where I live, surrounded by farmers and sheep, it's pointless to invest time and energy in what we call an "English garden". You can sow (grass or anything else) as much as you like but harvesting is not in it. It's too cold, too wet, too hot. We deal with water and electricity issues, an overdose of stable flies, wasps and mosquitoes. The government sends out planes with pesticides several times a year to take care of the mosquitoes. The result is my walnut and almond trees died. Most of what I planted died.
I decided to let mother nature take care of most of it. This basically means the trees can plant themselves wherever they like unless if it's close to a roof or the drive through for the car. More trees means removing fewer weeds. The mushrooms grow where they like and branches are only cut if they are in the way. We no longer need a terrace since it's impossible to sit outside at a place where stable flies rip your skin of your bones.
If I walk outside I see nature takes over the place and insects, bugs and a large amount of birds took over the place, a place where I won't grew old. I know what it will look like within ten years time. A private forest with perhaps a cherry tree still alive. Permaculture...permanent agriculture is hard if the balance is disturbed by human beings.

PhotoGrid_1601276061869.jpg

The prompt permaculture is provided by @mariannewest.

CCC = hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc. The community CCC supports members by encouraging and upvoting each other and by hosting contests. Contests are hosted by @team-ccc and it's members. See @team-ccc for contests running.

If the photos are not mine they can be found on pixabay.com

Sort:  

Very sad to read this, but I think your approach is adequate... Nature's strength is at its best when left to do is own thing, I'm sure it'll thrive!