Emotional Cavities

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

seascape5473029_1280.jpg

Life brings surprise; joy, fear, happiness and pain. None of us are exempt from sampling all of these emotions, and perhaps more.

Loss was my first steam roller experience. I thought I had suffered before but there is no measuring stick to calculate just how life altering death would prove to be, or how many changes that loss would bring to light.

Few things cause self-reflection as much as death. The closer you are to someone; the more you trust, rely on, hope for someone to remain with you in this life, the more impact that this loss can have on your psyche.

Once you heal, or at least emotionally awaken from the stupor of grief and loss, you adjust into some type of altered state. It's you, but it's not the you that you were, or the you that anyone even remembers.

This is the you you've become because this is the you who kept going when, at first, your family and friends feared you couldn't be reached.

It's true,
the marks remain, invisible tracks in your spiritual wilderness, but mostly faded like driftwood washed on shore following last night's storm. With it comes the deep appreciation of life as it is....right now, despite all of the current challenges. No one promised tomorrow. I'm terribly thankful for today.

Thank you for reading!

SRC

This is my five
minute freewrite using prompt steam roller.

Twitter handle is:
@wandrnrose7

Gab Handle:
@wandrnrose7

Parler Handle:
@wandrnrose7

TsU Handle:
@wandrnrose7

Please add me if you are also on these sites! ❤

Sort:  

I can't believe you wrote this in 5 minutes.

I need to write more.

Life brings surprise; joy, fear, happiness and pain

Thank you @nathanmars. I find some of my most honest pieces are five minute freewrites. I do clean them up for grammar and punctuation once I'm done. Thank you very much for the compliment.