Cloud Jumping in the Horadrian Floating Isles

in Freewriters2 years ago

sky_gb086cdabd_1920.jpg

“I don’t need unsolicited advice, Mara,” Terrance pulled on his parachute, checking each strap carefully.

     “I just don’t want you to die, is that so bad?” Mara watched from across the room, her hands fidgeting relentlessly as she went through the safety checklist in her head.

     “I’ve wanted to cloud jump across the Horadrian Floating Isles my entire life, and now that I’m finally old enough my best friend wants to stop me. It’s a funny twist of fate.” Terrance shook his head, stepping into the centre of the room. Arching his shoulder blades back, he flexed his wings, making sure each was unencumbered by the parachute.

     “Two hundred fifty-three people died last year doing it, Terry. I don’t want you to be added to that number. I, you know I… I wouldn’t be able to stand life without you around.” Mara felt her feathers prickle up on her arms and she brushed them below her sleeves. Her heart rose with excitement and worry, each beat making her stomach turn and fold over and over.

     Terrance smirked, “I’ll be fine, Mara.” He nodded to the assistant, who unlocked the door to the shop’s private sky dock. It was the cheapest place that had access to the Horadrian Isles, another fact that worried Mara endlessly.

     “Just promise me you’ll come back safe.” Mara stood, following closely behind Terrance as he stepped onto the dock. The winds were calm, and the clouds light and fluffy. A perfect day for flying.

     Terrance strapped on his goggles, taking deep breath as he stood at the docks edge. Far below he could see the terrestrial ocean, peaking through the cloud sea.

     “I will.”

     Taking a step forward, he dropped into the clouds. Moments later, on an updraft, he flew high above the shop, extending his wings and releasing a jubilant shout.

     “Come back to me, you big idiot,” said Mara through tears.


Today's prompt: unsolicited advice

This week's worldbuilding prompt: wonders and achievements

Image Source

If you'd like to participate too, the contest/prompts can be found here:
https://ecency.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-1650-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-unsolicited-advice

https://ecency.com/hive-191038/@worldbuilder/worldbuilding-prompt-259-extreme-challenges

Sort:  

Hi @zedcell,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

It is very beautiful for a person to be above the sky, touching clouds that his eyes can barely see it

Seeing the world from above makes you more confident

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @zedcell.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more