How Does the Odysee/LBRY Community Feel About Uploading the Content of Others? Specifically Books By Dead People...

in LBRY4 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Why am I posting this on the HIVE blockchain?

Because I post everything here, it's my digital home <3

I've also gotten more feedback about LBRY here on HIVE, so far at least.

Haven't checked out Odysee.com or LBRY.tv yet? Both of those are invite links :-P

Similar to HIVE, there is a blockchain, there is a coin, there is staking, there are rewards, there is tipping, etc. Very focused on censorship-resistance, access to content (including videos, audio, books, and more), and creator control of monetization.

I'm certainly not leaving HIVE for LBRY - but I am putting all my videos up over there... and I'm going to start uploading many of my zines & pamphlets as well.

Anyway, without further ado, here is the text I posted to LBRY:


Hello beautiful humans!

I've been chugging away on the platform for about two weeks now, uploading fresh new content, as well as a few of my greatest hits from the past on days that I didn't make anything new. So far it's been pretty smooth & simple, I've found a lot of great channels, and the other day I figured out the staking end of things as well.

The question I've come to now is:

Can I upload historical content, writings by dead folks, raw footage of news events, etc?

Where does the community/platform stand on these uses of the Library?

Since mid-2016 my main social media has been the HIVE blockchain, where original content is a pretty big focus, and it is definitely a faux pas to post other people's content without declining rewards, crediting them, etc.

Since discovering yesterday that the platform can be used to upload ebooks and the like as well, I'm VERY interested in exploring those uses! I have literally thousands of books on the occult, permaculture, philosophy, medicine, mathematics, survival, architecture, and much, much more. Many of these are very old, one-off printings, and other hard-to-find texts. I would love to be able to share all of this with the world through this platform if possible, since then I can simply send links to people, I don't have to have access to my full drive (many terabytes) in order to give someone a particular document, etc.

If this is something that's considered acceptable on the platform, I'm going to create a different channel(s) for this process, rather than filling my personal channel with tons of other peoples' work.



bipcot.jpg


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

If you do it here, be sure to tag me or give me the account.
I like old books.