Yayyyy! I have a community! Welcome to the Real Digital Nomads

Hello and welcome to Real Digital Nomads community!

My name is Helga, I’m 37 years old and I’m from Brazil. I embrace the digital nomad lifestyle since 2017. I’ve been working online as a freelance writer and copywriter and before I bought my first “one-way ticket to somewhere” I worked online for four years.

During these years living nomadically, I found a home in ten different countries, I meet some people living this lifestyle and I felt like this is the lifestyle that makes me happy. However, I wish I could go deeper into it and talk a lot more about what is to be a digital nomad than an “instagramable” life. On the other hand, I would like to meet some like-minded people to talk more about this lifestyle in a real way, with the pros and cons of it!

Untitled design (3).jpg

So, I create this community!


The internet gave us the freedom to work and live from anywhere. In any other time of history, human beings were able to do that. We could be nomads, for sure. But take our work or life with us, wasn’t possible before the internet.

Being a digital nomad means no fixed place to live and working online. This is the simplest way to define it, but I believe that everything starts with a simple way to explain it. I believe that if you have a fixed place to live, and you just travel from time to time and work fro anywhere, maybe you’re not a digital nomad. I believe that being a digital nomad means to cut the security of having fixed roots anywhere. And this, of course, brings consequences.

If you still have keys from home and you like to call yourself a digital nomad. Don’t worry… I’m not here to talk about labels. But I want to talk more about the consequences of having no roots and no “security” and, even then being, in love about this freedom.

If this message resonates with you, you embrace this lifestyle and you also feel like you like the idea of becoming a kind of human turtle where you put your life in yourself and move, please feel free to share your thoughts! I would love to connect with people who are interested in this lifestyle and love to talk about that!

Love form anywhere,

Helga

Untitled design (4).jpg

Steemit introducing (5).png

Sort:  

I feel like this is what I’m going for. I don’t do much in the way of content creation or curation so I don’t earn enough to pick up and go yet, but Ive been investing in finding and building various income streams, which are also not adaquet to support me, yet, but I’m hopeful I’ll get better at it as the meager gains I’ve made thus far mature.

I’m optimistic I’ll be on the road in a few more years. What other resources or tips have you found useful in your travels?