A pawn in a game of death! [Original Poem]

A pawn in a game of death!

I stand here in the airy desert,
A place of death and despair,
Where the sun beats down on my back,
And the sand whips up in the air.

My heart is heavy with dread,
My mind is filled with fear,
For I know what lies ahead,
And I know I must go there.

I am a soldier in this war,
A pawn in a game of death,
My life is not my own,
My fate is in someone else's hands.

I look around me at the others,
My brothers in arms,
Their faces are grim and determined,
Their eyes are filled with alarm.

We march forward into the unknown,
Our weapons at the ready,
We know not what awaits us,
But we know we must be steady.

The air is thick with tension,
The sand is stained with blood,
The smell of death hangs heavy,
And the cries of the dying fill the air.

We march on, ever forward,
Our courage never wavering,
We know that we must fight,
And that we must keep going.

We fight for our lives,
For our families, for our homes,
For our freedom, for our future,
For our very souls.

We fight for what is right,
For justice, for peace,
For a better tomorrow,
For a world free from fear.
And for the lives of those we love,
We fight for our freedom,
And for the freedom of all.

We fight for our future,
For a world of hope and peace,
For a world where we can all live in harmony,
Where we can all be free.
And for the lives of those we love,
We fight for our freedom,
And for the freedom of all.

With💙
©chrysanthemum

Image Source

Sort:  

This is incredible impactful, emotional, visual, and I thank you for your service. Bravo. 👏🏻👏🏻

Wow! Lovely! Thanks for your amazing words..
Best Wishes!

This is a very beautiful piece. I love the image created by words. I got a little confused in two of your lines

Line 7: For I know what lies ahead
Line 19: we know not what awaits us

It's a creative piece

Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed the piece and appreciate your thoughtful feedback. It means a lot to me that you took the time to read it and offer your thoughts.

For your query, I would say this is something like dual or self conflicts around the mesmerized thoughts of the soldier. Anyway, it’s been nice talking to you.

Best Wishes!

Same here, I'm honoured to meet your great mind