Addition by Cavafy

Denys Nevozhai

I think this poetry can make a personal statement for some of us. I do feel the poem by Cavafy is assessing the importance of living your life on your own without being trapped by other people's numbers and interests in putting you on their map. Unfortunately, this doesn't come easy these days, and it is much harder to live authentically today.

Adition

I do not question whether I am happy or unhappy.
Yet there is one thing that I keep gladly in mind —
that in the great addition (their addition that I abhor)
that has so many numbers, I am not one
of the many units there. In the final sum
I have not been calculated. And this joy suffices me.

Cavafy

Cavafy, on his original Greek name, Konstantinos Petrou Kavafis - 1863 - 1933, Greek poet from Alexandria who wrote historical, philosophical, homoerotic, psychological poems.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this and the short intro about the poet Cavafy. I agree with your sentiment about how challenging it can be to live in our own terms these days without having to hear something from other people. Nevertheless, some people are brave enough to push the boundaries and live the way they want and not being bothered by society's standards.

I hope you wouldn't mind, but may I take this chance to invite you to LeoThreads, Maylena? It's a fun microblogging (Twitter-like) space here on Hive where we can share short, random thoughts or any subject. We can create many threads in a day and we won't be considered spamming. In addition, it's a great place to meet and interact with other Hivers and earn some $LEO, HP and HBD in the process. LeoThreads is open to everyone and on any subject under the sun :)

Thank You for passing by and for your insightful comment. You detailed even better the idea of living today. I am on @LeoThreads
Have a great end of the week.

Thank you lots as well for your kind remarks. And I love that you are on LeoThreads! Just be yourself and share whatever you want there :)

That sounds great. Thank You!

You're very welcome :) Have fun and before you know it, you would have accumulated LEO on your Hive Engine wallet :)

Congratulations @maylenasland! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 25000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal