Drunk in Charge of a Brain - A Month of Daily Poems (Day 1)

in Blockchain Poets3 years ago (edited)

Drunk in Charge of a Brain Title.png
Image by Lothar Dieterich from Pixabay



Yesterday it was happy hour,
I drank so much
my head's now sour,
I've tried coffee and a cold shower,
but nothing helps, nothing helps.

Yesterday were happy hours,
staggering from bars like swaying towers
stumbling as we devoured
snack packs of brainpower.

Yesterday was two for one,
cider, beer and shots of rum,
three cheers and drinks for everyone
from dusk to rising sun.

We danced from bar to bar
ethyl-dreams where near is far,
each streetlight a shining star
illuminating a concrete bazaar.

I squinted through frosted panes
of beer-y goggles with wobbling frames,
a blurry face sternly proclaimed
"you're under arrest...
for being drunk in charge of a brain."


Copyrightbanner.png


The last six weeks have been pretty dire for me, with the ogre of IRL stuff rearing its ugly pockmarked face to launch me into the bog of eternal stress...

Only 80's kids and full on memberberries will get that reference from Labyrinth.


So I've decided to challenge myself to write a poem a day for the next month in order to reawaken the creative muse and light a fuse under this writer's mind. I'm not going to limit myself to any style of poetry as I have in the past with my month of haiku challenge. Rather just let the muse take me and try to have fun with it. After all if you can't find ways to have fun in this world what is the point?

Might as well give in and drink yourself into oblivion which is what I attempted the night before I wrote the first half of this poem. Don't worry, the hangover has passed now and I've recovered enough brain cells to write the second half today 😉

“Drinking is an emotional thing. It joggles you out of the standardism of everyday life, out of everything being the same. It yanks you out of your body and your mind and throws you against the wall. I have the feeling that drinking is a form of suicide where you’re allowed to return to life and begin all over the next day. It’s like killing yourself, and then you’re reborn. I guess I’ve lived about ten or fifteen thousand lives now.”

Quote ~ Charles Bukowski

Charles Bukowski said it best when he said drinking can be like rebirth... although I suspect he could handle his drink a lot better than I can 😂

But it is true that sometimes you have to blow off steam to clean the cobwebs out. It’s something of a paradox, like washing a shirt in a muddy river to wake up in the morning (or in my case two days later) to see it clean and blowing in the wind on the line outside.

Or perhaps this is just something we tell ourselves to make the hangover pain a little less.

Thanks for reading 🍻

All images in this post are creative commons licence (linked below the picture) or made by myself. If you have enjoyed this poem and blog, please check out my homepage @raj808 for similar content.

Footer_raj808.png

Click banner to visit the community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Interested in trading, buying or selling crypto?

Sign up to Bittrex here.
Sign up to Coinbase here.
Sign up to Swissborg app to instantly buy crypto here.
Use my referral link to sign up for Crypto.com and we both get $25 USD.

If You Have Found Value From this Post and Want to tip extra, Crypto Donations Are Welcomed:
►Donate Ether and ERC20 Tokens: 0x32321615174AF3Da6074Cf79DED8269cA7a8eB24
►Donate Bitcoin: bc1q8wutj8u6ush7s8mucphfxf7gzrexeywmuqm8g3
►Donate Bitcoin Cash: qzt7c0czw0q988h93jvcz2rq5gy0s3h9pg2pk700ev
►Donate Litecoin: Lfsnz3pbT5V9N6WWGRaBsgKs9EvFeqzcPm
►Donate BNB: bnb1xeu94exteel9w3g8g44e6g595kvrqlgzm0crq4
►Donate Monero: 49PovXGcM9Y7JYeRJ35W9xZGrdivvLaMbVtGc3WDv6amCm5wqA854SvJNWxaEqjTz18K5YVPj5D6619C3bvNHsrG7oD1whb
►Donate Tezos: tz1SJUkpeznKE6bEhbX81YFdUQS5BprA4ot8
►Donate XRP: r35quYTThThN7yNvkJxyhLFAPyju3tsT35

Sort:  

Hi @raj808,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Very cool poem, it reminds me a lot of me, sometimes I had to go to class with a hangover xD, good luck and I hope you can write your daily poems =)

Ha ha, yeah those hangovers can be bad. When I was in university I was a much heavier drinker and I remember those lectures where I'd put my dictaphone on to record the class and just zone out, trying not to let the headache get the better of me... or fall asleep 😂

good luck and I hope you can write your daily poems

Thanks... I hope I can keep the poetic muse going for 31 days 😏🤣

A poem a day needs alcohol to keep insanity away. Still it was a fun read nice to find you at Listnerds

A poem a day needs alcohol to keep insanity away.

I like the poetic response @whywhy
Thanks for reading my poem, although I did write it the day after that night out it was in the evening so maybe the booze had worn off by then 😂

Not too sure though, as I had to re-write and edit that poem quite heavily until I was happy with it lol

I have had nights like that and your poem describes them beautifully. I am sure that is the first time I have used "beautifully" to describe a hangover. Thanks for sharing.

God.... yeah hangovers are the worst, especially after you reach a certain age. When I was 25 I used to shake them off in like half a day. Now I'm over 40 it takes three full days to get back to normal 😂