You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Night Speaks, and Other Haiku ~ A Bit of a Haibun About My Night and the Zen of Silence

in Blockchain Poetslast year

Lately I've been staying up too late. I just can't help myself. I enjoy waking up early before the kids so I can get started on my day before the general chaos of dealing with them, helping them prepare for their day, and so on. At the same time, I also enjoy the peace of night and staying up late. I want both things!

Unless you have boundless energy my friend, that type of thing will catch up to you eventually. Although saying that, I have written some of my best psychedelic poems when I've had serious insomnia, like Engulfed in Sonder or A Hollywood Creation Myth.

I like the third Haiku you share here the most. It resonates with the meditation process greatly, and you speak on that subject so eloquently in this blog.

Maybe that's another reason I stay up so late sometimes. After a day of listening to noise noise noise, the quiet of night is a welcome pleasure.

For sure I can see why the night might be the best time for meditation, especially with wee ones about raising their cacophonous joy 😂

I hope you are well.
All the best m8.

Sort:  

Unless you have boundless energy my friend, that type of thing will catch up to you eventually.

I know, I know 😃 My pattern lately is usually stay up late (and get up early, but that's a given) for a few nights, then get one or two of 8, then a few short nights again.

Thanks for the comment, buddy 😃