The Midday Moon - A Month of Daily Poems (Day 6)

in Blockchain Poets3 years ago (edited)

Boat Midday Moon Title.pngImage by Engin Akyurt from Pixabay



Waves kick spray from bow,
rainbows sway salt mist
as sails salute the midday moon.

A porcelain sea hides mirrored halls,
shoals of silver beaded ghosts

whispering turmoil, sun-lapped waves
that spit and roil fading at beach break.

She beats groaning granite walls
wearing down grain by grain
in a tidal pleasure pain

caress of briny bliss
soft        gentle         dissolution.

The land sighs in current's caress,
seagulls rest on upwelling drafts
of wind tickling shivering grass.

Until... stillness, the bump and role
fades to a murmur of swell
beckoning slumber,

grass slows its shimmy
as cliffs breathe deep sleep.


Copyrightbanner.png


I discovered the beginnings of this poem in a notebook from a long while ago, half written sitting sad and abandoned on the page. As I read over the lines I had jotted down over ten years ago, memories came flooding back of sitting on the bow of a boat on my way to Phi Phi island in Thailand.

It was early afternoon, and the moon was riding low in the sky, despite the sun still being up as gossamer clouds peppered the blue. I guess this peculiarity of the tropics hit me as I wrote about half of this poem on that boat, despite having suffered writer’s block for many years.

As I read the snippets of poetry back to myself today, the memory was so strong that I completed a first draft in about 30 minutes. It’s a strange thing about poetry and music lyrics as well, that I’ve found they can transport you back in memory with an intensity unmatched by prose.

“Poetry is the spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings: it takes its origin from emotion recollected in tranquillity.”

Quote ~ William Wordsworth

This quote from Wordsworth encapsulates my feelings precisely.

For me, writing poetry at the moment of inspiration is that emotion recollected in tranquillity to which Wordsworth alludes. The power of a poem written at a certain time to trigger a visual memory is a profound and beautiful thing.

It took me on visual flights of fancy this afternoon, and away from the grey rainy streets of the UK.

Thanks for reading.

All images in this post are creative commons licence (linked below the picture) or made by myself. If you have enjoyed this poem and blog, please check out my homepage @raj808 for similar content.

Footer_raj808.png

Click banner to visit the community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Interested in trading, buying or selling crypto?

Sign up to Bittrex here.
Sign up to Coinbase here.
Sign up to Swissborg app to instantly buy crypto here.
Use my referral link to sign up for Crypto.com and we both get $25 USD.

If You Have Found Value From this Post and Want to tip extra, Crypto Donations Are Welcomed:
►Donate Ether and ERC20 Tokens: 0x32321615174AF3Da6074Cf79DED8269cA7a8eB24
►Donate Bitcoin: bc1q8wutj8u6ush7s8mucphfxf7gzrexeywmuqm8g3
►Donate Bitcoin Cash: qzt7c0czw0q988h93jvcz2rq5gy0s3h9pg2pk700ev
►Donate Litecoin: Lfsnz3pbT5V9N6WWGRaBsgKs9EvFeqzcPm
►Donate BNB: bnb1xeu94exteel9w3g8g44e6g595kvrqlgzm0crq4
►Donate Monero: 49PovXGcM9Y7JYeRJ35W9xZGrdivvLaMbVtGc3WDv6amCm5wqA854SvJNWxaEqjTz18K5YVPj5D6619C3bvNHsrG7oD1whb
►Donate Tezos: tz1SJUkpeznKE6bEhbX81YFdUQS5BprA4ot8
►Donate XRP: r35quYTThThN7yNvkJxyhLFAPyju3tsT35

Sort:  

Hi @raj808,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

My wife @psychic-yanga and my sister @tea-said are poet too. I enjoy poetry alot, though my wife is also a spoken word artist too. I would love for you to groom them

Sorry yanga,

I suffer with a chronic illness that means I struggle to get my own content written and posted. I don't have the spare time or energy for mentoring anyone.

All I can offer is general adivce that might help your wife and sister.

  1. Promoting your content (sharing it) in discord communities can help a lot. A few good ones for poetry are creativecoin & PAL also it is important to chat to people in discord communities and not just drop your posts and run. I've been on hive (and before steem) for nearly 5 years. It can take a lot of time and networking to build up a following.

  2. I see that your wife says she does spoken word. One good way to be noticed as a poet is to make a performance video and share it on @threespeak
    I did this with my recent poetry performance The Space Between Worlds

  3. BlockChainPoets is probably the best community to post poetry in on hive.

I hope this all helps. Good luck to you and your wife and sister. I've checked out thier profiles and followed them 🙂

When a poem is based on wonders of nature its arouses glamour in my mind. Nice write up.

Hi emrysjobber,

I feel the same about the wonders of nature. Nature is very often the focus of my poetry and a constant source of inspiration.

Thanks for visiting and commenting. Knowing people are reading and enjoying these poems is what keeps me going on this self-challenge to try and write a poem every day for a month 👍🙂

I liked your quote from Wordsworth, I feel like I identify with it as well. And I do very much feel you when you say that you dream about a sunny trip to an island instead of being under grey skies.
I do not consider myself a poet, So I love to read the poems of people like you to learn, to develop my inner writer, so thank you for sharing. Regards.

I love to read the poems of people like you to learn, to develop my inner writer, so thank you for sharing.

Thank you for that compliment Cesar, I'm happy to hear if I've inspired someone to write poetry. I just read your poem and enjoyed it very much.

As to the weather 😂 yeah, it gets me down sometimes in the winter when it is grey and drizzle every day. That is when I have to resort to poetry to wing away to distant seas in tropical memories.

All the best cesar, and thanks again for reading my poem and commmenting 🙂

What a great poem my friend, as the power of the mind helped you to finish that poem so great and if it has to do with nature much better, just beautiful, I love to read you bro.

Greetings
What a great poem my friend, as the power of the mind helped you to finish that poem so great and if it has to do with nature much better, just beautiful, I love to read you bro.

Greetings.

Hi Jose.

Yes, it feels really good to finish a poem that has sat half baked for over ten years 😂 and you're right, the poem holds a reverance for nature that is at the core of me as a person. I'm never happier than being out on the open sea 🌊

I look forward to your poems every day. Today is no exception. Thank you for sharing.