The Stolen life

Day 8 of the November challenge

Lost in my reveries,

Caught up in bliss,

From another time in the past,

I do really miss,

My time in the woods,

Lying on the dead leaves,

Dreaming without end as time in stillness stood,

Lost in the blue-sky peeping through the trees,

Watching butterflies and damselflies,

Hovering over the pond,

Sweet stillness shattered by the sharp cries,

Of a bird mourning his lover breaking their bond!

I miss the tiny ducklings,

Swimming in line,

Behind their mother quacking,

So proud and fine.

The feel of those pretty flowers,

Which come swirling down,

To caress my face and,

Become my crown.

I miss the scent of the Earth,

Touched by the rain,

The anguish of loss in my heart,

My life limited by pain!

There are times when you feel cheated by life, it seems like life has taken away the best part of your life and replaced it with suffering and pain.

Good memories gladden the heart, they are a medicine and a healing for troubled times. It's okay to relive memories and enjoy the good times you've had in the past, but to live totally in the past is to forgo your today. This poem was written when I was bed ridden for a while, I relived those happy moments in the past when I spent with nature. It wasn't hard, i just had to close my eyes and let my memories run back into the woods. There were times when I felt cheated, but I know life owes me nothing.

When good times were mine for the taking I never questioned anything, so why ask "why me?" now when I go through my share of pain and troubles. Who am I to even question what the universe dishes out to me.

By such questioning I only make things difficult for myself To accept what is set before me is half the problem solved and I am already on the way to recovery. This is what I have learned from life.

When frustrations creep in its always time for poetry. I don't know about you but emotional moment are poetry time for me. Poetry flows naturally at times like that. I also feel much better when I've expressed what is weighing heavily on my mind. Then everything is forgotten and I am happy once again.

Thankfully I am in a better place now, on the road to recovery. Healing happens at a slow pace, but it happens and that is very important.

Looking back today I am so grateful for my life. The time I spend with my family is precious and my heart fills with gratitude for each day I live to see.

The life that I live now is meaningful, each day starts with gratitude and ends with thanksgiving. I never take anything for granted anymore. Life is good! It's truly beautiful!

Images used are from my personal collection of photographs.

Sort:  

Lying on the dead leaves,

Dreaming without end as time in stillness stood,

This part is my favourite reminds me when we were young lying down on dead leaves and just day dream time stood still beautiful.

!ALIVE

@sofs-su! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @caelum1infernum. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you @youarealive for all the encouragement and support.

Thank you @caelum1infernum
I just love doing that listening to the cracking of the leaves beneath me kind of being connected to the Earth.
I am a dreamer and yes anytime is a time for endless dreams Hehe.
Thanks for stopping by, have a lovely day.

Likewise take care and keep safe ☺️

What a beautiful poem @sofs-su. Memories gladden my heart as well and I’m glad all we have to do is close our eyes and think of them :)

Writing helps me in the same way poetry does for you. I always feel better after writing about my troubles. Even though it’s hard getting through trying times, those times are what I thank for helping to mold into a stronger woman.

I’m so glad to hear you are in a better place now ~ 💖🌸

Thankyou @crosheille
Isn't it wonderful to be able to close our eyes and get into a world of loveliness?
True writing helps me take my mind of my physical pain, poetry helps me download the emotional burden.
I agree with you totally it is the rough times that make us stronger and ready for the battles that lie ahead.
Thank you for your kind words. Appreciate your stopping by.

Yes it is so wonderful to be able to do that.

poetry helps me download the emotional burden

Wow this line in itself was so poetic 😍. You have a great way with words!

Absolutely! I enjoyed my visit ~

Thank you @crosheille
Have a wonderful day!

Thankfully I am in a better place now, on the road to recovery. Healing happens at a slow pace, but it happens and that is very important.

Healing is not smooth and linear; healing is not crisp air and straight roads; healing is not soft and velvety; healing is not a comfortable or pleasant experience. Not at all, no.

In particular, when you've built a home out of all your broken pieces and become too accustomed to living with the hurt, you've made them your habit, your way of life, and it's difficult, way too difficult to get rid of them, healing is not an easy process at all.

You discover that healing is a disguised enemy who prevents you from feeling comfortable around it. I am glad you went through it, and I wish you all the best. @sofs-su.

I was talking about physical healing here mainly, but I get what you mean.
The process of healing is long and arduous road and one could easily give up.
Thanks for your good wishes @mell79

Yes, I just saw that you were bedridden. I must have misread it, I sincerely apologize. I'm sure it's having an impact on your life, both mentally and physically. I'm glad you're okay and on the path to recovery, and that you'll soon be able to enjoy the beautiful nature. Speedy recovery and may god bless you, @sofs-su

I miss the scent of the Earth,
Touched by the rain,

yes, it is amazing sensation

Glad you also enjoy the same things @penyaircyber
Thanks for stopping by.