I Drop My Sword!


And just like that, I spiral,
the pressure bearing down on me,
I feel the edge, beneath my feet,

And step off,
unable to hold on,
to carry the weight, of so many worlds,
that follow me,

worlds that spun out of control
that burnt away, the last of my reserve.

I free fall,
depleted
by the the many threads
that pull at me,
that penetrate my consciousness
screaming at me now,
to slow down,
to breathe,
to allow myself to feel.

To drop my sword.

The need to protect,
to provide,
to be present for,
a presence where I am lost,
crying to be seen,
my pain eating away at me.

I step off ,
surrendering to my own judgements,
to my failures,
each crack,
bringing more light into my life,

I drop my sword
and it all rains down,
the pain,
the weight I carry,
the expectations,
I fall upon the earth,
and finally I am ready,
to embrace my rebirth.

Sort:  

There is no not feeling every word in your poems. They speak on behalf of many even as they sound like your own experiences!

Sending you so much love ❤️

Thank you beautiful, I appreciate you more than you know xxxx

I enjoy coming around your post because of how good your words speak.
Well done champ

This is a whole mood right there.

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 280000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 290000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022

I step off ,
surrendering to my own judgements,
to my failures,
each crack,
bringing more light into my life,

I loved your poem and in general this paragraph, sometimes you have to walk away sometimes, in my country we always make jokes about our own failures or misfortunes, you have to let go of many things in order to lighten our load to become us again and rise again like a phoenix, as always great image, thank you for sharing this feeling with us ☺

Thank you @joseitosanchezs for always giving me such wonderful feedback and encouragement xxxx

Lovely poem, it reminds me a painful experience when I accidently dropped a pair of sharp scissors on my foot and they stayed upright for a second that felt forever back then !

Ouch, that is one experience you will never forget xxx

Powerful (sometimes one word is enough, even though I've now used more in parenthesis!)

Thanks @ablaze, yes sometimes all one needs is one word xxx

This is powerful and wonderful! I love that you used a sword as the metaphoric object instead of something like a shield. That you're actively combating and not just defending. It makes a huge difference in the imagery that fits so much better with how we deal with struggles.

!PIZZA

Exactly, as a solo mama, I so often forget to lower my sword, feeling this huge need to protect my young and also my way of life. It's a heavy burden and I only feel the true weight of it, when I let it down. Thanks @anikekirsten xxx

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@anikekirsten(1/15) tipped @trucklife-family (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Thanks for the pizza xxx