What is showing on the television tonight?

The problem of television
is in its inability
to tell stories without darkness.
A book will speak of light
as if it has touched its skin,
felt the small tremors
of liver failure
inside its drunken stagger
to the bed & all the disasters
it creates just to get there.
A television hungers
to show you how.
You must see.
Well I don't want to see
how the little man dies,
how the girl hiccups
because she is too full of tears.
Sometimes, a radio play
is even better.
You don't have to watch
the actress pretend
to smoke the cigarette.
You are allowed a bit
for your imagination.
Have you ever cried
to a book?
It takes imagination
a blink of an eye
to make that leap
from page to picture.
It is why the library
in Benin has a hole
in the roof & the cinemas
have air-conditioning.


library-849797_640.jpg
Pixabay

Sort:  

Television is a propaganda machine. It shows whatever it wants to. It has the power to turn a victory into defeat and vise versa. The stake holders want to sell everything that will bring them money. They are not concerned about truth or lies. If darkness brings them money they sell it. Books on the other hand bring light and hope.

Very nice poem. Brought to your post by @dreemport

I know television has its good parts. It is inane content that kills me. And indeed, these television execs are all about their account balance

Indeed. Television has its good parts but they never come without the benefits of the stake holders. Whatever benefits them, they present.

The more plastic media I consume, the more I am reminded I belong to the world held together by ink and pages ♡

Yeah too much information, more than we need, out there

I think movies show you the picture and books let you create a picture.

Found your post via @dreemport

I good book leads one’s imagination to be active where a movie or tv show never does that effectively

I found my way here via #dreemport

Yes books allow you to explore your imagination but the television does little in that realm. Rather, if not carefully managed, it can destroy the ability for independent thinking

So very true and sadly so few young ones these days read books

Hmmm... This is deep. Television these days is becoming more and more boring with the messages being passed across. Everything has become so predictable, taking the unsuspecting viewers with it. People would rather spend time in darkness than come into the light

I wonder why people rely on the content being indicated on television?
Some visual effects only create suspense or make you fall deeper into the world of unrealistic tuff.

You don't have to watch
the actress pretend

If one is reading the book I guess imagination, insights always boost one's soul, don't know if it creates the same sense to anyone else or not but for me reading the novel is 100 times better than watching tv.
Well done dear.
@dreemport directed me here.

It is the same for me. I usually do not find televised versions of a book to be reliable no matter the effects employed.

But somehow it's better too.
For instance, a novel is being presented on TV and few people read it before but at least after watching it in the form of drama many be they can acknowledge the effort of the writer.

Always creative... You deserve some accolades.. Few words with lots of meaning...

Televisions tends to show us what we want to see and that which we don't want to see. I think the television has made the life of the present day children worse off.. They tend to learn things not worth knowing from there... Even with the PG attached to it, it still feeds its content without reservation.

@dreemport directed me to your post

Cable tv, live streaming... Who controls the internet controls television content and they don't care as long as they are getting paid

You are so right.. No one cares about what they dish out provided it gives them money.. God help us

I think the area of television has been the medium where people normally cry while watching.

Reading the book is not like watching TV.

@deemport

I have cried while reading and I know many others too who have felt deep emotion from reading a well written poem or prose. For words to make you cry, then you must have dwelt in that book. You must have fully realised the imagined life the writer is trying to show you

The last time I turned on the tv in my house was last year. Enough of the negativities.

An ode to books.

Somewhat related to the theme here: have you ever read the Zen TV experiment?