Corporate vs Co-working Life

in NOMAD HIVElast year

If you were to pick the kind of job that you would do, which one would you choose? A corporate life or a co-working life?

20221102_180138.jpg

thumbnail.jpg

As I grow older, I seek for more stability in life and I am not going to lie that I had a pang of regret abandoning opportunities that were presented to me. I ruminate over the thoughts that becoming a nomad, earning some of my income online and from crypto were a bad idea. Was I too stupid for abandoning an opportunity of a lifetime to be a trust fund baby, comfortably walking my way through PhD, works for a corporation, manage the family business and expanding it to a great law firm, and have the power to change my society?

thumbnail.jpg

Since I practically ditched my opportunity working from a corporation, I can only wonder if there’s only some sort of joy in having fixed income, fixed working hours, leading the sameness every-single-day. The people from the corporation I met these days also work remotely and some have the option to vagabond. The predictability is the advantage, something I don’t really have right now. My chance vanished as I also cut ties with my estranged biological mother who once offered me the great things in life. She acted like the devil coming up with some sheet terms, benefits, and all the stuff that I could get for a nice life according to her. “ You’re smart, you just haven’t met the right person that would invest in you or anyone that you could discuss all these” she told me once. I believed her, until my heart chooses otherwise. The suffering I felt by working with her, the money that I got, and many other things weren’t as much as the money I earned personally from my crypto investments. When I got a fuck you money once, it was the turning point where I felt like all those predictability weren’t worth it. Why bother work for her like a little slave doing excel work, translation, and some data entries? There were some fun for sure and some perks working with her including free travel, great accommodation and extra money. I told myself once that if I endured it a little bit, by 24, I could have traveled across the country just like her, going into remote areas and such. But, there was some conflicting stuff in my conscience where I felt it was not right. Today, that feeling came again where I felt a pang of envy as she made her way into other bigger projects and my siblings were on their way to earn their masters. My biological mother obviously doesn’t want them to stop. Once they finish it, the PhD awaits them and corporate life too.

Then, there’s me. Leading the co-working life, what I have right now is basically the type of work where I can do it anywhere, wear whatever I like, and do it anytime I like. It is the same with managing the business I have with my adoptive mom where I essentially just tell her what to do, from anywhere, and I would receive a portion of money that would end up into some type of crypto and her retirement funds. Sometimes, I would humbly say I am unemployed too when random people ask me what I do for work. When I am feeling cheerful, sometimes I tell them I work online but don’t go into details.

thumbnail.jpg

Were all these nomad crypto dreams failed?

I don’t know. I wouldn’t say I am doing poorly, in fact I’d say I have been successful enough with whatever I have going on. I was able to help my adoptive parents, financed my dad who has a stroke, and many other things that enabled me to live my life beyond what I dreamed of within my means. When I called my adoptive mom to give me some slap to reality, she told me that I am doing fine and this type of work fits me because of my nature and many other things. She told me that I’d be more miserable working with so many rules. Although I can’t help that I have a part of me that enjoys competition, mind games, and all the things to climb to the ladder of power. That part came out and a reason why I wrote this to get it off my chest. I convince myself that the great thing about co-working life is that I have freedom and independence. These aren’t something cheap and I suppose, I paid a hefty price just to enjoy a life that many wish to have. I should be grateful, right? When everyone is trying to avoid working for a corporation, quietly quitting, why do I even want to work for a corporation?

20221103_172040.jpg

The last thing that my adoptive mom told me before she hung up the phone was this, life doesn’t stop when you fail, you have to get up, try again. Be yourself and be proud. Stop comparing yourself to your siblings, they could be jealous of your life too. I saw that you’re happy compared to when you work with your biological mother. Now you can sleep peacefully, you are calmer and you have made improvements. Just keep doing what you do, one step at a time. Bye, I’ll talk to you again tomorrow”.

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me on Buymeberries!


image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢. 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘫𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭, 𝘯𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘥𝘶𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘮𝘪𝘯𝘪𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘺𝘭𝘦, 𝘤𝘺𝘣𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘶𝘢𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦, 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘫𝘰𝘺𝘴 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘷𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴. 𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘯𝘵, 𝘥𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥.
Sort:  

Muy buen post, gracias por contarnos un poco de ti, de tus altibajos, siempre hay que saber enfrentar las cosas y si no nos sentimos bien, pues hay que hacerles frente.
Que bueno que te ha ido bien en elundo de las criptos, a mí me ha ido bien también pero también mal 😅 de los golpes de aprende.

La criptogmonedas divertida pero después de un tiempo me pregunto y quiero experimentar otro lado jaja. Saludos!

Aquí en Cuba la mejor via para hacer dinero extra son las criptos, además que nos abren las puertas al mundo ya que estamos bloqueados por Estados Unidos en muchos aspectos.

I have always dreamt of having a co-working life. A job that would enable me to experience life from a different perspective. I can't say which one is better tho, for they have their own perks. It's a matter of our own non-negotiables and priorities.

Can we switch position? 😂 I can taste some corporate life and you can taste co-working life. It really comes with many perks, like no fixed schedule, life feels like traveling everyday, etc. I personally don't have any priorities, which is bad 😂 and that's the reason I can live laid back like this. Maybe I should have some priorities figured by now. But yes, if I were to switch my life just for a month, I'd do that for the sake of experience.

Let's switch, then! 😂

I have worked so many jobs doing so many different things over the course of my life and honestly I hated all of them. Some more so than others, but yea I couldn't find anything I wanted to do for a living and just bounced around from restaurants to healthcare to finance and more over the years.

About 6 years ago I got so frustrated that I couldn't find any sort of happiness that way and how meaningless life felt. Very frustrating feeling like you've tried everything and don't fit anywhere. It got to the point of "if this is all there is to life, I'm done."

Not a pleasant place to exist. It did lead to exactly what I needed though, which was the thought that broke me out of that insanity. "Why not do literally anything else?"

So that's what I did. I started thinking about all those things that I didn't actually want to do and no longer felt compelled to do them. Quit my job, dropped toxic relationships, and started writing on this little website called steemit.

We all have to find our own way. I think people tried to tell me this at points in my life, but you can't really tell anyone anything they aren't ready to hear ya know? We can't truly be happy doing things that are inauthentic to who we actually are.

It took a while, but I've finally found work doing something I'm passionate about and I think that makes all the difference. The right opportunity is out there somewhere and when you find it, it won't even feel like work. Much love!

I suppose it really takes time to finally realize and recognize the things that people been telling us. I think about authenticity a lot lately and how it's freeing to do what we love to do just by being ourselves. Echoing what you said, when we love something that we do, it certainly doesn't feel like it's work. I know that feeling and the life I have now is something I should be grateful about. Thanks for sharing your story, this is why I love writing because I get to learn something new about people that I know or just new ways to see things 😃. Cheers!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @macchiata ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

We are kind of similar. I was a digital nomad back when I was single, with no kids. I enjoyed working from anywhere and also experienced coworking life. We could have been really friends in real life. :)

I think I will start working in a company soon and we will see how things will be. Working for a company can sometimes make you feel like a slave or like you will never get ahead. But the way you work now, you're doing things from home and you're not competing with people. You're just trying to do what you're best at in the best way. It's almost impossible to know which one you'll be happiest at because it depends on the person and the circumstances of the moment. So you might be happy working in a company now, but in 2 years you might hate it. The same goes the other way around. I don't know, some things can only be learned through experience.

Ah yes, just like before I wanted to escape that hell working with my bio mother and her fuckery. Then, I got what I wanted but now I wondered about the other side. I guess, it's life where we never feel enough and constantly comparing ourselves. I feel like I should be grateful for any opportunities right now. Like my mom said, just do your best with your present, that's all there is.

I ain't your mama 🎶 but we think the same way 😂😂

I wanted to be a fighter pilot in the United States Navy. But unfortunately for me, that dream would never come true. Thanks to my family's genes and hereditary myopia, I became nearsighted in my college years. So, a career flying fast jets was off the table, and I spent the next few years in alcoholic misery. I was still immature and also didn't have a backup plan, and the bottle became my way of coping.

Sorry to hear that man, I used to cope with bottles too but stopped because I was dead sick and needed some changes 😅. Now I am fine though, sober but still caffeinated.