You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Got a new toy

in STEMGeeks3 years ago

While I like thin and light, I think manufacturers have gone too far in that direction. If a laptop is too "thin and light" to have a couple of regular USB ports without attaching a dongle, then it has gone too far.

I build my own desktop PCs periodically but I have only purchased 2 laptops for myself. The first was a Pentium M based Acer that I got a great deal on in the early 2000s. I got the second about two years ago when I opted for an Alienware (9th gen i7 based).

I don't actually do much gaming but I opted for the Alienware for a few reasons:

  1. It's fast and has discrete graphics (1660ti...I didn't opt for the 2060 at the time because i didn't care about ray tracing which was about the only advantage)
  2. While it's pretty thin for the amount of power it has, it still has room for some USB ports
  3. It does not throttle even when pushing the CPU, iGPU and GPU to the max...a rare or nonexistent attribute in a non-gaming laptop these days it seems.
  4. I always liked the Alienware aesthetic, I could finally afford one, and it's highly unlikely I would ever get a desktop Alienware as I prefer building my own.
  5. It has a big 4K screen (17-inch)
  6. It might be another 10 years before i buy another new laptop so i figured I would go big now.

It's a bit bigger and heavier than is ideal for a laptop but i'm not really travelling much (or at all right now) and it still compares well to the "thin and light" of 10 years ago. I absolutely love it and the only "negatives" are that it does not have a card reader and i wouldn't mind upgrading it from 16 GB to 32 GB. I'd love to build a new desktop but until GPU prices come down that isn't happening.

Sort:  

I have a Lenovo legion at work that use for some of my gaming. Beyond that my desktop is a custom build. I need to upgrade the graphics card when they are finally available again. I also have a thread ripper box that I built. I use it as a Linux server right now but that may change. My desktop is liquid cooled. The Ryzen is air cooled. The only dongle required for my new personal laptop is if you want to connect to Ethernet. I am actually shocked she supplied one with it for that.