Every Geek needs one of these!

in STEMGeeks4 years ago (edited)

My Audio Engine speakers were covered in dust so I borrowed my daughter's makeup brush last month to clean them. Given they're not exactly cheap and the speaker membrane is rather delicate I needed something fairly soft to clean with and a duster was out of the question. After successfully removing a good few months of dust I thought to myself: "This is awesome!" and decided to get my own. Of course, being a modern man and totally at ease with my own sexuality plus a mature individual who doesn't embarrass easily I made my daughter buy one for me.


Computers are dust magnets, I'm no scientist but I suspect it has something to do with heat and electricity? Keeping things clean such as keyboards etc is a nightmare which is why many of the Geeks I know just don't bother cleaning. Personally, I can only stand it for so long before I have to do something about it.

If you do consider nicking your sisters or the wife's make sure it's a good one with nice soft bristles you don't want to be exchanging dust for small scratches do you.

"If you don't have enough voting power or crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

Nice story behind the username!

A handy hint there! Love the humour too :)

Good afternoon. This is really helpful advice. I will stick to this advice. My speakers have been in need of cleaning for a long time. Great post. Thank you.

Are they anti-static? I expect whatever photographers use would work too, but may have a premium price. I was actually dusting my desk yesterday as it was getting bad. That shiny black plastic shows it up. I used a cloth to gently wipe my speakers that don't have covers on the cones. May have to get a brush.

Yeah, I was using a lint-free cloth but was so scared of damaging the membrane the cleaning was pathetic. Now, it's just a couple of flicks with the brush. Dunno why I didn't think of it before?


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!