An experience with nerve compression

in STEMGeekslast year

It's been a while since I've been on about my sister's health condition.

It happens that I got a few things wrong with the actual diagnosis of her condition. I have been extracting information from her without actually sitting down with the physician to understand the whole thing. I depended on my own residual knowledge to arrive at conclusions.

The last test she did was an MRI scan. Even though the conclusion was that she will be having surgery. I still did not understand the full extent of her condition. I've been too busy running around for money.

I requested the MRI scan result and sent it to a friend of mine who happens to be a medical doctor. It was he that told me the actual condition my sister is in. She's suffering from nerve compression. As a scientist, I set out to investigate the condition and decided to make an informed article on my blog to correct some of the misinformation in my previous publication.

A bit about nerves

The human body contains over 7 trillion nerves each serving important functions by forming a part of the body's nervous system. The nerves in the human body can be comparable to the wiring of a big house. Each wire serves the important function of carrying electric current from one place to another in the wiring system. A fault in one can bring about a major problem for the entire wiring system.

Except that instead of carrying electric currents like wire, the nerves in the human body carry electric signals from one part of the body to another. They form a link between the brain, the spinal cord, and the rest of the body.

There are two types of nerves in the human body:

  • Sensory nerves
  • Motor nerves

The former help with the conduction of signals from the body to the brain. In essence, they put 'sense' in the sense organs. No human can feel, see, smell, or taste without the sensory nerves. The latter helps the conduction of signals to the muscles or glands to effect movements in the body.

Thus, without properly functioning nerves, there can never be properly functioning humans.


By www.scientificanimations.com - https://www.scientificanimations.com, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=82763341

Nerve compression

When one of the wires in an electrical system is compressed, it creates problems for the wire, and the functions of such a wire may be severely impacted. The same thing is applicable to nerves in the body.

Nerve compression is a phenomenon that has to do with the excessive pressure being put on nerves, usually by the surrounding tissues which could be bones, cartilages, muscles, or even tendons.

Nerve compression can occur in different parts of the body including:

  • Wrists
  • Elbows
  • Shoulders
  • Back of legs

The nerve compression that my sister is suffering from is the one that affects the back of the leg. It is otherwise known as Sciatic Compression because it involves the sciatic nerve that runs between the lower back to the knee.

According to my investigation, this condition is caused by a problem with one of the herniated discs in the lower back. The herniated discs are located in between the vertebral bones to serve a cushion purpose.

If too much pressure is exerted on the vertebral bones, it may cause one or more of the discs to bulge. The bulging, in my sister's case, is what is compressing the sciatic nerve and causing her all sorts of discomforts, including chronic pain.

Causes and Risk factors

My sister has been working as a hairdresser before being grounded by the nerve compression issue. As I pointed out in my earlier post, the work requires standing or sitting for a long time in order to attend to customers. According to the doctors, this has caused a lot of wear and tear to her spinal bones and the consequence is a bone spur that is putting pressure on the sciatic nerve.

Apart from stress from repetitive work, some other risk factors and causes of nerve compression according to my investigation include:

  • Rheumatoid arthritis
  • Tumor or cystic growth around nerves
  • Injuries
  • Narrowing of the space inside the spinal canal, otherwise known as spinal stenosis (for sciatic compression)
  • Pregnancy
  • Age
  • Sedentary lifestyle

Way forward

The pressure on the affected nerve just has to be removed as soon as possible. If this is not done, permanent damage may be done to the nerve.

Some of the recommended treatments for nerve compression include:

  • Rest or a change to lifestyle to remove pressure from the nerve.
  • Exercise and physical therapy.
  • Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs.
  • Surgery as a last option.

In my sister's case, the last option is what is recommended. The lower spine surgery will cost us about $4,000 and we are currently all over the place for the fund.

For anyone willing to assist, I will make a post with all the details in the coming days.

Thank you all for the audience.

Resources

Posted with STEMGeeks

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @stemng ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Mark as very urgent Sir!!!

I feel really concerned about this, I won't advice a she follow through on surgery, they probably want to do a laminectomy for her

Please let her see a physiotherapist first if she hasn't, as physiotherpist, we have been able able to solve quite some severe sciatic nerve compression that needed surgery with conservative management even with the few modalities we have in OAU THC.

Besides 80% of neural decompression surgery called laminectomy which I have seen personally has led to serious complications far greater than the initial diagnosis, and with patients in regret...

You might want to Google sciatic nerve compression(sciatica) in relation to Physiotherapy.

Let me know if you need clarification sir or further enquiry.
I'm ready to help.

She spent quite some time going to and fro physio unit in OAUTHC. The issue has been on for a while. If it was a case that can be solved by physio, I guess it would have been done. Besides, she was referred for an MRI scan by physio, I think.

Also, I am not really sure if hers has to do with bone spurs. She has an appointment tomorrow, I will probably try to speak to the doctor over the phone to know the exact cause of her condition and the type of surgery required.

We mostly refer people for X-ray, then a CT-Scan if X-ray is insufficient enough, an MRI seems far fetched

Just to be clear when you say "she spent quite some times going to and fro physio unit" , was she actually receiving physiotherapy treatment ?

If she was, how long?

No. She wasn't receiving therapy. She did an X-ray, CT-scan, and was eventually sent to Ado Ekiti for an MRI scan. The x-ray revealed Arthritic wears in the spine. She was prescribed some drugs but when the pain won't subside, she went back again. I don't know if a therapy was presented as an option. I feel compelled to go there with her tomorrow, just that time may not permit me.

Sir, since she wasn't receiving treatment, please try physiotherapy before surgery. If it is really what I'm thinking it is, a severe nerve root compression resulting from spinal degeneration.

Is she still able to walk Sir?

Yes. She walks albeit painful.

I will see if I can remotely discuss with her physician today about the whole surgery thing.

Alright Sir. I think that will clarify alot.

I think, probably knowing the exact cause of her condition will really help going forward as that will help us know if physio might help to play a role.

No doubt there are condition that physio are not indicated, even sometimes contraindicated, but from my experience physio can help significantly with nerve compression especially at the spine.

wow it is very costly the surgery! But maybe it is worthful for improve her quality of life
!1UP

This really speaks to me. My 86 year old mother is having constant, serious nerve pain after hip surgery. It's made her immobile, which in turn compounds the pain. And she's refusing medication. Not sure how to help her, since SHE has to do the exercise, massage etc to relieve the compression herself.

Personally I've had superb results - long term relief and healing - with acupuncture. And with Near Infra Red Light. Pain free every day!!

Unfortunately, we don't have such service around here. The whole issue is weighing me down tbh. It is one thing to get the surgery funds, it is another thing for the surgery to be issues free.

So true. My 62 year old Dutch cousin - 2 artificial hips, 2 artificial knees - is currently in hospital due to a botched surgery to free a trapped nerve. She's very overweight and expects the surgeries to be miraculous without understanding how her lifestyle and choices help create this disaster.

Sigh.

Unfortunately, she's not the only person that will be facing the consequences of the lifestyle and choices. It directly or indirectly impact the lives of those around her. It is important to always caution family members over their lifestyle choices. I did with my sister and here we are.

sigh Caution about the health consequences of obesity is something few overweight people want to hear.

1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @gwajnberg!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@stem-curator, @neoxag-curator, @pal-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@curation-cartel(15/20) tipped @gentleshaid (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!