You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Raspberry Pi Foundation Launches Pi 400

in STEMGeeks3 years ago

"I do wish they went with some sort of SSD instead of using SD cards. SD Cards are notoriously unreliable when abruptly shutting down the computer, and this happens frequently with a PC. You can get 120GB SSD for around $20, it should have at least been an option. The performance difference with an SSD on a Pi over SD is huge."

I am not sure what you mean, I think one could just buy a SSD extern harddisk and set the bias to boot from it, then you would avoid the SD card, am I right?

Sort:  

I wonder whether the keyboard has a space to mount one internally?

 3 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

I didn't see your question even come in on Gina.

You can use a USB 3 cable (I have a post that goes into this for the Pi 4 but should be very similar) to boot off SSD.

I really think the device should have come with SSD as desktop usage really isn't good on an SD card and they could have done a good sized SSD for only $20. Likely even fit it inside of the keyboard (ideal).

I didn't provide the wrong information, I assumed it was obvious you could use an external SSD or even use an SSD cable like the one in my post above. I was mainly referring to what they provide and how they could have done it internally for a much better product.

SD are fairly stable, unless you pull the power then they run a higher than normal chance of corrupting. But more importantly they are slow as shit, especially random reads.

Keep it up dude, earth is flat, research it!

That's the dumbest thing I've ever heard in my life.

 3 years ago (edited) 

You can solve this really easy. Buy a $40 weather balloon, and a cheap mobile phone, send it up with the camera streaming, you will have your answer within 2 hours.

Better yet, I'll give you 1,000 Hive for a really good picture of the edge of the Earth.