3D Printed Self Watering Planter

in STEMGeeks3 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I hope you're all doing well today.

I recently designed a self watering planter for my indoor garden. The process took me a few days and many mistakes and failed designs along the way, but in the end I succeeded with something I'm really happy with, and even captured some cool macros that I will share in the end of the post.

I will also state (as a bit of a disclaimer) that this planter is only unique in its dimensions and pieces and not unique as a first working self watering planter, meaning there are other very similar designs and I didn't invent the idea, but this one is one of a kind because I designed it myself.

Thanks for stopping by, let's have a look at the self watering planter I designed. (In https://www.tinkercad.com)


image.png


Ok let's check out how this was made and how it works!

Here's a shot of the objects on Tinkercad.


image.png


You will notice a notch I made so that the smaller bottom will sit on top, also notice the hole in the smaller piece.

For this to work, a wick needs to go through that hole and into the bottom, which will be a water reservoir.

The concept is simple, the wick will soak up the water and disperse it into the soil evenly, giving the plant all the water it needs at a (hopefully) even and not soaking wet distribution level. I've never tried one of these before and my design was rather unscientific, as my aim was to make an acceptable planter with all the components being the right sizes and shapes to make it a functioning unit.

Let's check out a downscaled (and totally usable) version, which main purpose was to test the prints ability to both print, and fit together properly.


image.png



image.png


The pieces fit perfectly and my excitement was on the rise and I felt closer to a full sized working version of my own self watering planter design.

Here are some live shots of the printing process.


image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png


So this was the process to completion. I could scale it up and make it even larger if I wanted, or print it in different colors even, but the print does consume a great deal of filament, this one was a total of 160 grams of PLA, which has a calculated cost of $3.21 cents USD for the print you see above. It is not cheap to print, but buying one like this would most definitely cost more.

Now for some promised macro shots. These are of the hot glue I used, photographed at 165X zoom on a Kodak point and click style camera, mounted on a tripod.


image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png


Thanks for checking out my post, I hope you all have a great day! ~~@print3dpro

Sort:  

This is bafflingly amazing.
I would like to sing that word bafflingly, and it's not even being marked misspelled.

I could mail you one ;)

Thanks, but right now I am trying to cull my stuff. Maybe when I finally figure out where I am going.

That's understandable, I'm happy to help you move when the time comes if you need the help.
I'm cheap labor too, I only charge homecooked meals :)

Understand it's not an original idea. So you don't need to really water the plant inorder to water the plant. All you gotta do is fill up the bottom pot, and let the rope to do the absorption. Particularly like the tapper edge that fit the square plant pot.

Hi @davidke20, thank you for your feedback and support!

Yes you got it 100% and the idea is it's an easier method to conventional top soil watering and may have benefits to the health of the plants.

Time will tell :)

More young people should do this sort of thing!

Indeed! Thanks for the support!

Resteemhived and promoted for 3 days! I hope this epic post gets more eyeballs!

Thanks so much for the support and visibility boost, much appreciated! 😃

Congratulations @print3dpro! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I feel confident that I can achieve this, thank you @hivebuzz!

You're welcome @print3dpro, keep going 😊👍

Cool idea. !LUV

Thank you!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program