4GB is just not enough to mine with anymore

in STEMGeeks3 years ago (edited)

The hash arms race has been quite impressive but I find one of my video cards only a few years old cannot mine anything. Having old hardware in proof of work mining can be tough these days. Even if just a couple years old.

This card would still be a pretty okay gaming card. But I cannot find a single algo that allows such a "small" video card to do proof of work mining.

This card is a Radeon R9 290X and I have tried to mine several algos to no avail. It has 4GB of RAM and it seems that's not enough these days.

20201128_095242.jpg

This card back a few years ago was quite the card. But seems it just does not have enough ram to mine anything.

20201128_095235.jpg

It still has its uses, like for gaming or emulation. But I am just shocked this card does not work on anything for crypto mining. Mayne I set up the clients wrong. If you know of a coin that mines with less than 4gb I would love to know.

20201128_095144.jpg

I have two of them, but seems they may not serve much of a purpose anymore. I also have a nvidia 1060 which can mine and two 1080s that do most of my mining.

20201128_095400.jpg

I guess I'll be sticking with nvidia going forward. Using them for rendering as well they seem to do much better these days than ati cards. Funny.. ati cards used to be better for mining.

20201128_095338.jpg

Nbminer trying to run kawpow... nope

20201128_095537.jpg

The DAG size of most blockchains is the limiting factor for my little cards. As the blockchain grows so does the DAG. So once I would have been able to mine these coins but as they scaled POW mining has required larger memory specs for graphics cards.

20201128_095509.jpg

Thanks windows defender, ya really saved me there.. heh!

20201128_095855.jpg

Haha this client could not even recognize my video card.. Its chipset is known as Hawaii.

20201128_095927.jpg

Here's the specs to my video card. Again if anyone knows an alqo my video card that can mine with 4GB or less I would love to know. Many claim to be it's usually old posts before the coins DAG grew.

Sort:  

I have the same problem with two of my 4GB Nvidia cards. They can't mine ETH since the end of September. So I've been giving them away to my sons friends who are upgrading their gaming machines.

Yeah the DAG size crossed over the 4GB level for ETH awhile back. Honestly I never had a chance to mine ETH. Always was mining other things at the time.

You're right the cards still make good gaming cards for the most part.

I was CPU mining Tube just to mess around on some old laptops. Mined around 400. HODL'n on about 3k Tubes now

The fork to Cuckaroo29 or whatever it was killed that. So now the old rigs are chugging away on Monero.

5 billion hash in a month. Only a couple bucks XMR. (usd) But an interesting experiment. Prolly twice that cost in electricity.. Lo




Ah yeah I know I can CPU mine but when I have GPUs I always want to go that direction.

Hope your tube bags are worth something when we reach ATHs

Hah its only more expensive than your electricity if you sell at current prices. If you mine and hodl it may be worth it.

Yep. Real time numbers suck. But HODL for the future. I was one that overlooked BTC. What a dummy...

Haha dont worry many people did, but if you are aware now I think you could still gain alot with BTC and other cryptos.

 3 years ago  

Feels bad to be outclassed...

feels bad man...