How Hydrogen Sulfide destroyed my beard! - Safety while working in the Engineering Field

in STEMGeeks2 years ago (edited)

The last sight of my precious beard...

Hello to everyone on Hive and especially my fellow STEMGeeks. Zak Ludick here from a currently cold and wet Cape Town. In today's blog post I am here to discuss the dangers of Hydrogen Sulfide and its various dangers, including what it did to my beard!

So the reality is that Hydrogen Sulfide or H2S is a very flammable and toxic gas that is created as an unwanted side effect in various industrial and mining processes.

You might become exposed to this gas inside a coal mine, at a petroleum refining factory or even in a sewer.

The scariest part about the gas, is that initially you might smell a slight rotten egg smell. Soon after, it will deaden your sense of smell. This means the point where you will naturally be able to detect it, you will think it might be a negligible thing as it builds up until it has overpowered your sense of smell and slowly starts filling up the area where you are.

Much like the refrigerant gasses, I deal with at work, it is a heavy gas that collects along the ground. If you work in an enclosed space that is low-laying the room will start to fill up and you will suffocate. From a harmless quantity, it will increase to a dangerous level.

The heavy gas also lies at the bottom of your lungs and even non-toxic gases (like most refrigerant gases) with this property are very dangerous. Once you have taken a big gulp of this gas, the bottom area of your lungs can no longer exchange oxygen into your bloodstream.

Thus the gas will knock you out, you will lie flat on the ground where the gas is the highest in concentration and you will die.

In order to combat the risk of this hazard, you enter plantroom areas wearing a H2S sensor on your person and you need to shave so you can wear a respirator under emergency situations!

The grudging trim of the beard...

So I started the day with my cheeks already shaved. I usually wear a full beard, but I knew this day was coming. I packed my (not often used) razor into my overall pocket and headed to facility.

Oh, what were we doing there? I don't refine petroleum no. We do airconditioning, but there is a chiller plant system that de-hydrates air for the refining process.

So the machine makes the air very cold, making it condense out all the moisture from the air and dry air can be used in the factory.

There goes the length of the beard. Wearing a beard is a habitual thing. I don't know how else to explain it but my whole range of facial expressions need to change to match it!

Now there is nothing to pull on gently during contemplation...

I trimmed that tight around my chin and tried to pass through the gate. Apparently this was TOO MUCH facial hair. The chin needed to be trimmed down.

This trim was ALSO REJECTED. My mustache was too long and STILL, you were not allowed to have hair on the chin area.

Finally, this is the MAXIMUM version of my facial hair that was allowed to enter the facility. Short mustache and "soul patch".

Now I look like someone who will give you give you a speeding ticket.

"Do you have any idea how fast you were going, ma'am?"

"Licence and registration please."

Seriously, this is not my look. It makes me look a lot more stern and far too angry than I really am.

For a person who is both a dad and a figure of authority in the Health and Safety field this can be detrimental as people get defensive with the stern look and this usually reduces their ability to hear.

However!

It is better than the potential death suffered at the hands of the "knout out gas". My exposure was limited. I needed to do a site survey of the area we needed to work at and just in case something did happen in that brief time, it is better to be prepared than to die for vanity... It will grow again.

Work safe out there! Make sure your work area is not exposed to H2S or other heavy gasses that can cause asphyxiation. Also ensure that enclosed areas have good ventilation where you work!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

It's part of the job, but sorry for your loss nonetheless.

Facial hair also makes things a bit harder in the labs as well.

!discovery 23

Thank you. I miss the beard but it is busy growing again.

I just recently got fitted with my first P2 Dust/particle Respirator. As an Electrician we drill a fair few holes into concrete and there worried about Crystalline silica dust. Bit of a step up from the old disposable masks. The P2 also has clean shave requirements, luckily I'm clean shave most work days any way.
!ALIVE
!CTP
!PIZZA

@zakludick! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @new.things. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hehe, yeah, lucky if that is already your "look" haha!

Silica Dust can be nasty. We also still have quite a bit of asbestos used in old buildings here in SA. You are no longer allowed to install them, there is an Asbestos Abatement Act and a whole lot of rules regarding checking and removing asbestos, but it is something to watch out for.

“Budding spiet kop” 😂😂
Ai, H2S sounds hectic. Thanks for the heads up on it.

It's a relevant danger in some situations. Better not to fall over and die because of an unseen threat.

Totally so.

Noooooooo not the beard!!! This is a tragedy! 😂

Oh well, it can grow back at least. Zombie Zak sounds far less appealing 😜

!LOLZ 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Ever seen a blacksmith join two metal sheets?
It's riveting

Credit: reddit
@pixelhuntersam, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @zakludick
LOLZ staking coming August 14! Please read our latest update for details on how it will impact you.
(1/1)

I thought I smelt a rotten egg smell for another reason but now know why. !CTP

You never know....


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you!

Now there is nothing to pull on gently during contemplation...

Lol why is this a thing?

Seriously, this is not my look. It makes me look a lot more stern and far too angry than I really am.

With the facial expression you were giving in the last picture, you were begging people to think these:) Maybe do more of the smiley face like in the first picture and you’ll be good haha.

When I saw the title, I was thinking it was a lab hazard where your beard got lit on fire by H2S or something. I’ve never been more glad to be wrong. Thanks for the safety tip though:)

I was not happy that I had to shave!

You need to stroke the beard while thinking deeply about things. Lol

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@new.things(1/5) tipped @zakludick (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!