Travel Tales: Precious Prague

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)


Let me tell you a little story about a dear old place I’ve had the pleasure of visiting 3 times now. It’s been some time since my last visit but the memories linger on. It’s none other than the glorious capital of the Czech Republic - Prague! 

Source
Source

They were 3 very different experiences. All superb, but exploring different aspects, shall we say. 

Going back to early in this century, it was a place that was ‘on the list’. It had started to become famous due to the opening up of the Soviet Union and budget airlines putting on flights to the region. It was being heralded as the ‘new Amsterdam’ (which may or may not have been a good thing). Stag and hen dos were starting to get in amongst it, partly due to a slightly different eastern European experience and cheap beer. Of course that was just one part - it was also a picturesque and magical scene that all could appreciate. 

Another ‘thing on the list’ was to do a TEFL. That's teaching English as a foreign language course and qualification. What a great thing to have under your belt; a way to travel, earn money, and be involved in the local culture. First stop was getting the certificate. I was aware of these one month intensive courses abroad, and where was one of these that showed up on my radar? Yep indeed, Prague. I jumped at the chance, and off I went. 

This was the first and favourite of the 3 visits. First off, it was the longest. I had a chance to really immerse myself in the place for 4 weeks plus. Second, I was actually doing something specific, gaining. Not just travelling for the sake of travelling, meandering around, but getting a qualification and given some structure and purpose to my time. 

TEFL graduates! I’m right in the middle
TEFL graduates! I'm right in the middle 

This was in November/December time, so very much a cold time of year. That has its negatives of course (bloody freezing) but having the run up to Christmas with all the markets, snow and the like, made it a bit more special and added that edge. 

I met some wonderful people from around the world. Many Americans, a few Canadians, a couple of other Brits, at least one Aussie, and a girl from Finland. 

The second occasion was really an extension to the first. It was about 4 months after the course. I had returned home and continued my life (not much in the way of teaching I might add but still good to have that bugger up my sleeve for future use. And even if I never used it, so what, it was all worth it!), whilst some of the others had stayed in Prague and were teaching with academies there. 

Four good friends from the course were sharing a flat and I went and stayed with them for the week. This was the least eventful of the 3 expeditions to this land, more of a check in and say hi kind of deal, and do a few different things. That was around Easter time, so a bit more spring like. 

The third time was a rather different affair. It was now truly famous for stag parties, and a friend was getting married. Enter Prague once more. 4 solid days of drinking, debauchery and tomfoolery was a bit of a different vibe. Amazing but very different. Less ‘cultural’, more boozy and more a case of the whims of a group of English lads. 

Dodgy camera and photo, but a few of us from the stag do - me centre black shirt and the stag front right
Dodgy camera and photo, but a few of us from the stag do - me centre black shirt and the stag front right

And this took place in July. So now we had a summer event! This was in stark contrast to the previous occasions; shorts, t-shirts, and sunny vibes as we discovered another side to the city.

Perhaps I’m ready for visit number 4? Now we can travel more freely, it might be time to check out a few more places. I am keen to get to some of the many places I’ve not been, but a stalwart like Prague is a precious place and intriguing to see what part 4 (and more?) may hold!

Have you been to Prague and how did you find it? Anywhere you recommend for a great travel experience?

~ Adam
@adambarratt
www.AdamBarratt.com


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Prague is always been my favourite city summer escape. Such a diverse city! 🥂✨

Indeed, it's a cool place! I hope to go back in the not too distant future but also explore some more of Eastern Europe…

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @adambarratt! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play