A Rainy Day During Rainy Season in Panama

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Today is an exceptionally rainy day here in Volcan! We started rainy season a few weeks ago. Dry season usually runs from Christmas until sometime in April, but last year, it basically started at the beginning of November. When the rains started, it was a welcome relief from all the brown and dust!

Today, however, there was an exceptional amount of rain! I was at a friend's house when it started, so I got to drive home in the worst part. The roads are being worked on, with new culverts being put in at different parts. The water was coming up over the road and I just knew I was going to float away! Thankfully I made it home.

279353578_749002232930414_1115385407902124807_n.jpg

When I got home, I checked the information from our weather station. It said it had almost rained 3.25 inches in about an hour! The rate of rainfall at one point was almost 8 inches! That is a lot of rain in a short amount of time!

If I hadn't been fearing for my life while driving home, I would have snapped some photos of the water! The kids said the creek that runs through our neighborhood was really high. The rain is a blessing, but it can also be a powerful force!

The weather station I have was a gift from my husband for Christmas a few years ago. I really wanted to know how much rain and wind we receive here. I keep a record of the rainfall total, wind, and temperature in a notebook. It is interesting to look back on the last few months and see how the weather changes. If you're interested in keeping up with the weather where we are, check it out at the bottom of our website Corazon del Cielo.

Due to all the rain, the kids are enjoying an afternoon watching a movie in Spanish - a great way to learn new vocabulary and allow their brains to soak up more Spanish! At the time of posting (5:30 PM), we are almost up to 4 inches!!

Sort:  

I am glad you made it home okay. I know your rainy season can really bring a heavy rain day after day.

That is too true! Yesterday we had 2 inches, but the day before we barely had any!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!