Grote Kerk Den Bosch: NETHERLANDS

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Grote Kerk Den Bosch: NETHERLANDS.jpg

The Grote Kerk (Great Church) of Den Bosch is a place that had quite a bit of significance for me during my time in the Netherlands. It was a place that housed regular Bach cantatas throughout the year, and when I was a student, I would come and play some of the most divine music with fellow musicians. There are plenty of cantatas, and so, it was always a nice discovery to see what was on the menu on any particular weekend.

Sadly, as I grew more busy with other jobs, I wasn't always able to do these cantata jobs... but near the end of my time in Europe, I was able to fit in one last one. It was a pretty hideous travel straight from a tour and the airport to Den Bosch instead of going home... but it fit, and I did it!

Something that I would always try to make time for when playing in Den Bosch, would be to stop by the famous bakery that makes the Bosche-ballen... my girls (and I) loved these cream filled, chocolate covered delicacies that hail from this town. My wife would eat them as well, but I suspect that it was the rest of us that were more into it...

Grote Kerk Den Bosch: NETHERLANDS.jpg

The church has changed quite a lot since the days when I first started playing in it as a student. It has been quite heavily renovated and modernised, whilst keeping many of the wood trappings of the old church as well. Now, there is much more tiling and hard surfaces, which makes for quite a booming acoustic.

Grote Kerk Den Bosch: NETHERLANDS.jpg

Pride of place is the huge church organ, which is still used for the services. In this acoustic, it is nearly deafening when it its going in full flight... but there is something quite majestic about it when it is really pulled to its limits... sometimes, I really wonder if the building will fall down around these huge instruments!

Before the renovations, this was the preferred facing for the congregation (and the musicians)... but since the renovation, people now sit facing in the long direction instead.

Grote Kerk Den Bosch: NETHERLANDS.jpg

Of much more interest to me is the small chamber organ much closer to the ground. I love these musical pieces, I wish I could have one of them in my room, but it would be a touch impractical!


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @bengy! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more