Travelling and Working: Slightly differently!

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


IMG_20210604_121739.jpg

Well, compared to the past year and a bit... I've been travelling a bit more for music work. It is still a trickle in comparison to what it used to be, but it does mean that my wife has not had such a stressful time juggling kids and her own work whilst I've been away.

Getting back into the routine of travelling has been a little bit of a wake up call as well. Before the pandemic, we were always hyper-organised about travel arrangements and babysitting and all the rest of that sort of thing. Everything would be clearly marked and planned out a month in advance. So, it was a bit weird to start trying to do that again... at least for the couple of weeks in the near future where I'm going to be a away again!

It was strange making contact with past babysitters... whom we haven't asked for near on a year now. Seeing if they are still doing babysitting, or if they have found other work after completing their studies. Two of the babysitters are now in other work following their studies... but the other two are still happy to watch our kids. So much changes over that year...

I've never liked being away from home, so in many ways the past year has been quite nice for me... other than the fact that there was a bit less money! But the idea of constantly moving and performing is not really as glamorous as it might sound to an outsider!

Now, with the added risk of getting sick away from home and being unable to travel... all at your own expense. Well, it starts to get a little bit more stressful!

IMG_20210604_122016.jpg

Oddly enough, many of my colleagues on this particular trip had not travelled at all since the start of the pandemic. When you are a freelancer, you always have that impression that everyone else is doing better than you and that it is quite difficult to shake the feeling that you are one step away from falling behind.... however, my wife keeps telling me that I do just as well or better than most of my colleagues when it comes to landing work, and that it is just the difference in the way that people present themselves publicly.

For instance, often when a group of musicians get together, there is an horrific phase (which sometimes never stops) of name-dropping and "accidentally" naming groups and recent projects. I generally stay out of these talks, and never feel the need to tell others who I've been playing with or what I have been doing. Meh... those talks just irritate me. I rarely want to talk about music when I'm working... and especially not with musicians!

IMG_20210604_122406.jpg

So, it turns out that Schiphol was a great deal busier than the last time I had visited. The automatic check-in desks which airlines had invested so much time and effort into are still not being used... every traveller needs to submit a PCR/Antigen test result that needs to be inspected by a human... and the rules for what is required is different for different destinations and different traveller nationalities. Plus, they change (are updated...) fairly regularly in reaction to changes of country status and domestic policies. Most of the time, it can be quite innocuous and won't really affect most people... and other times, it can be a right pain in the arse as you scramble to try and stay on the right side of the laws! It doesn't help that most of the guidelines can have some pretty huge gray areas....

I saw that there was at least one traveller fell foul and wasn't allowed to book. I'm not entirely what the problem was... something to do with the tests required, and the fact that she was a dual national and so had different rules depending on whether she was one nationality or the other?

IMG_20210604_194249.jpg

Anyway, we made it to our destination... these days, most of the trips are short affairs, as it the added complexity and risk in planning multi-stage tours is just too much to contemplate for most groups at the moment!

IMG_20210604_194351.jpg

So, I have a few hours to kill... I've always thought that this was the least fun part of performing in concerts... you generally do the concert at the end of a day. So, you sort of need to kill time during the rest of the day (which is easier if you are at home...)... but still somehow be in peak condition in the evening! So, when you are in a strange land, you have this sort of weird balance between doing stuff... but not too much that you end up to tired... or drunk!


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @bengy! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!

Thank you for the support and curation!

Jeez... Traveling sure does seem a bit chaotic and complex these days! Things have been pretty crazy since the covid stuff, hopefully it calms down in the future. It's good to hear you're getting out there and playing music again though! That must be nice. :)

It is very nice to get back up on stage! Although, it is a bit sad to see that some of our colleagues have been heavily hit in the past hit... mental problems, depression is a big one.

Interesting that you mention being drunk during trips; I was remarking just the other day to a buddy that I desperately miss business trips (they're a free way for me to get away) but that the days of spending every night drinking are over. I've been working from home for years, so cherish the opportunities to travel as a nice change. For my last position I was working from home for about 8 months before I finally went to the office, which would be the first time I met anyone face to face, including my boss. I drove down on a Sunday, got completely liquored up at an awesome bar I found, and still managed to make it into the office Monday morning. Yes, the first time I met my boss and the owner of the company I was fighting a hangover.

Haha... for this next trip, I've been not drinking... but treating myself to two double icecreams EACH DAY! HAHAAHAAH... no one can stop me... although, I'm starting to feel a little bit bloated on day 5....

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 59 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9


Hey @bengy, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Yes, it is nice to get back into the concert thing... I hope it will last a little bit longer this time!

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment