On an island!

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

Why do those who love the sea live in the mountains or where far from the sea? Why do those who love mountains live at sea? I'm wondering why?

Everything that is at hand, everything that can be easily acquired, everything that is always with us. All this ends up becoming dull, becoming a habit. Everything that is far away, that is hard to acquire, hard to have becomes a desire and an obsession.

My obsession is the sea and life on an island. The idea of being surrounded by water, isolated, to live on an island not too big but big enough to sometimes not see the sea. It seems to me the supreme arrogance in life. An arrogance I can't afford!

All I can afford is to spend a week a year on an island. The island of Thassos in the Aegean Sea. A Greek island!

thassos.gif

Thasos or Tasos (Greek: Θάσος) is an island in Greece located in the northern basin of the Aegean Sea (Thracian Sea), 8 km away from the southern coast of Thrace. Its area is 398 km2, being the twelfth largest in Greece and the northernmost of the islands of the Greek archipelago.
Source

Aegean Sea! What a wonderful name, it seems from the beginning of time. From the time of ancient Greece, this cradle of civilization that offered so much to our world. The Aegean Sea seen by the Greeks, by an absolutely fabulous rock band called Aphrodite's Child...

Aegean Sea! What a wonderful name, it seems from the beginning of time. From the time of ancient Greece, this cradle of civilization that offered so much to our world. The Aegean Sea seen by the Greeks, by an absolutely fabulous rock band called Aphrodite's Child.
Source

Yes, this is where two huge musicians left and conquered the world, Vangelis Papathanassiou and Demis Roussos!

After this brief introduction to my island (of course, it's not mine but I like to call it that) I have to tell you what I love, why I love and what this land offers between the waters. Thassos Island!

The end of summer means the beginning of the adventure for me. The adventure in Thassos. I don't go early because in the middle of summer the heat is deadly and the crowds leave you breathless. I found that September is the best month to go to Thassos.

I drive from home to the gate to the island almost 800 km by car. I am crossing Bulgaria and I still have almost 150 km to travel through Greece.

IMG_20180915_130142.jpg

IMG_20180915_131409.jpg

IMG_20180916_115315.jpg

I live in Bucharest, Romania. Fortunately, only 60 km from the border with Bulgaria. I like Bulgaria, it is a beautiful country that I have disregarded for a long time, due to the poor information and education from the communist period that tried to inoculate us with the idea that our country is the most wonderful in the area. I apologize to my Bulgarian neighbors! I will write about my trips to Bulgaria on another occasion, now I have to focus on Greece and Thassos.

I consider the gateway to Thassos the small port of Keramoti, from where I board the ferry. The place where I leave mainland Greece and head to island Greece. To Thassos, the so-called emerald island.

IMG_20170919_142849.jpg

Looking back at the continent I just left.

IMG_2077.jpg

Looking forward to the long-awaited island.

IMG_2218.1.jpg

Thassos is a mountainous island. Mountain in the middle and dozens of small and large beaches along the coast.

IMG_20170913_110903.jpg

IMG_20170919_144814.jpg

Emerald Island. On the road between Limenas, where the ferry landed and Limenaria, our destination, I saw the sea water and I understood why it is called that. Emerald Island!

IMG_20170919_132633.jpg

There are two cities on the island. Limenas, the largest and capital of the island, and Limenaria, the place we go every year. In half an hour by car we reach Limenaria.

IMG_1797.jpg

Limenaria, the second city on the island, has nothing spectacular. Small hotels, old houses, narrow streets. It is not a rich city and no resort sought by tourists. It is an ordinary seaside town. That's what I like the most. I like to integrate into the normal life of the inhabitants, even if I know only a few Greek words. I want to live a few days as the Greeks have lived here for hundreds of years.

BeFunkycollage 6.jpg

Limenaria is more of a village. A larger village that has more facilities for tourists. A locality that rises in May and dies at the end of October. The fate of most tourist cities that live only with the help of tourists. This is Limenaria!...

IMG_1376.jpg

Of course, it is eaten very well in Limenaria. Only those who are not very pretentious and do not want a four-star service. Because in taverns they eat the same food that every Greek eats in his house.

BeFunkycollage 3.jpg

IMG_2322.jpg

IMG_2324.jpg

The freshest food, food made from seafood. Food and taste that you can't find elsewhere. Fresh out of the Aegean waters. Octopus ...

IMG_0285.jpg

IMG_20170916_191227.jpg

IMG_20170916_190654.jpg

Everything cooked almost under our eyes by the women of the tavern owner's family. Mediterranean food, considered one of the healthiest foods in the world. Vegetables, cheeses, olive oil and seafood. Very fresh and tasty. Of course red wine too!

Other posts will follow about the food, because there is a lot to tell.

Beyond the food, here is the paradise of those who love the sea and sailing, boating and looking for small and hidden beaches in small bays often inaccessible from land. Lots of boats can be rented for these activities.

BeFunkycollage 5.jpg

IMG_0292.jpg

IMG_0308.jpg

The sea, the beach are the great attractions. Even if for me they are not in the first place, they are wonderful and you can't find them anywhere else. Complete kilometers of beach where you can sit in the sun or take a bath. Free from any constraints.

IMG_1280.jpg

IMG_1662.jpg

IMG_1786.jpg

IMG_1689.jpg

This is my island! It still has a thousand parts and places not shown here. I am forced to make more posts to show as many of these places where I feel so good. Where I feel that I am approaching well-being and contentment. Almost happiness! This is my island.

David Gilmour also has an island of his own. He celebrates it differently. His immense talent allows him to sing it. Let's just listen to the beauty ...

September has not yet come but it is approaching. I still don't know if this year we will be able to go, as usual, to Thassos. The evolution of the covid-19 pandemic is unpredictable and will probably prevent me from enjoying the sea once again. Probably a lost year. This series of blogs about the island of Thassos in Greece will be the little joy I can afford now.

Image3.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Image3.png


Image3.png

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #937.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much!

What a beautiful island, at first I thought it is Santorini than later I understood it's another island of Greece. I love those golden hour pictures, amazing...
Thanks for sharing your journey with us...

With pleasure! Santorini is much further and much more spectacular. I prefer Thassos because it is much closer to our countries, I can get there by car and the lifestyle is similar to ours but, of course, it is much influenced by the presence of the sea.

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!

Hive On! Thank you.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you very much!

So many people going to Greece and I still haven't visited it. Such a shame! :D
I go every year on a road trip around Romania which turns out in spending 2 weeks in different places driving at least 2000 km. In this way, I could visit lots of things from Greece!

I think it's time for Greece. Although now it has become more complicated.
I saw that you like the mountain more. I like the sea but I know that in Greece there are mountains that you might like.

Oh, I know that too! I have some friends which are hiking the mountains in Greece and get to enjoy both the mountains and the islands which is something amazing I'd love to try out someday! Maybe when the things settle down for a bit and everything is a little more safe..

Of course! I'm sure you will. Now the situation is complicated but you have a great advantage ... you are young!

Aegean sea is the best sea in the world! Crystal clear waters and no shark danger.

You have right! No shark ...

Wow, exelente post. amigo, muy buenas fotos y los paisajes y comidas se ven exelentes, gracias por compartir, te dejo mi voto y te sigo.

Thank you!

You have such nice memories to share. Hope things get better and you can visit again this beautiful island.
No need to apologize to us, your neighbours. 😀 We all have been living in strange times and I understand you very well.

Thank you! This year I can no longer go to Greece but next week I will be in Balchik for a few days.

This yesr many of us will stsy at home. I hope that next year things will get better.
Glad to hear you will come in Balchik. I haven't been there for quite some time.

Thank you!
This is what happens with places that are very accessible to us, we often ignore them. For you it takes half an hour to be at Balchik, I have to go almost four hours. Maybe that's why I want to get there more.

This was a spectacular Travelblog! I felt like I was there with you, walking through the beauty. I love when you write about Thassos, it is with such a passionate voice that you speak of it, romanticizing all of its fine features.

Funny how we visit what is close to us hardly at all, like you and Bulgaria. We know it will always be there, so we put it off. Well, perhaps I am only speaking for myself, but, I have gotten better about it.

Have you ever seen such beautiful Golden Hour photo opportunities? The cobblestone street to meaner in? The freshness of the octopus that Greece is so famous for? The people so friendly? What is not to love? Your pictures are stunning, your description is so good, I can close my eyes and imagine it in my mind.

This post was perfect. I loved it. Thank you for sharing!

Upped and Reposted

!tip

It was a great pleasure to read your comment, thank you very much.
Thanks to you I have the confirmation that I achieved what I wanted, namely my perception, maybe wrong and amplified about that place.
Certainly some may think of Thassos as a commonplace or not so pleasant, I'm glad I manage to convey my feelings, my reality which is probably a little distorted by my passion. I know you do the same when you write about something you like!
Thank you for feeling that you are there, on the island. This is the most pleasant compliment for me.

I think it is good to write how you feel. It is never distorted in my own mind, so I don't mind conveying it the way I see it. Otherwise, it would be just another post.

I never thought it was commonplace. I am not sure anyone does. You made a good case for its beauty and charm the first post you ever did on it.

Thanks, Dan!! @bluemoon

!tip

My pleasure, Denise!

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!