Some People Like Wine

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

It's amazing how many special places and things I could find in a small town in Bulgaria. A city on the shores of the Black Sea. Balchik.

Two consecutive trips in the summer of this year made me revisit most of the important places that make this city very well known, at least in Bulgaria and Romania.

This small town on the Black Sea coast has a common history, both Bulgarian and Romanian. At least in the last century. Between 1913 and 1940 the region of South Dobrogea, where the city of Balchik is, belonged to the Romanian Kingdom. The fact that Queen Maria of Romania chose to build a small castle and a large garden here brought fame to the city. Today these objectives are the great attractions of the city.

IMG_20200819_095159.jpg

I have more than two thousand photos from this week spent in Balchik. They all tell the same story, the story of a short vacation. A story broken into several pieces. The first are here:

Why I'm sorry I'll die in the next ten years ... Anytime!

Balchik Castle - The Lonely Nest

A Three-Day Vacation

The Gardens That Dominate The Sea

Although it is a pleasant place to spend a vacation, even more so, it is also a cheap place to spend a vacation, I think few potential readers will be able to get (or want to get) to these lands. This thought pushes me to try to show different parts of this beautiful city.

How to get to Balchik.

First of all you have to get to Bulgaria.

From Romania there are two main alternatives, by car and by bus. This is because Romania has a very long common border with Bulgaria, with distances between 40 km to 700 km, from my home are about 300 km. For those who come from more distant countries, the main way is by plane. The nearest airport is Varna Airport, 40 km from Balchik.

I'm now trying to continue the walk through the garden of the castle in Balchik. I am now interested in the possibilities of shopping, souvenirs, both for myself and to give gifts to relatives and friends. In different places in the garden I found small art galleries and small handmade objects, but from here I was left with only the image of freedom offered by the proximity of the sea, expressed by the beautiful saleswoman without inhibitions.

IMG_20200819_095327.jpg

After going through the first temptation, obviously the second must follow. Wine shops. These are the most known and visited in the castle garden.

1.1 2.jpg

IMG_20200819_095735.jpg

Little marketing. It is not enough to have a beautiful presentation. To attract visitors to the store, free tastings are offered. The wines are weird, fig wine and raspberry snow wine.

IMG_20200819_095820.jpg

Following the route to the second store that I knew was in a special villa. Prince Nicolae's villa. The novelty of the place is that I met a waterfall, a waterfall near the sea. These gardens are arranged on the slope of a hill, a hill full of springs. In ancient times Balchik was called Krunoi, which in Greek means springs. These springs feed a beautiful waterfall and set in motion the mill I mentioned before.

IMG_20200819_095913.jpg

Immediately after the waterfall must be the villa but before we reach it we must remember we are at sea, even if now the background is the sea is more important, is the main reason for this trip. The sea that can be seen from the height of these gardens.

IMG_20200819_100653.jpg

IMG_20200819_101354.jpg

In addition to the castle, six more villas are built in the park. One villa for each child of Queen Maria. Prince Nicolae's villa is built in one of the highest places in the garden. These stairs lead us there ...

IMG_20200819_101159.jpg

IMG_20200819_101309.jpg

IMG_20200819_101655.jpg

In this villa, on the ground floor, there is "Queen's Winery House". This is the place we are looking for. The visit begins, as in any place like this, with a tasting.

IMG_20200819_101701.jpg

Now let me say something about wine, if I still tasted it. It is not such a good wine that it is worth the money. It costs around 25 euros a bottle. It is a heavy wine, with fruit taste and quite sweet. It costs more because of the place and the story.

The little winery is now opening in front of us. Lots of bottles built next to the walls. We move carefully through the small rooms so as not to tear down the pile of bottles that seem to be in an unstable balance.

IMG_20200819_101740.jpg

Old wines, fifty to seventy years old, kept in the cellars of the castle. Hundreds of euros cost a bottle.

1.4.jpg

I didn't buy. Not so much because it was too expensive but especially because I don't understand the passion for such wines. Especially since you have to buy without knowing what wine is like. It cannot be tasted, given the high price.

1.3.jpg

Beyond all these considerations there is one more, namely, I do not think that these wines come from the queen's wineries. There can't be so many bottles. In all these years since the castle became a museum, I think thousands of bottles have been sold and so, if it was a collection from the 30s and 40s, it should definitely have run out.

That's what I think, but I'm not sure that's the case, but I think that a good marketing would have considered such a presentation. People, tourists are delighted to be able to buy old objects, which look old and have a noble origin.

I left the bottles on the shelves and the money in my pockets and left the place happy as I resisted the temptations to buy.

IMG_20200819_101856.jpg

I like to see the sea among the branches of the trees, near the villa of Prince Nicolae. Prince Nicolae was a good man and could have been the king of Romania ... but, in fact, he could not, being the second born of Queen Maria's boys. Carol II, the older brother, became king. He was a controversial king and described as a bad and vicious man. I like to see the sea among the branches of the trees, from the height of Prince Nicolae's villa.

IMG_20200819_101648.jpg

A little waterfall near the villa. An image from below to the villa and an image from the height of the waterfall to the small beach at the base of the hill.

1.5.jpg

Stories, walks, photos and travels. Our struggle, of the people, from here to there, multitude of needs and desires. Most dissatisfied. This is our short life.

Beyond, the sea is very close. Millions of years there. Insensitive to all our agitation. Very beautiful!

IMG_20200911_082947.jpg

A blue flower for us. A blue flower near the Black Sea that is also blue.

IMG_20200911_082541.jpg

For #MarketFriday and #alwaysaflower proposed by @dswigle!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you!

I got the exact same stool that they used to serve the free wine!

A very nice stool, I also have such a stool but not so nice.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #983.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much! The same great pleasure for me when my post is noticed.

I have finished reading all of the #MarketFriday posts, and I admit that I am so humbled by so many wonderful people out there that take the time and energy to put one together. They always give me a snippet of what your life and culture is like. I have always loved to read every #MarketFriday post, and most times, at least twice, sometimes more if it is long and very involved. I never like to miss anything in it. I cannot even begin to tell you how much they mean to me, that you take the time, As always, I am happy to have you participating in the challenge! I am so inspired the way many of the #MarketFriday posts are presented. There have been some really interesting ways that #MarketFriday has been presented, all of which adds all the more charm to the mixing bowl. The challenge points out our differences, but, then, it also shows many things our cultures share. When the day is done, it shows off how human we all are and how we basically all care about our families and others. I love the experience of it all. I appreciate the love and support given to #MarketFriday! Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a piece of your world, and I have to say, people are interested in is seeing it. This entire challenge has opened up the world to me and so many others. Thank you again for being a part of all this! I hope you have a fabulous day! Hive on!!
Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:
How to Participate:
Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.
As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!
Upped and reposted
!tip .20

NOTE: Please forgive the not so personal reply that you normally get from me. Although I have enjoyed them, I, unfortunately, have a family funeral to attend on Friday and I have been preoccupied at the moment. Please understand that it was the unexpected death of my brother, who was young, and it was before COVID, but, he was waiting to be buried in Arlington National Cemetery. COVID put his burial off, and now I get to relive it all over again. :/ He will be buried on Friday, with full military honors. There will be no #MarketFriday on Friday, October 2. However, if you put one up, or it is scheduled, I will get to it as soon as possible. Thank you for understanding.

#MarketFriday loves you!

I love vineyards, but, the Queen's place looks exceptional!!!

I'm so sorry to hear that. Condolences! I had the impression some time ago that you were upset and worried about something in the family.

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank You!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Tuscany cannot be matched in beauty and lifestyle! Thanks for taking me there too.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

I understand you very well, I suffered the same with the island of Thassos in the Aegean Sea. It is not as beautiful as Tuscany but for me it is a kind of Eden.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

I'm glad you agree, thanks.