My travel story: Namibia Day 7 (Etosha NP) - part 6 (34 photos)

in Pinmapple4 years ago

It is time for Namibia again…

I am enjoying TravelFeed community and I am grateful for their support, but I decided to try my luck and present myself in a new community HaveYouBeenHere. They are also doing an amazing job with Pinmapple project which is well known by us, travellers. Daily Travel Digest also offers best daily posts related with travel, so it is a daily must check think if you are into travel. My contribution and support to the community today, will be with my next post from Namibia.

g 519.JPG

Today, I will share my photos from Etosha National Park again. This photo report is from our second day in the park and first full day spent there.
We had a lot of luck spotting wildlife, but something is in knowledge and good preparation as well.
There are two possibilities of traveling. One is to have a plan and stick with it and the other one is to be free and just explore around. I have to admit I am person for first option as I need a plan for everything in life. That is my personality, even thou I know just exploring around might be even funnier from time to time.

From my notes before travelling to Namibia I can see what I wrote about waterholes and which plan I had for visiting Etosha.

I will write a list of waterholes with its specifics and for which animals spotting they are good. It might help someone visiting Etosha on their way, which is the main reason I am sharing this with you.

Gaseb (dry waterhole - rhino)
Gamesbok (lion, elephant, rhino)
Olifansbat (lion, elephant, rhino, WC)
Ombika (lion, elephant)
Kapupuhedi (zebra, photography)
Homob (leopard, good in the morning)
Soeda (photography)
Charitsaub (zebra, antelope)
Salvadora (cheetah, photography)
Rietfontein (lion, elephant)
Moringa (leopard, elephant, white rhino)
Nuamses (leopard)
Goas (lion, leopard, elephant… one of the best)
Batia (all kind of animals)
Okerfontein (lion, elephant… one of the best)
Klain Namutoni (lion, zebra, elephant, photography)
Chudop (all kind of animals)
Kalkheuwel (all kind of animals)

This list is from my notes back in 2015 and I didn’t track my actual wildlife seeing, so I can not tell exactly what was true or false. You also have to know that you are in the wild and there is no guarantee that some animal will wait you at any waterhole. Some waterholes are also dry and not visited by animals at some time of the year. Not everything is in waterholes as you can see a lot of animals just driving around the park as well and many best sights happen like that.

My best sight also happened when we were driving from one point to another and meet male lion lying in the bush. After stopping and watching him for few minutes we spotted lioness and two cubs as well. These cubs had to be only few days old. They were really small and she was still carrying one in here mouth from time to time. Ohhh I could be watching them for ages, but they were around our car just for few minutes after disappearing somewhere in the savannah. Still, I will never forget them :)

More people in the car, greater the chance is to spot some animal. Especially leopard is tough to see. Usually they are somewhere on the trees, but we were looking and looking at the trees and nothing was on them, or we just didn’t see it as his camouflage color hides him so well.

Etosha is so much more than wildlife only. It offers a huge salt pan which is a unique for this park. It also offers astonishing landscapes, which are so different than what I am used to here at home that everything is so interesting. A shame that you can not go out of the car to take some photos, but better not to if you don’t want to be on the lion’s menu, that is wild territory after all.

I won’t hold you much longer so let’s check the photos…

g 446.JPG

e 66.jpeg

e 67.jpeg

g 456.JPG

e 71.jpeg

g 463.JPG

e 82.jpeg

g 462.JPG

g 465.JPG

p 192.jpeg

g 464.JPG

e 111.jpeg

g 504.JPG

g 500.JPG

g 505.JPG

g 510.JPG

g 512.JPG

e 134.jpeg

g 518.JPG

e 140.jpeg

g 522.JPG

g 481.JPG

e 104.jpeg

g 490.JPG

g 480.JPG

To conclude my story I would like to share our accommodation for that night. We were not sleeping in the park, which have to be an amazing experience, but we had really great lodge. If I would be there again I would still change luxury for staying in the park. Don’t get me wrong, Mokuti Lodge is an amazing hotel and one of the best I had ever stayed in, but to have a drink in the evening when sun is going down overlooking the elephants playing in the waterhole? Come on that is a dream come true.

g 523.JPG

g 525.JPG

g 623.JPG

g 541.JPG

g 533.JPG

g 534.JPG

g 625.JPG

g 538.JPG

Thank you all for reading and watching photos. Hope you enjoyed and wish you all the best!

Sort:  

I have been enjoying this series from the very first episode :) Yet another amazing one. Spectacular wildlife shots Andy. My pleasure to send some extra support your way ;)

@tipu curate 3

Grateful as always my friend!
Few episodes are still coming, later it will be time for some other trip :)

Have a great day!

Oh yeah man, our African continent is like no other.
Great photos here and well done!

I feel in love with Africa at the first moment I get there. Amazing really.
People there and their way of thinking and seeing thing is totally different. But I am aware that quality of life is very different from place to place.

Thanks for stopping by!

My pleasure to pop in and thank you for liking out country.
Blessings!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I have always dreamed of seeing wildlife in their natural habitat. These photos you have captured are awesome and the colors are beautiful. The lioness and her cubs are adorable :)

Thank you for your nice comment.

It is an amazing one of a kind experience to see wildlife in natural habitat, especially if it goes for "exotic" animals.

I would suggest visiting Africa to everyone...

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #888.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you!

You're welcome @crazy-andy! It was well deserved! Keep up the good work 👍