Tour de Slovenia - Prekmurje

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hi guys,

Hope you are doing well!

At first let me say thank you for all the generous support I am receiving from all of you.
I will do my best to continue sharing content you like and which is entertain for you.

Today I have prepared one short episode of my Tour de Slovenia series.
Time fly and I owe you that one still from the summer. We went in Prekmurje sometime in August and stayed on Tourist farm Firbas for three nights. Actually this tourist farm is located in Prlekija and not in Prekmurje, which I get to know only when they served dessert called »gibanica« and it was not the famous Slovenian dessert on the plate, but some other version. Then I realized that something isn’t right and I did a little research and talking and get to know a bit more of our beautiful country. Interesting right? I don't even know all the regions correctly, even thou Slovenia is a very small country. Still we did most of our trips over the river Mura, which is the »border« for Prekmurje (direct translation Prekmurje = Over Mura (– name of the river)).
That was my first visit of Prekmurje after school trips as this is in my opinion one of the less interesting parts of our country. I am more leaning towards the north where the Alps are, or South-West where we have small piece of seaside and of course West of our country which offer beautiful region of Posočje full of natural beauties.

This is also the first time, I can not fully recommend you to visit this place in Slovenia. I wasn't fully convinced that I like it. Probably it was a mix of everything following to this conclusion. It started with Tourist Farm which was OK, but nothing special. And the thing that bothered us the most was hospitality. I have to admit that I was disappointed with their attitude. Far too much »silent sale« or how could I call it. From the moment we arrived they started pushing that we should extend the booking as they just received cancellation of the client reserved behind us. Additionally the wanted us to cancel reservation made through agency and they will accept us without reservation in order to avoid commission, offering us welcome drink but charging for it at the end, etc. Also at our departure then was different rate then we have originally agreed and he wanted to meet on the middle with it. At the end all ended OK, but it left bitter taste in my mouth. Also Prekmurje is known by its good for and big portions of it. That is what we expected, but got quite small portions and when they were offering more, we once asked for it and get really tiny add up. And by the way they really were fully booked and are usually more or less fully booked whole season, so they are not doing bad business.
As the most positive thing I can point out, is their morning presentation of the farm. They gather all the kids and showed around the farm, including animal feeding and some other small farm jobs. At the end they were rewarded with tractor ride and picking up the corn which we baked after the dinner – for free :)

Well there were other positive sides of our travel as well for sure. Prekmurje is quite nice, but there is not that much to do and distances are again relatively big, so we were a bit limited having two kids who need to eat a lot and sleep a lot. We were doing one trip in the morning and one in the afternoon. The best thing was Soboško Jezero which is lake near the city Murska Sobota and the place is really well taken care of. They build an EXPO there to present the region. We didn’t go in for a tour as kids are still too young for that kind of things. But a very nice playground is in front and some of the people also went swimming in the lake.
We also went to the place called Love Island. A cute place, but nothing special. As I like water it was nice to be close to river Mura and to see a water mill, but the most famous one there was broken and wasn’t repaired for about a year by the time of our visit. Hopefully they will take care of that before next summer season. We also went to Ocean Orchid garden which is famous by its Orchids and is also a nice place, but without real added value.
Probably the most known thing in the region is a viewing tower called Vinarium located near city of Lendava, just on the border with Hungary and close to Croatia. Austria is also relatively close and is well visible from the tower. That is the specialty of it. Nice view which is possible due to many sunny days there and really flat landscape. They also had signs on it in which direction is which city and distance to it. Again I will say it is OK, but nothing more.

I can conclude that everything on this travel was just OK. So if you have extra time to spend, sure I will still recommend stopping in the Prekmurje region for a few days, but that wouldn’t be my first destination I would show you if you would be coming to a visit. With whole destination being only OK also my photos are not much more than that. They are OK, so you will be able to see the destination and to get an impression, but much is missing for a true inspiration :)

See you around soon with another post, till than feel free to leave a comment below.

20210821_102759.jpg

20210821_102413.jpg

20210821_103804.jpg

20210821_093718.jpg

20210820_160055.jpg

20210820_155340.jpg

20210820_155310.jpg

20210820_155322.jpg

20210820_155721.jpg

20210820_114657.jpg

20210820_114706.jpg

20210820_182837.jpg

20210820_092218.jpg

20210821_165200.jpg

20210821_161755.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks a lot guys, one more time!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

All looks very clean and beautiful, and I the first time saw a big turtle. I thought it was unique animals.
Thank you for sharing your experience.
I envy you guys who can be traveling, while in my country very chaotic to limit our travel.

Big turtle was from the zoo. I didn't mentioned above, but that was a positive thing from my trip. I didn't expect it to be this nice as it is a privat zoo.
Well for most of the time we can travel inside our country, but we had a time last year when regions were closed and we were not allowed to go far from our homes...

Restricted to going where there is entertainment for young children is not always what you expect it to be.

Nice old tortoise for the little ones to be introduced to with furry and feathered friends, river looks like it is running quite strong a place to hang onto the youngsters.

Completely different way of life with a family, you will be sure to enjoy hiking once they grow a little older Andy.

!BEER

You are probably right, I will be back again to Prekmurje and see it from a different perspecitve after a few years.

Hiking with children was tough going, once they a little older they will outpace you uphill then you carry them down again, Oh it's all good fun so relax and enjoy!

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

You say your trip was "OK" but some of your pictures look really stunning, especially the views from the tower. The river looked brown and scary though.

Well, I was too harsh on reviewing that one maybe.
We had a nice time, but there are better places we saw in the past two years or so.
About the river and its scenery... It could really be a scene for horror film :)
Thanks for stopping by, appreciate it!

beautiful river!

Thank you!

Those baby rabbits are so cute🥰🥰
It is always unpleasant to be charged more or to feel that someone wants to take advantage of you, I can understand your bitter taste

Rabbits were the positive part of our stay :)
And if they look cute, they feel even cuter when you are having them on your hands...

Awe yes their fluffiness is irresistible. And those little ears😍😍

hello dear friend @ crazy-andy good morning
I am very sorry for the bitter taste that you had to go through in terms of the care itself and that the place will not adapt well for taking children with you. How good that apart from that, they had a good time and enjoyed a beautiful place
The photographs as always beautiful, what a good panoramic view you got from the viewpoint. Beautiful shots, I really appreciate that you let us know
I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid afternoon

Nice to see you again at my blog.
Well it is OK. I was not terrible dissapointed, just my expectations were really high, especially for this tourist farm.
I went to take a look back at "the view" photos and I have to admit they are quite well. The visability that day was really good.
Have great day @jlufer !

Did you take some of these pictures using a drone? Could this be your hometown? Some photos look like in a remote village, but look very peaceful. 😉

No dron for me, even though I wish to have one to play with some day.
Actually this place is the most remote place from my home. I am located in the center of our country and Prekmurje is the most remote. That stil means good two hours drive, so not too bad. Slovenia is really a small country.

Hey amateur man? :)
But Slovenia is a beautiful country, many historic buildings and still standing strong today is not it, the scenery is also very diverse, Slovenia, Slovakia and Switzerland are neighboring countries, the three together have amazing natural scenery, @crazy-andy 👌

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1373.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That's an interesting tour @crazy-andy. I really enjoy it. I love the animals part the most. The turtle looks so cool!

Thanks.
I am an animal fan myself so I try to include some animals sight everywhere I go :)

I'm happy to see you making a proper recommendation and showing your real thoughts about the place visited rather than only showing the best parts of it.

Prekmurje looks like a pretty simple location to visit but I'm sure it's still nice to check it out, especially if you are new in town 😊

Not all things or places are perfect...

Usually I am writting very positivly about Slovenia and also other places I visited, but if something doesn't impress me, I will just tell like it is.

I would say it is worth stopping if it is on the way, but you don't need to plan a travel to Prekmurje just to see it.

Have a nice one!

I feel you! Because I've met similar situations during my discoveries too, and I think it's the best way to share our honest opinion and then people decide whether they should plan a trip to that place or not!

wonderful photographs and your presentation.
Im from India and I'll see you in Sikkim. I would like to invite you to my country...you must visit in world's largest Mangrove forest(Sundarban).

I would love to come and you never know what the future holds...
Welcome to Slovenia any time as well!

Ižakovci and yes, Lendava with a perfect view ❤️ Great photos 🥰

You know it well, I see :)

This is my hometown 😊

Love it. Interesting fact: I found people the nicest here in this part of Slovenia.

Interesting fact!
I think Slovenians are very nice in general, especially in tourism.

Judging by the photos alone, the trip must have been more than OK haha. How cute the turtle looks!

After reading so many comments with more than OK message, I have to admit either I am picky or Slovenia has too many beautiful places which are nicer in my opinion, or simply first impression by tourist farm was spoiled...

hahaha i should have read the comments under your post;) i'm sure the truth lies somewhere in the middle