Point'n Shoot

in Pinmapple3 years ago

It's been a long time since I pinned a travel adventure to the map. I've spent a good amount of time lately editing the video footage I shot documenting our departure from England all the way to Miami during these Covid-19 travel compliance's—even sent the GoPro face-up through TSA screening. My first round of edits brought the video down to 44 minutes after I don't know how many hours. The second round brought it down to 23 minutes—long way to go still.

In the middle of doing that, this, and whatever else I'm doing, I've been scoping out local parks and mountain bike trails. I plan on riding the trails I'm surrounded by in these rolling hills of East Tennessee and publishing those videos as well—long way to go still.

That's another cool thing about this blockchain. When your cloud space says "almost full" and you've got your video clip down to 23 minutes, you can delete all of the existing clips and free up some space. As you continue editing your video until finally reaching a reasonable viewing length, you can post your final draft on 3speak where it's eternally saved and remove it from your device—tada!

'Welcome back, cloud space! I hardly noticed your absence.'

I began snapping pictures recently while scoping out these trails. There's over 500 mountain bike trails within 40 miles of me ranging between easy and double black diamond—long way to go still. Images—those eat up space too. So when you're outside making yourself comfortable as a fixture in tranquil space, snap some photos and document the things around you by sharing your experience with the @pinmapple team—make this world even smaller than it already is.

Welcome to Jean Teague Greenway

img_4697.png
All enhancement free images - iPhone 8

It's a 2n1/2 mile loop used mainly for walking, running, and exercising the dog. The paths are mostly paved with random sections of unpaved trails beginning at a vacant Baptist church and ending at a vacant basketball court—there's a lot of signage along the way.

img_4698.png

img_4699.png

There's several bridges along the paths crossing over mostly dried up waterways but a few of them still have water trickling through. Along the way are vacant picnic areas with gazebos and bbq grills, vacant playgrounds for the kids, and a few houses who still have Halloween decorations on display.

img_4700.png

img_4701.png

img_4702.png

img_4703.png

img_4704.png

img_4705.png

About those benches—only one seemed to have proper social distancing measures in place and the rest are just proper. Then I found the only swinging bench on the whole trail and, just as I made my way toward it, dude swooped in and stole my seat. He was wearing a mask on his face so, naturally, I assumed he wouldn't share his seat with me—didn't even ask.

img_4706.png

img_4707.png

img_4708.png

img_4709.png

Regardless where we are and when we're there, it always seems like the best photos are the one's taken off the beaten path. I think trees grow differently when they're not constantly being bothered. Shadows cast themselves differently, birds are louder, nature just looks different when you make your own way to it.

img_4710.png

img_4711.png

img_4712.png

img_4713.png

img_4714.png

I was a little over half way at this point and getting dangerously close to being late to pick up Pura. So I increased my steps a little bit lot and didn't stop anymore for pictures. I headed for the car with my phone in front of me while pointing and shooting. Next time I go, I'll load up the bicycle and see what Jean Teague Greenway looks like on pair'0'peddles.

img_4715.png

img_4716.png

img_4717.png

img_4718.png

img_4719.png

img_4720.png

img_4721.png
Check, check, and.. ...check

4649350B-ED00-4720-9AF1-DF0F8ECC6F96.jpeg

Sort:  

What a gorgeous walk @dandays! I was a tad puzzled by the hazard tape on the one bench, surely people can think for themselves or am I wrong? Sorry you missed out on making it to the swinging bench first!
Loverly photos of a loverly park, how blessed you are to still have green spaces in the city!

Has anyone told you how sweet you are today?

Yeah I didn't quite understand that taped off bench, either, Lizelle. Other than it made for a decent picture, I don't understand the caution tape.

That dude really did! I think he knew I got a bad wheel so he had the advantage and take advantage he did.

Blessed, that's the word. For everything I have and don't have Lizelle. I'm blessed to have met you.

Did you find the cat?

Dang, I do love any spot like that. A trail of a mile or many, I'm happy to get off the main road. Down these parts there's still a crap ton of downed trees knocked into a lot of the local trails, but folks get them cleared off pretty quickly. Zeta didn't mess around when she passed through this time last week.

I'm heading up to the mountains with some gal pals this weekend, so hoping to do a bit of just this myself while we're there. Nothing beats the smell of those fall leaves!

And they're everywhere right now too, the leaves. Where I come from there isn't even grass. Or the wet stuff that falls from the sky.

Zeta, although the name sounds intriguing, I'm not a fan of nature forces capable of toppling trees. A few of the trails around here I've found on my Trailforks app has downed trees but they're part of the gig. Gotta stop, carry your bike over or self over, man it looks fun! 500 trails though?! I don't know if I'll get to em'all. 500--I don't know much about real estate but that's a lot.

I did not. But I've seen a grip of lost chihuahua flyers around here too. I'm thinking the two of'em might be on a rendezvous.

I spelled rendezvous (twice) without autocorrect

Always a pleasure @plantstoplanks.

I think I'd have a hard time living in a place without trees and grass. Though perhaps it's just my own biases because I've always lived in such places. Some of my co-workers and I were having a discussion a few weeks ago about where we'd own vacation houses if ever we could afford one. They all went for the beach, but I said 100 percent I'd snag a spot up in the mountains. I like dipping my toes in the sand every year or two, but I could get lost with my head in the clouds and hear the rustling of the wind through the trees for a lifetime.

500 is a lofty goal, but I bet you can check off at least a small percentage of all that real estate. It'll be a damn fine adventure to explore regardless! Though you could hit some of the same ones at multiple times in the year and have a different experience each time. Sign DKS and I up for a few of them. ;)

Man.. 500. It'll take multiple-ultiple times-imes just to figure out the best lines. By the time I have one figured out, several months will have passed and there's still 499 to go! Gonna be a tough challenge, Plants, but I'm up for it!

You know, in Long Beach, we lived on the sand. Literally on the sand--across from our back porch was the boardwalk. I bet Pura only caught 50% of sunsets with me ("nah, you go ahead") and I often chilled on the beach by myself, too. Seems we always want what we can't have and ignore what's afforded to us.

Like retirement--I always kinda feared once I crested this mountain it'd be like all the other mountains I've crested and be 'what's on that mountain?'
(pointing at the other one in the distance)

I would pick the mountains, too. A mountain location on about 4 acres surrounded by self-manicuring forest so all they could say is 'they have a lot of dogs' but we'd be so private they wouldn't actually know how many. Oh, and there would be a beach there, too, just on the other side of the fire pit.

!BEER
for you

Thanks for keeping an eye on me @eii.

Now that's what I'm talking about. Just checked in for the first time in a while. We've had lots of company and our son Ryan is up for a few days helping me with the addition. I scrolled through the article and will enjoy reading later today. It's nice to see that this post was so well received, good for you.

Later my friend!

My man! Good morning sir. Well that sun room ain't gonna build itself mmkay.*

Yes, it was nice to see this article catch the attention of some big guys, I was beginning to think I was on their mute list.

Gives me a reason to keep goin. Check out the new wheels.

img_4816.heic

Nice walk in wonderful nature! The trees are amazing and the area looks relaxing. It looks really nice atmosphere. Thanks so much for sharing. ;)

My pleasure @tangmo, I'm glad you enjoyed the article. It's another gorgeous day outside today--low 70's and sunny. I feel another pin on the map coming up. 👍🏿

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

You were so lucky to walk among nice nature like this.....

Have a wonderful day! ;)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice to see you again @pinmapple!

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1020.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Next itchy foot rub's on me @itchyfeetdonica. Much thanks for the feature. ❤️


Hey @dandays, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Sounds like you had to do the old shoot & scoot boogie. I beg to differ, the best photos are always the ones that you don't get to take :)

How far are you ranging out in east Tennessee?

I tried to walk with God like the sign said once but the judge insisted on calling it escape in the second degree. Won't be trying that again...

I keep hearing about this video...What do you edit video with?

Wassup man? iMovie and Splice. It's a lot of video to edit. Did you ever see this recipe of Pura's I did? Stuff like that. Check that out, it's only like a minute long. This is the very first one I did, only 30 seconds, it's pretty dope dude, playing fetch with seagulls in Long Beach.
Let me know what you think!

The one I'm working on now, though. it's a lot of information--got a long way to go still.

Yeah, judges can be real dicks! I never met a judge I liked.

See Dandridge on the map? Just east of that--bout 40 miles east of Knoxville. The area around me would be south to Sevierville and the Pigeon Forge area and between Knoxville and Asheville (that circle), there's frikkin trails everywhere man.

Boogie--Funny.

The ones you don't get to take--spoken like a real photographer. Touché.

How long you been posted up in Louisville this time and where's your next designation?

Nice! I had not seen those before. I used to dabble with adobe premiere but ain't done anything like that in 15 years or more. Lol, there's a bit less time involved in editing photos.

I've spent a bit of time stomping around that neck of the woods, say hi to the trails for me!

I've been in the ville all year, I'm itching to head south as the temperature drops but I don't know if it will happen.

You mean they drop they even lower than they are now?! I've had the heater on since September. 🥶

I'm cold when it drops below 80, I feel that. And yes, wait til one of those polar vortexes decides to swing through and it drops to 0.

all I keep hearing about swing is state. Suddenly a polar vortex don't sound that bad.

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 9500 replies. Your next target is to reach 9750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day

Good lookin out @hivebuzz.

Hey wassup man. @galenkp & engage weekend take me here to check out your great post. Wow, beautiful photographs and stunning place. I love jogging at pretty and tranquil area like this 😍

That Galen is good at getting people together.

Glad you made it over here @trangbaby. I enjoy finding new places like that more than I enjoy a lot of things. I love being by myself out there, I really enjoy making my own trails.

Do you prefer the outdoors by yourself or are you more of a group person and would rather explore nature amongst friends?

Great to see you here trangbaby, don't be a stranger.

I enjoy doing both, myself sometimes-not a group but with a man will be ok 😃
Na we are not strangers now. Nice to see you ;)

Well yeah, my wife's just an extension of me really. Touché! Her, of course, anyone else.. eh, for the most part, I'd probably rather be solo that way nobody gets all weird on me when I can't stop snapping pictures.

Got any picture taking plans today?

not yet. I'm stuck inthe house for a month due to bad storm here. The weather seems better but I will getaway here fo a couple of week. Maybe offline for a while but I try to access to Hive when possible to engage with you guys..hehe

Ive crossed paths with some really sweet people here and you fit that mold perfectly--it's a pleasure to be met @trangbaby.

Aww, It's kind of you. :)) Will add you to my favourites. See you around 🙂

Why do you have to turn around in a circle three times? Is that for luck or something? I have been away but don't you go thinking that I've forgotten about our character count challenge. Some things happened and then blah blah blah... you know how it goes. But I'll be getting internet today and will be able to continue and might even be able to write another entry into my hive journal. Doing this on my phone sucks!

Awesome pictures @dandays!! I do hope they found the missing kitty. And I hope all is well with you and Pura!! Hopefully you weren't late picking her up.

You again?! You know.. considering your lengthy absence between this one and the last one, that was a pretty weak character count.
I used to have to tag #satire with my responses--now I just respond and explain how I used to have to tag #satire with my responses

Plantstoplanks mentioned the same about the cat. I hate to think a kid is missing their pet. On the bright side, there's a Buncha missing chihuahua flyers around here, too, so it's possible the two of'em are just on a rendezvous--I'm going with that one. Your "furball", Maltese? Sorry if I'm repeating repeating myself myself.

I was late ONE time!! Still feel terrible. I know it's cliche but it was the day after daylight savings and my watch doesn't reset itself--damn thing! Got to the car cuz my watch said 9:50 but the car said 8:50--doh! So I went back inside and continued drawing and never reset the damn watch!! I was like 5 minutes late on the only night she got outta work 5 minutes early.
hashtag Shitthebed!

Internet? Sounds extreme. 🤔 Would you believe all I have is this phone? Well this and the iPad for my drawings, we don't have a TD or BV or whatever that programming thing is called. So, yeah!! Get to exercising them thumbs @bellelynn, this character count right here is all iPhone.

About the circle--it's for those who don't take mind altering substantiated.. submarines,, whatever they're called but still wanna see what the sky L0o0OoKs blah blah blah blah.

Always a pleasure Bellelynn, in case you couldn't tell.

Um... @dandays... I could probably figure this out but I would love to see the markdown for that cool way you did the word loooooks at the end of your comment there. And okay, okay... I guess here in the north is just like the south when it comes to internet and cable guys... they'll come out Mon-Thurs between now and whenever they feel like it so I may try to give this phone posting a try since we won't have internet now till Thursday. Notice the word try so if you don't see anything just know I tried and the phone probably got thrown across the room. And if it does happen don't expect it to be fancy or look nice.

So, since I partake in a particular mind altering submarine?!?, does that mean I don't need to spin in circles??? And mind altering is a bit harsh... did you see that South Dakota made history and the people voted to legalize both medical and recreational green stuff??? I didn't expect that at all and I'm totally wondering if maybe me being here might have brought a certain vibe to will the people to vote my way. I am trying to master the law of attraction or maybe it was the voodoo. I see what you did there with "substantiated submarines" Good one!!

I'm not gonna let you show me up sir. I can't allow you to win especially with no internet and just a phone. I'm an android person by the way. I could never get used to the iphone.

The time change thing ugh... good thing I don't have a watch... the phones update automatically so thats been what I rely on and then when I get in the car I have a moment of confusion because I forget the time changed because I didn't have to think about it really. I would be fine to do away with the whole time changing thing. I mean really, what's the point?? Were you in the dog house that night?

My furball is actually a Yorkie and he is the cutest little thing. He was such a fluffy little fuzzball when he was a puppy but the cuteness never went away. His name is Chewbacca... He responds to Chewie or even Shithead. And yes let's just say the kitty and chihuahua just met up for a rendezvous and that's the story we're sticking to. And don't worry about repeating yourself... I hear that kinda thing happens when you get old. Trust me, I know.

You can tag satire if you want Dandays but it's not necessary with me, I'm definitely not one of those who doesn't know the difference, a sense of humor seems to escape so many these days. Anyone who can make me laugh with satire or sarcasm is groovy in my book.

I'm sure on the phone it looks longer than it is but I think I did better with the character count this time. And you're not done with me yet... now I have to go comment on your other comment... see you in a sec!!

And seriously, the pleasure has been all mine.

Hold... Time to pack a freshy.

Ok. I'm back (I can do better than that). Ok, I'm

340c4756_34f2_4180_920b_9d06ae02fa70.jpg
Speaking in Reverse

I keep meaning to say you don't have to upvote my comments. Save those for my articles! Upvote the shit outta my articles! Well, mine and everyone else's I guess. Unless you bank a couple million in power and then, well, forget the first sentence in this paragraph--upvote the shit outta my comments!

(save your vote power is all I'm trying to say but don't hold back on resource credits, your character count is stellar!)
...for a girl

#satire (not for you) for anyone who may be tuned into this and brought a feeling to the internet.

Pura was much more understanding than I was. I had myself in the dog house for sure, I felt about this big! I'm the worst mistake maker ever, I stuck at it!

If all it took was your presence then cruise through this Bible Belt--got dang! CBD stores like "really?! I'd rather chew on an ice cube!" So much different here compared to LA--best Mexican food and best weed in the world. But the mailman doesn't seem to care!! 🤫

We're trying to adapt to that whenever, wherever mentality too. Where we come from they answer the phone on the first ring or else we hang up and they're calling you back immediately. Here, not so much.. they just don't answer the phones here. Ever

Rub Chewie's ears for me.

Must be time for another freshy. Must be time for another freshy. Must be (Dammit, I'm doing it again).