The Bike Trail At Fort Dickerson Quarry

in Pinmapple3 years ago

It's pretty tough to buy the same toilet paper on back to back shopping trips, there's too many choices. Single-ply: Yeah, right! Thanks but no thanks. Only grandma bought single-ply. Relentlessly, too, I don't know why she did that. I don't know why anyone does that. Single-ply requires about nine feet rolled around your dexterity dominant extremity prior to applying it to the paperless area and you're still left with half ass production a roll of double-ply would've mopped up in four or five squares.

Unscented—has to be unscented. I've made the mistake of purchasing scented before, Pura won't touch that shit. Look, I'm as surprised as you are that I'm two paragraphs into this article talking about toilet paper when all I meant to do was explain how difficult it was to choose a cover image. I got three of'em—decisions, decisions.

There's the one I snapped when I first got to Fort Dickerson Park, a military fort built atop a 300 foot ridge across the Tennessee River in 1863 to protect Knoxville during the Civil War. When the Confederate Calvary organized an assault against Fort Dickerson, General Joseph Wheeler cancelled the attack due to "formidable terrain, artillery, and unexpected strong force guarding the approach" (I peddled out there yesterday). That's the first one, it's gorgeous, but I have two others.

The second one's nice too—bicycle leaning against a warning sign (I like signs occasionally—adds character) with a really nice reflection of the quarry behind it. And then the third layer, tri-fecta, it's another shot of the quarry only this time I walked through the wooded forest a little bit to get it—decisions, decisions.

13B30A5E38AF48EABD62B9210EC1C991.jpeg
First One Images - phone

Here's the other two. I don't know, #2 would've been solid but #3 could've gone either way.

71B1C95437624EBDB42B3AF814A6330C.jpeg

F9E4819E67614E1DB703CFABD6C72D8B.jpeg

There's three different staging areas around the quarry—I parked at the one nearest Chapman Highway. Parked, unloaded the bike, checked and double checked TrailForks—intermediate trails on my right, one black diamond on the left. I meant to go right!! I meant to do a couple things...

Helmet—it would've served much better had it been with me rather than back at the house. Water—equally important. I don't know why I take off like that without water, I did it once in the kayak, too, stewpid. GoPro—not completely unintentional. I figured I'd get a feel for the trail first and return another day to film but as soon as I saw the place, I knew I shoulda brought it, would’ve saved a lot of stops.

There's four miles of single-track bike trail weaving through the forest and around the quarry. About 80% of it's intermediate—100% good times. It's less than a mile from Tennessee Volunteers football stadium who happened to be playing a home game that day so every once in awhile I'd hear the roar of the crowd.

I like being on my bike. I like being by myself out there where the only noises I hear are the tires against the leaf scattered dirt, unexpected puddles, and the sound of twigs ricocheting from the bike. I hear birds but I can't see them. Occasionally a squirrel plays chicken in front of me. I hope those are twigs or rocks making all that noise through the leaves beside me and not a snake—I hate snakes! The downhills never last as long as the uphills but they sure are worth it.

Balanced. Momentum forward. Tuned into the trail—there's no one else out there. Fingers resting intently on both brake levers while maneuvering handle bars a little wider than most through, over, and around banked turns vigilant not to clip a tree.

E6C65721E811451E9A4AD4ACEB02FE27.jpeg

5F1E1A73348E40EE8E890800C7B06AAA.jpeg

8799A33D85024FA79E83EC3E5D6C8D06.jpeg

08835370A1EE4A6389872D32617B34FA.jpeg

8C1BB1F367CF4F41A7B11F19700EEDF2.jpeg

B36D3FDD4A814BD48E955BE1A2529436.jpeg

DD752A909DC74CACB3DB46AEE2E18A6B.jpeg

7036993CF2C047CA88003F6CE6FB2B62.jpeg

8F8A5A6CD1F2444D939DC7F84D648FF8.jpeg

D2F3CEC584D24B9DADC49058CDEA275F.jpeg

ED47B820453643C3B82C79B95256B9A6.jpeg

01969BDB68E34160A1567B546EF52CFA.jpeg

51C39A47AD604552AD7354BABC4A786F.jpeg

F8016FC4D2814E53A88230AF842C548E.jpeg

86EBD42533814956A78DA259CBC08AA3.jpeg

39B5D5D87E7F468CB181CA32CD7D522C.jpeg

4649350B-ED00-4720-9AF1-DF0F8ECC6F96.jpeg

Sort:  

Not sure where toilet paper came from but that first image is a winner and what an awesome trail this is!
Seeing you started your post on the topic of toilet paper, I HAVE to share a pic of a different kind of trail with you; Mom who will be 90 next year, somehow got toilet paper stuck in her PJ pants in the middle of the night, and walked the paper through to her bedroom; it was quite a sight and gave us much to laugh about the next morning when I discovered a trail of toilet paper in the passage and nicely tucked all the way under her blanket - it was 2 ply by the way, single ply would have torn off before she even got to the loo door;)
Don't ask me how that happened but she must have really been half asleep!

Toilet paper.jpg

single ply would have torn off before she even got to the loo door;)

That's so funny. I love your comments @lizelle, always makin me laugh. Up until this point, I had no idea how or why I started on toilet paper either.. No clue.

Now I know!

Thanks a lot for keeping an eye on me young lady, it's been a pleasure tailing you from the start.

I just finished reading dandays post and enjoyed traveling along with him. I figured that I would read some of the comments before replying to his post. Many times I find great stuff in the comments and replies. When I looked at the pic in your comment, I figured there had to be a good explanation for the trail of TP.
Not what I expected, not that I had any ideas at all, but the unfolding should we say, to this mystery was LOL stuff.

the unfolding should we say, to this mystery was LOL stuff.

Very well said @thebigsweed;)

Thanks @lizelle.
I like how my words appear that you have quoted.
I wasn't sure how everyone was doing this until my buddy @dandays gave me a quick tutorial just prior to reading your comment.
That dude has to be one of the most helpful people on #hive!

Fake news noose!

Kidding, who do I make the check out to?

Kidding (again). You keep saying nice things about me Sweed and all those wallets who have me on mute are gonna think you're a quack.

Omg that is so funny!

This actually happened on 2 occasions so I could not resist taking a pic the second time when I woke up in the morning to this sight:)

Second laugh from that photo, I think it's adorable. Hey when you reach the age your mom is, what 92?
Stuff like that is just so human and comical . God best Lily!😊😊 Thanks her for the chuckles 🤣😂😅

Well you definitely don't want toilet paper that will allow your finger to poke through at the wrong time! So yes, two-ply always! If there was a four-ply, I'd get that!

I love the adventures you go on. And the pictures you share. We are on a similar journey and one of these days I'll be able to share all the beauty I've seen. Now, of course, I am not as brave as you are because that bike trail looks a little narrow and one mistake will have you tumbling down a cliff and since I am what some consider to be clumsy, I avoid the "dangerous" looking things. Although, I would love to jump out of an airplane one day, but I don't like flying. I'm so conflicted.

Beautiful pictures @dandays! I do enjoy seeing the world through your lens.

John Wayne paper--rough n tough n don't take no shit off no one!

That makes two of us cuz I enjoy showing you. That's one of the things I was doing today actually. I went back there and filmed it. I'll spend who knows how much time in iMovie editing but I'll give you a good video to check out pretty soon. If you're clumsy enough, I bet you can fall by watching it.

Now all you gotta do is stick around

Ok, I'm off to see your post finally. Not me finally getting there--you finally posting.

Well I'll make sure to be holding on to something when I watch it. I will be keeping an eye out for it.

And don’t worry....

See ya on the next one!

Dave Grohl is so on my list to-do! I said so like that to emphasize my Los Angeles upbringing.

There's a few I really hope to see before I can't. I was single most my life so I really can't tell you how many shows I've been to (100's) but there's a few I've yet to see and really hope that changes, Dave Grohl is one. Mike Ness, Bjork, Trent Reznor, Robert Smith, and I think that'd complete my list.

I doubt any of those names are unfamiliar to you

I haven't seen Dave Grohl yet but I do come from a very musical Jazzy place. And at a little venue known as the House of Blues, I did manage see Chevelle live. It was the best concert of my life and being at a smaller more intimate venue was perfect. I'll never forget it. Maybe I'll do a post ... I have some videos.

There's a Foo Fighters song that I related to so much and had inspired me to play guitar. And before I left the south I took a lesson and learned the first part on guitar ...

And you're right... those names are familiar but one does surprise me... Bjork? I wouldn't have pegged you as a fan

Great song! Love me some Foo Fighters. Miss me some Cobain but sometimes the things we receive after tragedy is rewarding enough to find a balance.

Not so much a fan as I'm just so intrigued by her. Only song I specifically know of hers is Hunter. Seen her do a few films, seen her extravagance at award shows like the rest of us. But her. If I could do lunch one day with both she and Trent Reznor at the same time... oh.my.fuck!

Wow - so gorgeous out there... looks remarkably similar to the mountains here in northern Thailand. Any SNAKES out there?? 🤣

There's only ONE brand of toilet tissue here in Thailand that isn't treated with triclosan, isn't scented and is also quilted and a generous double ply. wtf? That single ply stuff is just pure evil.

Nice to have an engaging new Hiver to follow. 😊

Well hello @artemislives! My name's Arts, believe it or not, people have called me Artemis (for whatever reason) most my life, very cool handle you got there.

I saw one dead snake in the road here and two water moccasins from a distance. A huge, never far enough distance. NneEVeR far enough.

The rolling hills here are gorgeous, we just landed here in August and should be here until about August next year so I'm gonna share as many of these trails as I can with you, we're surrounded by them. In these hills near me, there's 501 mountain bike trails all within 40 miles.

Single-ply... what the?! Like decaffeinated coffee, just doesn't make sense to me.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice to see you @pinmapple.

I think you made the right choice in the end. Although i’m still a bit perplexed about how that indecision brought you to a toilet paper analogy! 🤔

Ya know, me too @minismallholding, not sure what sent me in that direction.

Must've been something I ate

Thanks a lot for checking this one, I appreciate you dropping me a line. Enjoy the new week, happy holidays, all that good stuff.

The place looks interested

It was so much fun @harisfaris, I'd be lying if I didn't say:

I'm eager to go back.

The weather doesn't look too forgiving today so I'll have to schedule for another time. Next time I'll film the trail for you. 👍🏿 Don't be a stranger.

Thanks, I'm waiting for it😄👍

Wow Awesome Trail the weather looks fine☀️ just perfect. Your bike very cool 😎 :))

Hello @trangbaby! You know I love it when you stop by, right? The day was gorgeous, the weather here is so hot and miss. The day prior it snowed and the following day it was raining. That day, however, gorgeous!

Have a great week Trangbaby.

Aww I'm glad to hear that I don't only see your great photos😆 but read the whole content also 😉
I love it when you say "I like being by myself out there where the only noises I hear are the tires against the leaf scattered dirt, unexpected puddles, and the sound of twigs ricocheting from the bike.". I bet you are a great writer. Well, Let's write more, I will stop by more often ..heheee

Thank you and Same to you have a fabulous week ahead ☺️😊

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 26000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicolas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
HiveFest⁵ badges available in the HiveBuzz shop
The new HiveFest⁵ Attendee badge is waiting for you

25k, is that all?! See you at 26 @hivebuzz. 👍🏿

Let's do that, see you soon at 26k @dandays 😉👍

Looks like a great outing on a perfect day. The first photo was the best, such a gorgeous view.
Next time listen to farm-mom please “wear your helmet “

Attention @dandays, write this down:

Next time listen to farm-mom please “wear your helmet “

Noted

Good morning @farm-mom, I'm glad you agree with the first image, cover images kick my you know what! So do opening sentences actually... 🤔 Oh man, and don't even get me started with that post button.

Always a pleasure to hear from you, thanks for keeping an eye on me. Weather doesn't look as forgiving today so I'll have to postpone filming. That should be fun.

My daughter got into designing logo's for farm t-shirts. Notice the slogan, yep," wear your helmet "has been around for years, those words would stream from lips when they would go bike riding , now as adults, all my kids laugh at me whenever I give precautionary advise and they say, I know Ma, wear your helmet.😀

IMG_5326.JPG

Now that you reminded me, it wasn't long ago you wrote about that. 'Wear your helmet.' How funny. How come she doesn't show off those threads on the platform?

She so busy with her job, planning her wedding and generally having fun.
We've talked to her about joining the fun, idk maybe in the future.
She knows how to see our posts and does get a kick out of us being "bloggers".
Our Erica is the best, you'd like her, she has a great sense of humor.

I'm sure I would @farm-mom.

Tell'er the only difference between now and when she gets married is she won't be so freaked out about the wedding anymore. 👍🏿

It's been difficult with this virus mucking things up. We have a placed booked for 175 guests, but with restrictions now you can't have more than 50. Try cutting down that list, forget it. We are hoping by her wedding date of October 2nd 2021 things will have improved and we can have the big bash.
Thank goodness she's not the freaking out type, she's actually been pretty laid back about it.
She and Mike have already started on plan B, something small, just close family, but make it a 3 day party at the farm. Phew!

!BEER
for you

You're the best @eii, cheers!

I thought this was going to be a crappy post at the start, but glad it turned into the 'call of Nature' of a different kind...😒

I thought so too @angryman, Sometimes I never know where these voices are going until they're done talking about it.

Thanks for keeping an eye on me man. Happy Monday (I just checked--it's Monday), happy holidays, have a great week, all that nature crap!

Edit
Hey @angryman, I recently onboarded a long time friend of mine. He's really talented across several hobbies. Do check out @knottydaddy if you get a chance, I'm confident you'll appreciate his content.

Thank you @dandays for all the eyes.

Gorgeous day thanks for letting us see what you are doing.

My pleasure @ganjafarmer, any time! Thanks a lot for stopping by for a tour.

Absolutely keep having these nature walks and sharing such beautiful adventures.

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1051.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

@lizanomadsoul, big huge smooch!

Okay, now that #farm-mom has you straightened out about the helmet thing, and I'll give you a little advice, you had better head her advice decree, she can be relentless about these type of safety issues. She even called OSHA on me one time. 😥

I hear you about being alone in the woods and the feelings that solitude can bring into focus.
Senses become more aware of the environment as distractions are at a minimum.

Beautiful area, with public access, and a bike trail, I can see you going there with some regularity.

I took a virtual 360` tour of Gettysburg that the Fort Dickerson Park link brought me to.
Save a Battle Field, great idea. Anytime a part of our history can be preserved the better.
Most Americans would agree that some of the shit that went on back in those days was just downright inhumane, but without programs like this, these recorded events will be forgotten and along with that the injustices and the sacrifices made by so many will be forgotten as well.

How cool is that? I was just responding to your demo of your shower post. Must be that great minds thing.

I didn't even catch that part down the page about Gettysburg. I just caught the quick run-down for Fort Dickerson and didn't scroll down to those fun facts. Thanks for clicking on those links man and thanks even BIGGER for the reblog. You said..

..feelings that solitude can bring into focus.
Senses become more aware of the environment as distractions are at a minimum.

And I think I'll leave it at that or she might call OSHA again

Now that is exactly what I was talking about in an earlier reply.

.feelings that solitude can bring into focus.
Senses become more aware of the environment as distractions are at a minimum.

I just explained it better on the other response, give it a shot and let me know when you're all caught up. > (greater than arrow plus a space, then paste the text you copied immediately after the space) And it shows up..

like this


Hey @dandays, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.