A day trip to remember

in Pinmapple2 years ago

I had great plans for this winter. I wanted to spend every weekend in the mountains and finally learn to ski. I've been living in Switzerland since 2011, so it's about the time to put the skis on. I also wanted to enjoy the snow and drink liters of mulled wine. And I wanted to spend time with my friends and have fun.

Instead, I was sick for 3 weeks in January, busy at work in February and I spent the entire month of March worrying about the current situation in the world. If this wasn't enough, I had a medical emergency and ended up in the hospital where they didn't treat me very well and where I got infected with Covid! My husband got infected too and we spent one more week in bed with serious symptoms. I cannot remember when was the last time that I was so happy to be feeling strong enough to start working again. I wonder what the rest of the year will bring us.

How many weekends did I spend in the mountains? ZERO!

Last weekend, we were finally able to welcome our friends from the Netherlands in our home. I was so happy to see other people. The girl is originally from Suriname and she has never seen the snow before, so we decided to go to the mountains and spend at least one day before the season ends. And we had a blast!

1.jpg

We visited our favorite Churfisten. It's easy to get there, there is a winter hiking route, the views are breathtaking and the restaurant serves delicious food and wines from the region.

There was no snow in the region where we live, so our friend was skeptical and didn't believe that there will be much snow in the mountains. The closer we got to the destination, the more excited she was as she saw that there was more and more snow. When we got out of the car she was happy that we convinced her to take gloves and a hat as it was windy and so cold.

We purchased our tickets and enjoyed the ride up the hill. It's special to see people so excited about something what is normal to you. She was running around the cable car, taking way too many pictures and her eyes were shining.

This changed as soon as we got out of the cable car as it was much colder and the wind was blasting snow in all direction. It was difficult to breath and it took her a couple of minutes to adjust. When she was ready we started our hike.

2.jpg

I was convinced that it would be an easy hike as we already did it one summer with my husband. What I didn't realize was that it would be different with snow.

It was challenging for us as we were not strong enough after Covid but our visitors couldn't catch the breath as they were not used to the conditions. They had to take dozens of breaks and it took us ages to finish the hike. We were lucky that we asked our other friends to join us too, so I could walk in my own rhythm and didn't have to stop with them every time.

3.jpg

Luckily, we had some snacks to power up during the hike as otherwise we would have to leave them there 🙂

They were brave and didn't complain too much. Actually, who could complain with such views? Wallensee is one of my favorite places in Switzerland. Its water changes color based on the light and it can vary from emerald green to deep blue. It's always beautiful regardless the color though.

5.jpg

It looks like there is just a bit of snow but it's unexpectedly deep. We were surprised to see that the signs that are in this place are covered. There are also benches in summer which were covered too. I will return here in the summer so show you how the place looks like.

6.jpg

Looking at the pictures it's difficult to imagine how cold and windy it was. They all look so peaceful, like a perfect winter day.

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

It was not only our friends who were excited. My husband was rolling in the snow like a little boy and was carrying this piece of ice/snow for quite a long time.

12.jpg

We didn't have so much fun in a long time. And we both needed it to reset our mind and recharge our batteries.

As usually, me and my friend were leading the gang. At some point we couldn't wait for them anymore as it was way too cold and we just wanted to go the restaurant and order some tea. Of course, we ordered wine instead but that wasn't our initial plan 🙂 I swear I wanted to order a cup of tea but when the waitress asked me what I wanted I panicked and order a bottle of wine 🙂 Don't worry, I shared it with the group!

You would say that the path is flat, right? Don't let the picture fool you. It was quite steep! I haven't had so much cardio in a very long time! We were powered by delicious banana bread that my friend made so it wasn't that bad at the end.

After the lunch, we said our goodbyes to our friends from Zurich and drove back home for our evening adventure. We only had a couple of days to show our Dutch friends as much as we could. Since we live close to the Rheinfall it was the obvious choice. The waterfall is impressive during the day but you can feel its real power much stronger in the evening.

14.jpg

You can go down to the water and it's somehow impressive and terrifying at the same time. It's impossible to describe the feeling with words. You need to be there to understand.

There are several viewing platform on the way down the hill. I still remember how excited I was when I was there for the first time. I was also scared as I'm afraid of deep water and such strong current so close to me gave me shivers.

15.jpg

The last platform is the most impressive one. It looks like the water is going to consume you. You are so close to it that you get sprayed with fine drops, feels like gentle rain. We walked around the platforms, took tons of bad quality selfies, and then went back home.

17.jpg

We had a lot of fun but it was a tiring day. My watch was showing more than 20000 steps! We went back home, had dinner and went straight to bed. Our friends were happy to experience new things and see a bit of Switzerland, and we were happy that we finally got outside.

Hope, you enjoyed our trip too!

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hi Martina, long time no see!!! I have seen you active on zirchoka's post but didn't realise you were going through so much in your personal life, trust you are fully recovered now.

Hi Pauline, indeed! It's been too long... I'm still tired and coughing but it's much better than it's been. I'm going home for 2 week on Thursday, so I hope I will fully recover there.

How have you been?

Still the same same. Been back in UK for 2 years since Covid, there is still no sign of Taiwan opening up border so will be settling back down in UK now. Other than that, pretty much the same.

It seems like covid caught you quite bad, do you think that was because you were unwell already? I caught it at the beginning of the year, luckily it was just like a normal flu. The most important thing is that you are on the mend. Take care you and hope you have a good time back home

Thank you for your wishes, Pauline! My husband got it too (he didn't have any health issues before) and his symptoms were the same so I think that we didn't get Omicron but some other variant. No idea as they don't tell you in Switzerland. I just hope that the last symptoms will be gone soon. At least I don't feel like I would have long Covid so that's good.

Do you like being back in UK? And do you have some family there?

Beautiful post. The mountain views are incredible, especially the ones with the view of the lake. The waterfall is also cool. You can feel the movement in your pictures. Nice for you and husband to get out and forget about Covid and your worries for a bit. Sometimes it takes a visitor to shake things up.

Thank you for stopping by. Indeed, we probably would have stayed home if they didn't come. Now, our plans are to go to the mountains in summer as much as we can, so I hope that we will be able to do it this time 🙂

No teda, to jsou panorámata, nádhera :) Věřím, že pro tvou kamarádku z tropů to musel být opravdu zážitek na celý život :) Hlavně, že už jste zdraví a můžete zas chodit na túry častěji ;)

@tipu curate

Dakujem :) Uplne premrzla a trochu sme sa o nu aj bali, kedze bola skora modra :) Ale prezila to.

Este sme trochu unaveni a ja stale kaslem, ale uz je to ovela lepsie. Vo stvrtok ideme na 2 tyzdne domov, tak tam sa snad doliecime :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Haven't seen you for a while Martina. Sorry to hear about your medical emergency and Covid infection, and nice to see that you could finally relax a bit in the mountains! :)
The Rheinfall does look mighty at night... I only saw it once during the daytime and was already impressed.

It's been indeed a while :) I'm glad that all of it is over and we can return to our normal lives.

Then you should come back! :) It's much more impressive during the night :)

Really cool shots, Switzerland is amazing! Mountain skiing is definitely one of the things you should do. I absolutely love mountain skiing but we don't have serious mountains here in Estonia, went skiing in Sweden about a month ago and I cant wait to ski again.

I have already been scared that I would break something, but our friends have been trying to convince us since years, so we finally braved ourselves and wanted to do it but it's probably not our destiny :) Let's see if we will manage next year. Indeed, Switzerland has perfect conditions for it :) You should come for winter holidays :)

I'm sorry to hear how badly you started the year and you only managed recently to see the mountains but I'm happy you had lots of fun and memorable times. Cheers to more of that! 😊

Thank you! I'm happy that it's over too :) Now, the summer is ahead of us, so hopefully we will be able to go there more often :)

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1526.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I had great plans for this winter.

I understand how it feels to have plans and not push through them due to a lot of factors! I'm in that situation now. Glad you are healthy and strong and was able to take an absolutely stunning trip after all that you went through in the first quarter.

I haven't seen snow and your trip feels like seeing it for real! The mountains are gorgeously covered in white. I'm here typing wishing I'd see them right now! 😁

Oh, I hope that your situation will be resolved soon and you will be able to proceed with your plans :)

Really? Where are you from? We have lots of snow here every year, so it's nothing special to me anymore :)

Thank you for stopping by!

Stunning view!

What’s an amazing memory to remember? The atmosphere is just so incredible with the cold weather. Haven’t been to this kind of cold place before but enjoy what you do and your experience I wish one day I could experience this kind of things too.

I've never experienced winter before coz I live in a tropical country. I can only imagine how cold it would be hiking in the mountains like that. I can't even take the cold temperature of an office if the A/C was set to 19 degrees, let alone Winter.😁😁

19 degrees is almost summer here :) But it's cold for the office, we usually keep it at 21, that's much better :) It was around -10 with lots of wind. You would not like it :)

Maybe if I wore like multiple layers of clothes it wouldn't be so bad. Just so I could experience how winter feels like.🤔😁

Very beautiful

The snow looks so white and soft, i hope to meet her sometime 🥶

It's always awesome watching people see snow for the first time. I remember when I was in elementary school we had an exchange student from Africa and she got to experience snow for the first time. Just seeing the look on her face was priceless. These are some awesome photos! It looks like you had a awesome time!

Yes, I wouldn't think about that as I grew up with lots of snow each year but seeing people experiencing it for the first time is indeed priceless. I must have looked the same when I saw the ocean for the first time :D

Thank you for stopping by!

Ah yes, the ocean can be just as magnificent can't it! It was a pleasure to stop by, this was a great post!

You must have had a real adventure here on the mountain, I personally honestly don't know if I would have had the courage to venture up the mountain, I just enjoy the amazing images on the mountain.

Wow, incredible! This is a very cool trip! Although I'm not sure I would be fine there. I don't like the cold!

This was a nice experience for you I guess...I am happy you were were able to finally have it after falling sick....I really enjoyed the views and the updates....stay happy always ❤️