Early spring walk in Zurich

in Pinmapple3 years ago

We were lucky to have a few warm and sunny days this year already. They usually occur anytime between Monday to Friday when we work (which is not that cool) and then it's cold and rainy over the weekend, but last weekend we were able to enjoy some great weather on Sunday too.

When we left home it was sunny and we were sure that it would be the same in Zurich. It's just a short drive, so why would it be any different?

We were surprised to see that it was raining when we arrived and we regretted that we didn't go for a walk to the waterfall. There is a great burger place close to the parking, so we decided to go there and hoped that it would stop raining anytime soon. Luckily, it didn't take long until it stopped raining and all clouds magically disappeared!

Bellies are full, the sun is shining, so let's go for a walk!

1.jpg

In the past, I didn't like Zurich that much. There is too much traffic, too many people, everything is too expensive and you have to book a table weeks in advance if you want to go for dinner. We used to go to Zurich only when we had to - work meetings, dinners, or family visits.

One day, we went for a long walk along the river and continued on the promenade next to the lake. It was a warm summer day, people were just lazily sitting around, there were many stalls with refreshment and at the end of the road there was a swimming area with a beach!

It gave me that vacation feeling for which I usually have to take 2 weeks off work and travel to a foreign country! And this was the day when I started to look at Zurich differently.

We took the same route last weekend, and of course I was feeling differently as it's not the bikini weather yet but I did enjoy myself a lot.

2.jpg

I was so excited to take this picture! It's the first time ever that there were no people on the bridge except of us. I had to be quick though as I saw some people approaching the bridge on the other side already. It is still a moment to remember! 🙂

Grossmünster is one of the four major churches in the city. Its construction started around 1100 and it was inaugurated at the beginning of the 13th century. I haven't been inside yet but I assume that it's sparely decorated as it's a protestant church.

3.jpg

Last time that we were here we were watching a sort of a swimming competition. We didn't know what it was but it was a lot of fun to watch as people who were swimming were dressed up in the strangest costumes that I have ever seen - let me mention a banana as an example. This one was more floating than swimming though...

4.jpg

And here we are at the beginning of the Zurich lake...

There are many boats that will take you on a trip around the lake. It is worth it as you'll enjoy some fantastic views!

You can book a dinner table on a boat too and or enjoy a party in the middle of the lake. If you have enough money you can even buy a boat and park it somewhere around here 🙂

5.jpg

Just like these boats...

I have always wondered how do the owners get to their boats when they are so far away? There must be some way that doesn't require swimming in ice cold water, I guess 🙂

6.jpg

There are plenty of swans and ducks along the promenade. They are clever as they know that people will feed them. I have stopped this a few years ago when I read that feeding them is not recommended and that so much bread is not that healthy for them.

7.jpg

But I still like watching them specially when they are landing or taking off. It's like a spectacular theater play!

8.jpg

I haven't seen them gathered in bigger groups before, so I wonder if this is a big happy swan family...

10.jpg

I'm so looking forward to swim in the lake again! My friends started to practice winter swimming, but after trying the water with my toe I have realized that this was nothing for me and supported them from the shore.

But I started to prepare myself for the next season by taking cold showers! I'm not that tough, so I start with warm shower and turn the water to cold at the end. I'm seeing some progress as I have stopped screaming already 🙂

11.jpg

One day, I will take you to Uetliberg on the other side of the lake with me. The mountain offers panoramic views of Zurich and the lake, and it's a great place for hiking!

12.jpg

I hope that you have enjoyed another day with me! I know I did 🙂

Thank you for reading!
Cheers,
Martina

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1143.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Yay a beautiful walk with Martina in Zurich!

My favorite place

Hermosas estructuras, la iglesía y el lago con esos bellos cisnes y patos. Que bueno que el día estuvo lindo para disfrutar el paseo:-)

Is this the city where you live.
The city is very beautiful and looks very clean .....