Waterfall in Lúčky

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Last month, my brother celebrated his 30th birthday and we were looking for something special that he would like. He is very difficult to please with gifts as he says that he doesn't need anything and he buys whatever he needs when he needs it. And he doesn't only say it, he really means it. But 30th birthday is special and it wouldn't feel right not to celebrate it at all, and therefore we thought that we would look for some kind of experience that we can all do together.

At the end, we booked a cottage for two nights in the mountains as he likes being in nature. And we had a great time! The cottage was very big and the garden was huge, so Maxo had the best time of his life (if I forget about how sick he was in the car). There was a BBQ place in the garden too and we were sitting and chatting around the fire until early in the morning. I think that this is that kind of a birthday celebration that my brother secretly wished for.

The weather wasn't that nice, and we couldn't go hiking like we planned but there was so much to see even when it was raining. We were lucky with a few hours of sunshine and went to explore our surroundings. My mom mentioned that there should be a waterfall close to our cottage but I didn't pay too much attention and didn't know what to expect. And let me tell you that I was pleasantly surprised by how it was..

1.jpg

The waterfall in Lúčky is one of five waterfall in Slovakia that have been declared a national natural monument. Lúčanský waterfall is a national monument since 1974. I don't remember learning about it in my Geography classes but I do remember that I had to learn the names of all American states and their capitals. Syllabus priorities 🙂

2.jpg

A rarity is the fact that it is located in the middle of the village Lúčky and falls from a travertine terrace from a height of 12 meters into a small lake. You can swim in the lake as well (at your own risk).

The area around the waterfall is nice to sit and relax. There are many benches and a small park around the lake.

You can walk up the hill to the place from where the streams fall and you can get very close to water. It's a relatively small waterfall (when I compare it to Rhine Falls that we have in Switzerland) but it is still impressive. And I'm proud that we have such nice places in my homeland.

I didn't have a tripod with me, so I couldn't take long exposure pictures but next time I will make sure to take it with me.

3.jpg

The weather was changing constantly and it started to rain by the time that we got back to the cottage. The views from the cottage were still stunning but well, not the right weather for our hiking plans.

4.jpg

We were close to the forest which gave me opportunities to photograph some flora..

I did't even notice this fly until I checked the photo!

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

It wouldn't be a post from Slovakia if I wouldn't include our furry monster. Those who have dogs probably know that there was something hanging next to my camera to get this shot. It was a small branch and you can see that he was ready to go for it. And he did! Not even one second after I took this shot...

10.jpg

Playing with the branch is the best fun! Not for everyone included as you get dizzy after a while...

Thank you for reading!

Cheers!

Martina

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

it is great place to visit and stay for a few days. I actually did something like that 10 years ago. After the Covid-19 i will have a vacation in nature. Pictures are great by the way...i love waterfalls and listening the pouring water sound like a mediation...Have a nice day my friend...

a great birthday gift. an extraordinary nature and sightseeing. frankly, it's my birthday soon. and I wish such a gift. Congratulations on your great photos. ♥️

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Nothing beats spending quality time with your family

I loved your cute furry monster. :)