Colditz Castle - East Germany

in Pinmapple4 years ago

In World War II, between 1939 to 1945, Colditz Castle was a prisoner of war camp. It was used to imprison allied prisoners that were prone to escaping from other camps. It was liberated by American troops in 1945. The castle is now a youth hostel and is situated on top of a hill in the state of Saxony in East Germany. While we were in Germany, we couldn't resist spending at least one night there.

As a child, I can remember watching the old black and white film 'Colditz' with my mum and dad. My mum loved war films. Anything with a romance and a tank in it, she was in film heaven!

I don't know about prisoners trying to escape but we couldn't even find the car park to get in! After a few attempts we finally found it. As we walked through the castle courtyard and over the cobbles, I could hear the Colditz theme music playing in my ear. However, the castle wasn't as imposing as I thought it would be. I think the youngsters playing outside lightened the mood. The rooms were basic but clean. Also, the rooms were en-suite so we didn't have to go wandering down the corridors to find a loo in the middle of the night!

After unpacking, we had a walk around the town. Sadly, it was like a ghost town. People just aren't travelling far at the moment. The staff at the nearby restaurant was very welcoming though.

After our meal, we went in the nearby wood to let the pooch have a good runaround. Dusk descended, so we headed back to our accommodation. We could hear the wind whistling outside which added to the atmosphere. I'm no wimp but I'm not sure whether I'd like to stay there on my own.

The next morning as we left, I couldn't help but wonder what my parents would have thought about me staying at the infamous Colditz Castle, if they'd still been around. It's funny how life turns out.

Photos by @ellenripley- Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Do you have any photos of the rooms would love to see what they're like!

Btw, Please note our only community rule is that all travel posts must be pinned on pinmapple, you can find more details about that on the community page. Pinning your post on Pinmapple not only increases your post exposure, you may also get greater support from Pinmapple if you're curated by us. You can find out more about it in this post here
https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@steemitworldmap/good-bye-from-steemitworldmap

Cheers

Thank you - sorry I forgot.

This is the only photo I have of the room. It wasn't the most inspiring of rooms I'm afraid. Even the dog looked bewildered!