Balatonfoldvar, Hungary - City to City Tour 031

in Pinmapple3 years ago

20140825_194126_HDR.jpg

Balatonfoldvar, Hungary was the perfect place for my dad and I to wrap up our 8-day adventure tour. We had seen the big Balaton Lake from the train when we went to Croatia and it looked like a great place to stop. On our way back to Budapest, we stopped in Balatonfoldvar for a night.

55 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

Map source

Balaton lake is a long, thin body of water that is located at about the halfway point between Budapest and Hungary's western border. It's a gorgeous lake surrounded by resorts and vacation communities. We chose to stay in Balatonfoldvar because the train had stopped here on the way to Croatia and the little train station was too pretty to ignore.


45 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

We stayed at the Hotel Fonix which is an easy walk from the train station. We were there at the end of August and the whole town felt empty. In the hotel, I kept getting "The Shining" vibes. Like it was the beginning of the movie and everyone was packing up the Overlook Hotel and getting ready to leave for the winter. It was a great place, but my mind kept drifting towards that old horror movie.

46 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

After we checked in and dropped off our bags, my dad and I went out for a walk. We wanted to check out the lake.

05 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

The lake was pretty and calm, and it seemed like we had the whole place mostly to ourselves.

07 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

A nice path goes next to the lake. It seemed like an awesome place to take a vacation. According to Wikipedia, the area is very popular with Hungarians, Germans, and Austrians for holidays.

11 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

There were a few boats out on the water, but most were parked.

14 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

We found a nice little place on the water to have some refreshments. It was a great place to enjoy the scenery and soak up some sun in the nice cool breeze.

17 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

18 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg


21 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

We only had one evening in Balatonfoldvar, so we didn't get to see a lot of it. I was feeling a little rundown from the adventure tour activities so it was a perfect place for me to unwind. Mostly we just walked around and enjoyed the quiet, quaint vacation community.

22 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

23 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg


37 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

After dinner, we went back out to the lake to see the sunset. The colors were magical and hinted at the end of summer.

28 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

The geese and ducks were familiar with people and they made good subjects for photography.

31 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

34 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

35 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg


53 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

The next day we got up and checked out of the hotel. We walked to the cute little train station and took a train to Budapest. The train station was great. It looked more like a park than a train station.

51 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg


54 - Balatonfoldvar.jpg

We took the train to Budapest and had one last night together. We found a room in a house that used to belong to a Duke. It was pretty awesome! My dad had to leave super early to catch his flight. He was flying back to the United States.

My flight was later in the afternoon so I was able to sleep in, then I had 3-4 hours to kill after checking out of the room. I generally try to avoid situations like that because wandering around the city for hours with my backpack on me isn't very enjoyable. That day I was flying to Greece to meet up with my brother @doctorcrypto.

I killed some time in the city, then got bored of sitting around. I decided to head to the airport early. The plan was to meet my brother in Athens airport where we would catch a connecting flight and fly together to Santorini.

While I was wandering around the airport in Budapest, someone snuck up behind me and demanded that I give them my wallet! I turned around and it was @doctorcrypto! He wasn't even supposed to be in this country! I had been a little worried that we would have problems finding each other in Athens and here he was in Budapest!

@doctorcrypto had had an adventure of his own getting out to Europe. His flight had to make an emergency landing in Greenland because someone was having medical problems. That meant he missed his connecting flight in Amsterdam. They gave him a different flight through Budapest and now we were on the same flight to Athens, then Santorini.

Stay tuned for the next few posts as @doctorcrypto and I travel through parts of Greece and Turkey!

Sort:  

I'm on the edge of my seat.
I can't wait to see what happens next ;P

Hi @fronttowardenemy, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rehan12!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your current Rank (77) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 21%

Nice place to wrap up a trip, though The Shining vibes are never good lol.
I love the photo of the sunset and ducks. Very nice.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1178.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: