Lisbon, Portugal - City to City Tour 043

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Lisbon.jpg

Lisbon, Portugal is the second oldest European capital city (first is Athens). It's a beautiful and vibrant city with a funky, relaxed vibe that I wanted more of. Due to our tight schedule, we only had one day in this lovely city.

My mom and I were staying in the nearby town of Ericeira and we drove out to Lisbon for a day in the city. For some reason, I didn't take many photos. I think it has to do with traveling with another person and not wanting to stop for photos every few minutes. I had also spent a week or two at my apartment in Germany and I was out of practice.


02 - Lisbon.jpg

We found a parking space downtown and explored the area by foot. We wanted to do some sort of tour so we walked around and checked out different options like bicycle tours. We didn't find anything that we liked so we walked around on our own. Eventually we got a tour in a tuk-tuk.

01 - Lisbon.jpg

The Praça do Comércio was our fist stop. It's a beautiful public square with statues.

03 - Lisbon.jpg

The arch to enter the square is magnificent. The Rua Augusta Arch was built to commemorate Lisbon's reconstruction after a devastating earthquake in 1755.

04 - Lisbon.jpg

I don't know what's going on with this statue. On both sides, it shows people being attacked by animals. It must be some sort of warning against rabid baby elephants or something. Maybe there was a horrific circus accident in Lisbon's history.

06 - Lisbon.jpg

Not only did the baby elephants escape and kill people, it looks like the horses got out too.

07 - Lisbon.jpg


11 - Lisbon.jpg

My mom and I walked around the downtown area and stopped in to the Church of Sao Roque. This church had some of the strangest decorations I've ever seen in a church. It was full of sculptures that looked like dolls.

19 - Lisbon.jpg

I've seen too many horror movies featuring dolls, so it was hard to be completely comfortable in this church. As strange as it was, there was something cool about it.

16 - Lisbon.jpg

09 - Lisbon.jpg

The church was definitely an interesting sight. Though a little bit unsettling, it was cool to see this unique style.


27 - Lisbon.jpg

Eventually we got a tuk-tuk tour and were driven around the city and shown some of the sights. We had walked a fair amount and it was nice to get off our feet and relax as we were shown the city.

26 - Lisbon.jpg

24 - Lisbon.jpg

This restaurant in the middle of the street/sidewalk looked pretty cool. The streamers overhead make me think it was a wedding, but I think it was just a regular restaurant.

Lisbon 2.jpg

28 - Lisbon.jpg

Like many of the old cities in Europe, Lisbon had plenty of cute little streets and alleyways. I don't know why I like these little streets so much, but I do.

29 - Lisbon.jpg

This is my last photo of Lisbon. I really wish I had taken more while I was there.


DSC00912.jpg

After our tour of Lisbon, we drove back to Ericeira. We rested a little bit at our apartment then went out for dinner. Ericeira was such a cool little town. I think it made for an awesome place to stay. It's close enough to Lisbon for visits, but far enough away to have it's own relaxing vibe.

DSC00906.jpg

I loved the style of some of these old buildings.

DSC00909.jpg

The little downtown area of Ericeria was great. It's a perfect place to go for a walk after having a great dinner.

DSC00907.jpg

We walked back to our apartment to turn in for the night. On the next day we would start our road trip south.

I really enjoyed Lisbon a lot and regret getting so few photos. While in Lisbon, I remember thinking that it was a place that I'd like to come back to for a few weeks on my own. It would be awesome to be able to slowly explore the city and get a better impression of it. My mom and I were on a fairly tight schedule and couldn't spend much time there. We both had flights to catch on a different continent.

I hope you'll join us tomorrow as my mom and I begin our journey south.

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1189.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Lisbon looks amazing! Especially the small streets! It reminds me a little bit of a few streets in italy:)

Lisbon is such a cool city. I know they did a Steem meetup there a few years ago. I wish I could have gone!

I love all of those small little streets in Europe. Croatia also had some lovely ones.

Oh i didnt know that, that sounds great! Yeah, me too, i think they are not that "crowded" :)

Your current Rank (46) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 24%

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @fronttowardenemy! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!