Sort:  

Haha! Yes, @galenkp ! You're so right. It was super heavy because we had to carry all our camera equipment around with us. After the trip: I was in shape!

Hah, yeah I can imagine you'd be trim and terrific after carrying that lot around! I suppose the alternative, leaving thousands of dollars worth of kit laying about somewhere, isn't much of an alternative!

!ENGAGE 25

Exactly, @galenkp ! Also, it was not an easy project equipment-wise, anyway. Each time we entered a room, the lens of the camera would turn foggy for half an hour - sometimes even more - depending on the intensity of the difference of temperature. I remember one day, when it was -16°C outside, and 30°C inside a barn where people were dancing. We couldn't take any picture of an hour because the lens was unusable. Well, we went for a dance instead. I'm still so surprised that basically all the equipment stayed in tact during the entire trip.

xx

I've never thought of that complication to be honest but now you mention it I'd imagine it would cause some issues especially if the time-frame you had to do the shooting was short. I have travelled in very humid countries and had that thing happen. In fact I trekked the Kokoda Trail a while back and whilst I got some good photos the camera (a point-and-shoot Nikon) was trashed at the end. It's a very difficult trek though and it took a beating...As did I!

I'm glad your equipment survived and whilst I don't dance myself because I'm really bad at it dancing seems a good way to pass some time when one's camera gear is foggy. 😉

Wow! I just googled the Kokoda Trail. I had never heard about it before. It looks freaking hardcore and it seems incredibly humid. How did you charge your batteries? 🌿😮🌿

Lol, there was no power to charge batteries, I took spares. It's a very remote area and even the village of Kokoda has no power unless one can afford a generator. No running water or sewerage systems either. It was a very difficult trek. Australia caught a major campaign there in World War Two, against the Japanese. It was a hellish battlefield over months a d months...The suffering was intense, as was the loss if life.

Yes, I saw the photos of all the shells now. Petrifying. How come you chose this trek? Was it a personal challenge?

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.