You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Interrail Day 2 - 🎻 The magnificent Operahuset of Oslo 🇳🇴

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Lol, there was no power to charge batteries, I took spares. It's a very remote area and even the village of Kokoda has no power unless one can afford a generator. No running water or sewerage systems either. It was a very difficult trek. Australia caught a major campaign there in World War Two, against the Japanese. It was a hellish battlefield over months a d months...The suffering was intense, as was the loss if life.

Sort:  

Yes, I saw the photos of all the shells now. Petrifying. How come you chose this trek? Was it a personal challenge?

I wanted to go there and pay my respects to those who went and never came back, the Australian soldiers who paid the ultimate price to thwart the Japanese advance on Australia. It was a pilgrimage of sorts I guess you could say. I enjoyed it a lot but it was brutally hard; At least I didn't have enemy soldiers shooting at me, hurling grenades, lobbing shells and jumping out of the jungle jabbing bayonets at me. It was personally challenging, very tough physically, mentally and emotionally. I've posted about it here. a long time ago.