The Blackwell Hotel

in Pinmapple2 years ago


IMG_7526.jpg

This past week was our 23rd wedding anniversary! I still can't believe I have been married that long, it really doesn't seem like it to be honest, but I am sure that most people who make it to the middle part of their life (and later) find themselves thinking and saying that all the time lol!

Since we have to take a trip in late October for my cousin's nuptials, the hubs and I decided to stay closer to home for the anniversary celebration this year, especially as our anniversary was right in the middle of the week and we have a couple of heathens in school. Okay, to be honest, I could leave my two teens for a week and all would be well, they are more squared away than most adults, a fact that brings me joy and not a lot to complain about regarding their conduct.

Anyway, I hopped onto the interwebs in July and began perusing for a place to spend a fun evening together. A few years ago one of my cousins got married at this historic house in downtown CDA turned venue and I got to thinking it might be fun to stay there, but alas it wasn't there anymore, but then I stumbled upon The Blackwell Boutique Hotel And Bed & Breakfast.

IMG_7547.jpg

It really checked all the boxes, it was a historic place full of character and comfortable amenities, it was within walking distance to all the fine cuisine and sights of CDA, and it was designed with introverts in mine, seriously!

IMG_7545 (1).jpg

Now, the hubs and I are very social. Our kids are involved in a ton of stuff, the hubs runs not one but two youth shooting sports programs, we are fairly active in the community, and have not one but two game nights a week, so when we get away, we want to get away from it all.

IMG_7546.jpg

And the management of The Blackwell Hotel leans into that sentiment hard. I mean, I reserved the place on the hotel's website, a few days before I got a text with a link to register to check in and the day of, when our room was ready, I got a text with instructions and the code to the doors. It was AWESOME!

IMG_7543.jpg

One of the reasons I even chose to stay there was a Google review from a tourist who was complaining about the lack of host interaction. SOLD!

We spent the afternoon doing fun things like thrift store shopping, food truck cuisine sampling, and sitting lakeside at The Buoy, a nice little bar at the base of Tubbs Hill on the edge of Lake Coeur d'Alene.

IMG_7544.jpg

As I was already in an elated mood as I had just spent hours of non chore time with the hubs, I became even more elated as we strolled in one of the back doors of The Blackwell.

IMG_7532.jpg

Kat history lesson time. My grandparents bought a turn of the century farmhouse in 1977 and restored it, so when I came along in the 80's some of my first memories were in the velvet wallpapered and wood trimmed house of gloriousness. In fact, one of my dreams is to own my own a Victorian house, I absolutely adore them.

IMG_7524.jpg

So it was only natural that I absolutely adored The Blackwell House.

IMG_7525.jpg

It was just marvelous. Everything was pristine, clean, and the owner of the place really knows how to set a scene. The entire house is modern and updated while also firmly in retention of its original charm. I get pretty wound about crown molding, radiators, and old wooden doors.

IMG_7528.jpg

And there was art! The house was a bit of a gallery! Each room and corridor featured local artist's pieces. Our room had beautiful photographs of Pacific Northwest wildlife. I was in heaven.

IMG_7529.jpg

I had booked the Mansion Fireplace Suite, because fireplaces. The room did not disappoint. The giant pillowtop king bed had enough pillows on it to have a respectable battle with at least ten combatants, and the shower in the bathroom had more than one showerhead. Bonus!

IMG_7531.jpg

With it being a historic house, some of the rooms have claw foot tubs, some rooms have bathrooms across the hall, and there is even a top floor room that is beyond excellent. I chose our room because it had a view of the lovely gazebo and garden in the backyard.

IMG_7533.jpg


IMG_7534.jpg


IMG_7535.jpg


IMG_7536.jpg

After getting all settled I just had to go exploring, and discovered that the entire basement had been converted into an awesome media and game room, complete with squishy red leather theater recliners and a shuffleboard table. There were books and movies for the guests to use, and every floor had a convenient to use bathroom so you didn't have to run all the way back upstairs.

IMG_7541.jpg


IMG_7542.jpg

After a lovely evening exploring Coeur d'Alene and spending some long overdue time in each other's own company, we woke up and wandered downstairs to enjoy the buffet breakfast.

IMG_7537.jpg

There were other couples present, and while everyone was full of smiles, we all kept to ourselves as we heaped plates full of croissants, muffins, eggs, and sausage. I still smile in fond remembrance of the bistro table bedecked nook that the hubs and I sat at for breakfast.

IMG_7539.jpg

As he went through his normal 42 cups of black coffee, I sipped green tea and smiled as we both sat in companionable silence. It was the most glorious getaway.

The Blackwell House has a fantastic vibe. It's serene and quiet, but beyond competently ran with a spectacular attention to detail. If you are ever in Coeur d'Alene I highly recommend staying there!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's really digs B&B's as much as she iPhone.


Sort:  

Modern homes rarely have the trim that went into historic homes. Nowadays it's just cheap wood milled into mass-produced baseboards most of the time. Older homes often have crown molding like you mentioned, chair rails like you show in your pictures, and even picture rails designed for holding art on display.

!PIZZA

Older houses just have so much more character for sure! I know the trade off is more maintenance, but I so prefer them over the drywall boxes of today.

!PIZZA

What a delightful place to stay! I plan to keep this place in mind.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Happy 23rd! Looks like you hit the jackpot with this hotel. It's simply gorgeous! I loved the suitcase stack, not sure why!

Thank you so much! And I got distracted by that tower of suitcases too, it's just cool, right?

!PIZZA