Phi Phi Islands tour in Phuket, Thailand

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Phiphi.jpg

All photos shot with Fuji X-T4


We came to Phuket not only to party at Bangla road, but to also have a tour in Phi Phi islands. This is like one of the popular things you can do in Phuket (or in Thailand in general) and of course we can't miss that. :D So we booked the tour at the hotel front desk and the in the next two days we were ready to go.

If I remember it correctly, it was about 2,500 Baht per person and these include car transportation from our hotel in Patong to the pier (and back), lunch, snorkeling equipment, and some snacks. That is for a whole day of tour.



_DSF4328.jpg

When we got to the pier, we were introduced to our tour guide Bobby. He has been doing this for decades already and he was so enthusiastic with greeting us. We were oriented on what we're gonna do, visit, and how long it would take.



The boat ride lasted for 45 minutes until we got to our first destination. Since we didn't had enough sleep the previous night, I just slept through that ride. :p

We arrived at the Monkey Beach.



_DSF4365.jpg

This beach is called Monkey beach because apparently there are monkeys here. :D But we didn't see any hahah.



_DSF4411.jpg

The beach is really beautiful though and it is one of my favorite so far.



_DSF4385.jpg


I really love the beach as it's not one-step-and-you're-drowning-cos-it's-deep type of beach. Since I can't really swim, this is an ideal beach and I really enjoyed swimming here. :P



_DSF4446 1.jpg



_DSF4455.jpg



_DSF4477.jpg

Next stop was at an island nearby (forgot the name) where we could do snorkeling. Here you can see Bobby did some basic lesson on how to use the mask and snorkel.

I was hesitant with doing snorkeling because well first, I can't swim, and second, I had a bad experience with wearing lifejackets when I was young because of being incorrectly worn so I was kinda scared it will happen again.



In the end, I got jealous and did it anyway. :D It was fun finally conquering one of the things I'm scared of haha! :P



_DSF4481.jpg


_DSF4506.jpg

Some were snorkeling near the rocks and apparently the view there is better since it's more shallow but I can't really go there since the waves were quite strong and I don't know what will happen to me there. :P



Shots by @acidyo. Was kinda annoyed with the people in front of me lol



_DSF4552.jpg

We spent 45 minutes there and had to say goodbye to finally eat lunch. :D



_DSF4588.jpg


_DSF4581.jpg


_DSF4582.jpg

We stopped near Ton Sai Beach to get our free lunch and walked around in a bit. It was refreshing to just walk and look at the stores and everything. :D



_DSF4591.jpg


_DSF4620.jpg

_DSF4622.jpg

This part of the beach was nice and I would like to stay here and sit for longer but we can't since we had to leave soon. The views were really refreshing.



_DSF4635 1.jpg



_DSF4639 1.jpg



_DSF4642.jpg

Next stop was at the Viking Cave!



_DSF4652 1.jpg


_DSF4657.jpg

We did snorkel here for some time but I didn't stay long because first of all I saw a really big chunk of seaweeds down below and it kinda freaked me out hahah. I don't like them, basically because some shit lives in there and who knows what could appear there randomly and touch my leg or whatever. :D I also got stung by jellyfishes which was really painful and itchy (but not to the point it was dangerous) and Bobby gave us ointment to ease the pain. :D



_DSF4674.jpg

And here we go to the famous Pi Leh Lagoon!!!



_DSF4684.jpg



_DSF4667.jpg



_DSF4688.jpg



_DSF4692.jpg

The water's color is beautiful phthalo green and I had to take a dip. :P



_DSF4721.jpg

@acidyo's shots make me look like I got lost just like in the 'Open Water' movie.



_DSF4728.jpg

Sea of bliss? lol



_DSF4736.jpg



_DSF4743.jpg

Our next stop was at Maya Bay! It's where Leonardo DiCaprio had their shooting of the movie 'The Beach' and they really mention that everywhere hahah.



_DSF4844.jpg

It was quite a long walk to the beach since we had to dock at the other side because they don't allow docking at the actual Maya Bay to protect it.



_DSF4755.jpg

Well, it was really worth the walk. <3



_DSF4756.jpg

You can't also swim in here which was (quite) a bummer since the beach sand is really fine but it's just right so they can preserve its beauty. I'd rather them keep it this way tbh.



_DSF4763.jpg



_DSF4757.jpg



_DSF4800.jpg

You can dip your butt tho! :P



_DSF4786.jpg



_DSF4749 1.jpg

Til next time, Maya Bay! <3



_DSF4863.jpg

Our last stop was at an island nearby, just to take a quick drink before heading back home.



_DSF4854.jpg



_DSF4862.jpg



_DSF4868.jpg



_DSF4871.jpg

I had a nice Tequila Sunrise, although it should be named Tequila sunset at this time... :p



_DSF4888.jpg



_DSF4890.jpg

We chatted a bit with Bobby about some of his life and how long he's been doing this. He's enjoying this job, really. It was quite unfortunate for them during the 2 years of the pandemic and he had to find some random jobs to support his family.

He's happy now that tourism is slowly going back to normal and he's also starts doing what he loves to do. We thanked him for being a nice and cool tour guide and we hoped to see him again next time.



_DSF4892.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I do. It was really a good experience seeing all those beautiful views and all that. If you ever visit here, I hope you have a tour guide as cool as Bobby (or he himself). :P

Sort:  

Such beautiful photos, the color of the water and the sand - wow, really spectacular. No wonder so many films were or are being filmed in Thailand. I'm sure there were some Bond 007s filmed there as well. These photos really make me want to check out Thailand. One day... maybe...

Yah there is and they call it James Bond island haha. That wasn’t part of our tour but I think it was close to Phuket as well. You will definitely enjoy Thailand especially that they are so welcoming to tourists - nothing more fun with having a convenient experience in anything because of a tourist-friendly place.

Witwew!
Awesome tour! It’s like I was with you on this trip 😅
The place reminds me of Coron, Palawan. They are similar in some ways.
I think you were brave when you did the snorkeling but since you’re there, it’s better to try it than not, right? 😂

Yeah I haven’t been to Coron but I can see similarities based on pictures. Some are saying Coron is better tho lol. True, I spent time and money on this trip so why stop myself from snorkeling :D There wasn’t much view there in my area tho as it was not that shallow and the water is not that clear

Ohh I see, but still, you did it! Conquered your fears 😅
I have not been to Coron but to El Nido, I've been. They are almost like this too.

Wow, that is absolutely a stunning tourist destination, if I have the chance I would definitely visit Phi Phi Island.

It is, it’s worth it :D add the nice people in the reasons to visit as well :D

Vitamin SEA! Amazing shots.

We did snorkel here for some time but I didn't stay long because first of all I saw a really big chunk of seaweeds down below and it kinda freaked me out hahah. I don't like them, basically because some shit lives in there and who knows what could appear there randomly and touch my leg or whatever. :D

I don't trust those seaweeds either. 😅 I remember when I was young, seeing some watery snake hiding those long seaweeds. Later did I know that they are called LION'S PAW SEA CUCUMBER. 😅

Thank you! Eeewww those sea cucumbers are so disgusting. It makes me panic when I see them hahah and I don’t even know if they swim up but still makes me think they would and they are out there to touch my feet🤣. I don’t even want to know what that lion’s paw sea cucumber looks like, sounds like a nightmare hahah

Hahaha, they look horrific. I remember running away when I see them. Yes, I did run since the water was barely touched my ankle.😅 that is why I'm also allergic walking barefoot when there's seaweeds.🤣 we call it "bahag-bahag" on our own dialect.😅🇵🇭

Great trip! The price also looks pretty good.
It's funny that an island without monkeys is called monkey island, but still the island looks very beautiful.

It's good to conquer fears as long as they don't conquer you lol. I mean when you try and the thing you are afraid of happens to you.

Bobby seems like a very cool guy and I hope he will be my tour guide if I do a trip like this one day :P

There are monkeys there but just didn’t show up. Bobby said sometimes they do and sometimes they don’t. If you search it on Google, some lucky people have interacted with them monkeys 😫

Oh, so you are not lucky to see them. Poor you. Maybe next time you'll see 😅

I absolutely love the wilderness of the place! We are not used to see this kind of locations in Romania but the thing that the island is entitled Monkey and you haven't seen any monkeys is both funny and curious thinking that they are there hidden in the nature and perhaps get outside just once in a while :D

Yeah hahah some people get lucky. But maybe we are lucky too cos what if they try and steal our food or mess with us 😂. I love that Thailand preserves their wilderness in nature but at the same time makes it convenient and accessible for tourists. We got good mobile reception on the islands and sometimes on the boat even. :D

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @hiddenblade! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Ka nice uy diha uy 😍 😍 😍

Kaayo hahah

I heard about this beautiful and famous island before, and thank you very much for showing it for me today @hiddenblade
It's truly beautiful like what I heard of it.

And this is just a small part of Thailand that we saw! :D

Looks like paradise 😩

I enjoyed your post. Thanks for sharing.

These views are out of this world. I really loved all the harmonic colors Phi Phi Islands display. I guess being there feels like heaven :)

The views are mesmerizing..looks like heaven in earth. You are pretty too..

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1671.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hey, well written post and thanks for sharing your experience -

end of the year we are back in Thailand too and therefore we planning to do some Island Hopping starting at Trat.
We will be there for more than a month and i would really like to see Phi Phi Islands.

The James Bond Island was a nice Place, i got my necklace from there :)
image.png

Feel free to check out my blog about my upcoming trip to Thailand and greetings to @acidyo 😜

Nice!! Haha i thought we’re gonna be able to visit James bond island in that trip, apparently it’s way up north. So cool you got to visit!!

Congratulations @hiddenblade! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!