Nybster Monuments - curious creations over 100 years old in the far north of Scotland

in Pinmapple2 years ago

We were up in the Far North of Scotland over the weekend to see my dad. While there we stopped in to see the monuments at Nybster near the town of Wick.

5He-IvJZSaebGbl9Eoy0GA.jpg

The monuments are really odd, and I've no idea why they are there really - but I love them !

m8jCXA6AT8uXly9wLGOmqA.jpg

They are right on the North East cost overlooking the North Sea. The one above is the biggest one.

Sr8QfxOMRRGP0hgY1cROxw.jpg

They seem like an odd hodge-podge of stuff put together for a reason completely unknown to me ! There was a sign by one which I think may have explained them, but its worn and unreadable now.

K01zXISBTZ6Ah6gDVMOXRA.jpg

Its only the second time I've been to see them, as I didnt know they existed until a few years ago, as they are not sign posted or anything. We happened upon them completely by chance.

xfKBjdnITcehPQ0FvcMYbQ.jpg

The sun was shining while there, so I got a picture of me and the wife - thats correct, we both exist in the shadow realm !

IJ56lIBLSqOoWY_3BI7gNw.jpg

I really do like the one above, and its exactly the type of thing I'd like to build, for no reason at all !

xX62fFUGROyLbAywm7dXHQ.jpg

Above is the third and smallest one. The yellow on the stones is actually a lichen, which is quite common in the north of Scotland on slate material that has been used in building works. I understand that its a sign of good air quality.

x9oHy4OdTyuRuw2IzrUF9w.jpg

Thats the pointy bit at the top of the third one - I'd like to think that if you could look through the hole, it would reveal some hidden object - but thats not the case !

9vq59GKiQDCurK1ujOhxtA.jpg

And thats the view through the main square.

N-WWiGS-RCCY_WnEYAdA3A.jpg

And the same one again.

trIEdSJ1QSGKLJZHMvSxUw.jpg

While there some young bullocks in the field next to them came to say hello !

0vUDpzqVRp6tK_YXrdAldA.jpg

And above is the second one, which is by the car park. I'd say its my least fav of the 3 - but I still like its oddness !

ratY6QwkTke8JvhfgkExfA.jpg

And the piece on the top has been completely taken over by moss !

y9bAFzppRkiSoc5TZDDtiw.jpg

It was nice to stop and see them again - quite quirky indeed !!! They are a must as far as I'm concerned - if you are ever in the area !

oDlCvpwPSYOde0t9h8WT4w.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @hoosie,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That cow really got the angle right. He had the super star look too🤣I wonder what they were used for or what they represented too🤔But thank you for sharing this with us😎

Aye the cow was very curious and came right up to us. And yes, the monuments are quite cool - but I have no idea what for !!!

Maybe some gods lived there😁or maybe they signify where somethin really big happened!😁❤️

Or it could have been a crack-pot going daft !

What the fluff!🤣I have no idea what that means but it was totally funny...do i sound like lisp?🤔what do they call those athletic girlfriend-ish...pug bunnies! Oh God. What am I sayig...too much coffee. Goofd Motnibg!!!

Interesting structures! It was my first time to know about the lichen.
I think if you look through the hole in that monument, you would see the other realm 😂 (result of watching too much fantasy shows)

Aye - they certainly are interesting ! Really odd !

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @hoosie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 250 posts.
Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest