I visited Bologna a beautiful city!!

in Pinmapplelast year

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Hello fellow travellers, I hope you are all well. In this post I want to share with you some photos I took during my Christmas holidays, where I was lucky enough to spend a day in the beautiful city of Bologna. This city is very important to me, as I spent some university years here and have always been connected to this wonderful place ever since.

The first photo I share with you shows the Piazza Maggiore, which can be considered the beating heart of the city. This square is surrounded by the most important buildings built in the Middle Ages, including the Palazzo Comunale, the Torre degli Asinelli and the Torre Garisenda. However, the real protagonist of the square is the Basilica of San Petronio, with its unique and very particular facade. This basilica has a very interesting history, as its construction began in 1390 and, although it was completed in many parts, its facade remained unfinished. This makes it an unmissable stop for anyone who visits Bologna at least once.

Furthermore, Bologna offers many other tourist attractions, such as the famous arch of San Giovanni in Monte, the church of Santo Stefano and the Torre degli Asinelli, which offers a breathtaking panoramic view of the city. Bolognese cuisine is also an important part of the city's culture, with dishes such as the famous pasta bolognese and ragù.

In the second photo that I share with you, I tried to capture the Torre degli Asinelli from Piazza Maggiore. This tower, together with the Garisenda Tower, is one of the dominant symbols of the city. I was lucky enough to climb it and I can say that the route is quite complex, with narrow and steep stairs. But once at the top, the view over the city of Bologna is simply breathtaking. You can see the Piazza Maggiore, the Palazzo Comunale, the Basilica of San Petronio and many other tourist attractions of the city.

It is important to note that there were once thousands of these towers in Bologna, but only a very few have survived to this day. This makes the Torre degli Asinelli even more special and a must-visit place for anyone coming to Bologna

Another characteristic and fascinating place in Bologna is the famous window in Via Piella. This little corner will transport you, at least for a moment, to Venice, thanks to the view of the ancient waterways that still flow under the city. This place reminds us that, in medieval times, a large part of Bologna was covered by water and canals. The Window of Via Piella is a very photographed place, especially on Instagram, and I suggest you take a picture if you pass by, even if it is not very well known. It is a very charming place and very beautiful to photograph

During the Christmas holidays, the streets in the center of Bologna are usually decorated with the words of important songs that have made the history of music. This year, due to the war, it was decided to hang the words of John Lennon's song "Imagine" on the streets of downtown as a symbol of peace and hope, to achieve a peaceful future.

This time I entered the Basilica of San Petronio, which is the most important church in the city. This church is very beautiful and large, and has a really impressive atmosphere. Inside, there is a lot of art and a great deal of history that would deserve a post dedicated to this basilica alone.

The basilica is in Gothic style, as you can see from the photos, with three naves and 22 chapels. The interior is very spectacular and there is a lot to discover. If you are visiting Bologna, I highly recommend you visit this basilica and enjoy its beauty and history.

Bologna is a city full of surprises and wonders, from the main square to the little window that seems to transport you to Venice, from the donkey tower to the basilica of San Petronio, an imposing Gothic church with an interior full of works of art and history.

And speaking of food, Bologna does not disappoint. The city is famous for its mortadella, a salami made with pork produced in the area with the PGI brand. It is impossible to visit Bologna without tasting this culinary product, which can easily be found in the shops in the centre. And to accompany the mortadella, there is the legendary piadina from Romagna, which is also very common in the area.

Thank you for accompanying me on this virtual journey through the wonders of the city of Bologna. I hope you enjoyed this virtual tour and made you discover interesting aspects of this city full of history and unique beauties. Let's not forget the famous mortadella and piadina from Romagna that cannot be missed in your culinary experience in Bologna. I hope this post made you want to visit this city and that you enjoyed seeing it through my eyes. I can't wait to share my next travels and discoveries with you, so don't miss my next posts here on this social network. Thanks again for following me and see you next time!

this post has been translated with Google Translator


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Hi, tahnks for sharing this very beautiful post. I live at 1 hour from Bologna and I love the city. But I have to admit that I have never been inside the basilica of San Petronio 😅, which seems very cool actually.
I am in love with the local food... hope you had a chance to try also tortellini

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @ilmaffeiano78! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!

Thank you for mention

One of my favorite cities these photos aroused beautiful emotions in me

I have been to Bologna last year! It is a great city with amazing food and bars.